We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don's Pomeroy House

Don's Pomeroy House
13664 Pearl Rd, Strongsville, OH 44136-3493
(440) 572-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Don's Pomeroy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 105 Restaurants in Strongsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Westwood
Ashland, Ohio USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a restaurant that we recommend to us by a friend years ago. It's a 50 mile drive for us but definitely worth the trip. Wonderful atmosphere, great service, wonderful menu. Everything is top notch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I had dinner recently at Don's Pomeroy House. We both had the Champagne Surf 'n Turf. He had a Pomeroy House salad as well, and I had the Fish Market salad. It was our anniversary, and our server, Jeri, took very good care of us. She even brought us a chocolate éclair to share for dessert. Yes, it is expensive, but it is a definite must for special occasions. The service and the food are always top notch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Fun with Good Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We met at Don's Pomeroy House on the Deck after a round of golf on Friday the 13th. The deck was hoping when Cindy and I arrived around 5:45p. But we got seated after 10 minutes. Their deck is located under beautiful old very big trees. We ordered amazing appetizers (Calamari, Voodo Shrimp, Crab cakes and stuffed mushrooms with artichokes, everything was yummy) and wine while waiting for our four golfers. Finally got down to the business of eating and the appetizers were awesome and had some fine wine. And our wonderful server Jennifer was the best!!! Don's offer their restaurant menu and patio menu outside, we decided on the patio menu which llked like fun. I ordered an amazing black angus burger which I haven't had in a while with French Onion Soup bc it was a bit chilly on the deck that night. My husband order Shrimp Picatta and there was nothing left. And I understand the mac and cheese was to die for. Then came the desserts and we went with the vanilla bean ice cream, didn't need it, but it was good.

Inside or outside, this is a wonderful restaurant. But, now I prefer the patio in the summer. Felt like I was at the beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Charming ......love a place with history
If you are in Cleveland, make a trip to Strongsville to visit this hidden gem. 25 minutes from downtown and less than 10 minutes to airport.
You will not be disappointed. Everything was wonderful especially the salmon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, not such good service in the downstairs bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

i have dined here several times in the restaurant and the food/service has always been excellent. This time we dined in the downstairs bar and the food was good but the service was not. We had been sitting at our table for 15 minutes without even a drink before our server appeared and that was only after I had asked where she was. By that time the customers at the next table, who had arrived after us, had already received their drinks and food. She was pleasant enough when she did finally show up, and our drinks/appetizers were served fairly promptly, but again it took another 30 minutes at least before our main courses arrived and then my fries were lukewarm at best. Other than that, the food was mostly very good. Our appetizers (Brussels sprouts and calamari) and were both excellent and the main courses were very good for bar food, although it should be at the price. Overall the bar had a very pleasant atmosphere. I will certainly come here again and hope for better service next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Pomeroy House also viewed

 

Been to Don's Pomeroy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don's Pomeroy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.