We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspired Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Sushi House

Sakura Sushi House
15040 Pearl Road, Strongsville, OH 44136
440.268.9668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 106 Restaurants in Strongsville
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Inspired Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

First of all it is spelled Sakura. We have gone here several times over the past year with our family & extended family. There are enough very good choices for the people who need cooked food but their sushi is amazing. I recommend the Paradise and Sweet Heart Rolls. The prices are commensurate with fine food. It is casual inside & some may miss a more upscale vibe or show of the hibachi grill. The overall price seemed lower than the similar local fare to reflect this but the food quality is not affected in my opinion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everthing you need in a sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Sukura. It was actually recommended to us by the staff of a local Chinese restaurant (no competition - the topic was best local sushi). Rolls are priced in the $5-7 range and more fancy rolls are $10-15. Hot tea was $1.25. Warm sake about $6 and plum wine about $7. Having ordered vegetable tempura appetizer, seaweed salad, 5 smaller rolls, 2 teas, 1 sake and 1 wine, our dinner for two was about $50. For the freshness, quality and taste we felt that the price was appropriate. All of the food was freshly made and since we didn't finish the tempura, the waitress even offered that next time we can specify what vegetables we prefer. (no need, btw, we were simply too full to finish) My only complaints are 1) I'd prefer a pot of tea instead of cup with a bag and 2) I'd rather not see prepping at a nearby table. (someone was removing paper from straws). Okay, let me get really grumpy and say 3) I'd like the kitchen entrance to be covered by fabric. Although since I could see in, I can add that the kitchen appeared clean and organized. All in all, the sushi was excellent and we will definitely dine here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, a Bit on the Expensive Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The sushi I had was great, although it was expensive. Staff was very nice and I had no problem using a coupon from restaurant.com. The dining room is tiny! Overall, I would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sushi and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

There aren't many sushi places in Strongsville and this one certainly isn't the largest. But their spicy tuna roll is fabulous and the prices keep me coming back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went as a party of 5 and had terrible service, the manager is very hard to understand when we had a problem with our bill and even charged us an extra 10$ after we left! The "hibachi" items we ordered were very bland and not worth the price. The Sushi was okay, I would suggest Samurai or Shintos, even Tomos if you want the best Sushi in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi House also viewed

 
Strongsville, OH
 

Been to Sakura Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Sushi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.