We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much nicer than a cheap motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   813 - 741 North Fourth Street, Steubenville, OH 43952   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Steubenville B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much nicer than a cheap motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed two nights that became three, on a reporting trip to Ohio. It was lovely to come back to a nice place after a hard day of work rather than a grim motel, and for $89 for a room with shared bathroom, the price was about the same. I would definitely recommend it: clean, charming, friendly host.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayberryhousebandb, Owner at Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I really enjoyed our conversations as well. Our shared bath rooms are a great value, next time choose one of our 5 rooms with a private bath which are also larger and some of which have fireplaces, or our Jacuzzi Suite. Thanks, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you want the perfect place to stay in Steubenville, stay with Scott at the Bayberry House B&B. I grew-up in Steubenville, but no longer have family to stay with in the area. We returned this past weekend for a class reunion and decided to take a little different path than the usual hotel room. We stayed in the Westfall House in Julia's room and had a delightful stay. Scott was a wonderful host and this restored home was beautiful. The breakfast was very good and there were sodas, fruit & coffee always available. Our room was clean and well appointed. The house was quiet and the bed very comfortable. Scott has a true love for preservation and it shows. We will definitely will stay here again when we return to Steubenville for a visit. Thanks, Scott, for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayberryhousebandb, Owner at Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks, it was great to have you and am glad you were here for our special Sunday Breakfast! Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We needed a location close to Wheeling, but also not too far from Canton....found this inn on here and, based on other reviews, chose it. The area needs lots of work, but Scott is doing his part to revitalize the neighborhood. He has two properties here and has personally restored both of them. We were the only ones there the night we stayed so we had full run of this beautiful old house. I would suggest that if you are going as a couple, that you not choose "Audrey and Joseph" as your room....it is just big enough for the double bed and while a nice room, just too small for two people. Scott has thought of just about everything to make your stay a ggod one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayberryhousebandb, Owner at Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hi Vickay, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Audrey and Joseph's room is the smallest of the 9 rooms we have, we also have 4 rooms with King beds and a lot more room, as well as the Jacuzzi Suite which is very nice. Next time you are in town it would be fun to have you try one of those. Thanks see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were in the Steubenville area and stayed at the Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast! It is a fabulously restored home. Scott, our host did the restoring of this property over several years and has made it so "period" and so welcoming. We had the large king bed/bath area and it was lovely! Scott met us there and helped us carry our luggage up the stairs as going up and down stairs is not very easy for us with hip and knee problems. (He also came when we were ready to check out and carried them down for us-a great help and so nice of him!) We stayed 4 nights (the only people in the house so we had it to ourselves) and enjoyed it so much. We would recommend this (actually "these" as he has two properties right now and is working on rehabbing a third) property to anyone visiting that area. Lovely front porch which was an added treat!!

Room Tip: Loved the room with the king bed and separate bath. Francesca I believe it was named.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was in town for a class reunion and was very pleased with these accomodations. I stayed at the Garrett House and it was exactly what I had hoped for and more. The home is beautfiully
decorated, my room was very nice, the breakfast was good, its quiet and relaxing. I spent lots
of time on the front porch with my coffee in hand. I enjoyed speaking with Scott about Historic
N 4th St. and the changes to downtown Steubenville over the years. I found travel to the surrounding areas to be very quick and easy. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayberryhousebandb, Owner at Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks Lynn, it was great having you here. I'm glad you and your DiCarlo's Pizza made it home safely through airport security also! See you next time. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed with the Bayberry House folks in Westfall for a reunion. Couldn't have been happier with it. Scott has done a masterful jub with this old home. The porch is a great place to sit and chat. We were a little concerned since the location is fairly close to downtown and Steubenville has seen better times, but there was no reason for any concerns. We had the whole house for ourselves. Our reunion wasn't planned to be held at Bayberry, but on the second day everyone ended up there.

(Note: The stairs might be too much for some older guests)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaintop
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Wow! We stayed at the Garrett House, one of the three Bayberry House properties. The moment you walk through the door, you are welcomed into a beautiful, gracious, relaxing mansion that has been meticulously restored and beatifully decorated, with all the modern amenities one could want. Scott welcomed us and made us feel right at home.We stayed in the jacuzzi suite, and wanted to stay longer. We sat on the porch and watched barges on the river and relaxed in the afternoon. Our family joined us (we took up the entire home) and had fun imagining it was ours. It was wonderful to spread out and visit family in such a lovely setting. The pastries for breakfast are decadent - we hope to come back and visit again soon! Our whole family will be talking about this memorable stay for some time!
Don and Liz

Room Tip: The fornt room has a bath en suite with a jacuzzi tub - great for privacy if you are sharing the hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 813 - 741 North Fourth Street, Steubenville, OH 43952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Steubenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Steubenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the noise and rush of everyday life and return to a simpler more elegant era at the Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast. Whether a romantic escape, family vacation or getaway with friends, the Bayberry offers a variety of beautifully decorated guest rooms in the Victorian Westfall House and Garrett House for your visit to Historic Steubenville and the upper Ohio Valley. Only 3 blocks from Franciscan University and 30 minutes from Pittsburgh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast Steubenville, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.