We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, Fun for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Creek State Park

Buck Creek State Park
1901 Buck Creek Ln, Springfield, OH 45502
(937) 322-5284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 things to do in Springfield
Attraction details
SW Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

we often visit the park as we are on the same end of town and it is a nice quiet drive to see all kinds of wildlife. Only bad thing is that people have recently started dropping off cats and we hate to see them here starving, cold, wet, in danger from predators, etc.

we have stayed here in the cabins and they are nice, clean and reasonable. The marina is full serve with a snack bar and they are friendly and always go out of the way to help

the rangers are great too, friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lick, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Want to camp in a car lot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We camped over Labor Day weekend. The bathrooms were dirty. My 15 year old grandson would not use it. Site was for a 40 ft RV. We had a 35 ft RV and it barely fit. When we went to fill up with water, people were using the location to clean out there dump equipment. It was located at the dump station. Nasty! The site across from us had 3 tents and an RV on a single site. They had 6 vehicles and 2 motorcycles as well. They were driving in and out all day and half the night. Could not complain to the camp host because their site was just as bad. They had live music from there cars blaring all day. They followed no rules or regs. I have been in full camp grounds and they were great. This one I would not recommend. Will not be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Park/Cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

weve rented cabins in the past they were very nice & Clean.we loved the back screened in porch overlooking the woods so quiet & Peaceful.We only wished they were located a little closer to the beach.everything is spread so far apart you got to drive to the boat docks & Beach area making it a little inconvient at times.This Past weekend we went for a Family day trip which was nice we had a picnic & watched the sunset over the beach area which is GREAT for Picture Taking.I only wish they still had Pontoon Boat Rental But they Don't any more.That was another thing we used to like about the lake in the past.Lots of deer & Wild life.Walking trails too.They have a snack bar at the marina open seasonal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great palce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are many nice trails to hike and bile paths to ride.The lake is also very nice to boat on.Cabins are available for rental,too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a place to Swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're coming for the swimming, stay home. The beach is not the best feature of this park. The water is dirty and the bottom is rocky. The beach is usually adorned with trash, thanks to the trash that won't pick up after themselves. Hey what do you think the trash cans are for? We come and sit and watch the sun set over the water. A relaxing way to end a day. We enjoy grilling on both sides of the lake. The marina is nice and the dam area is clean except by late summer the ducks have laid down a carpet of droppings. On a hot musky down they really add to the smell. But all in all a nice way to get out into the day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Buck Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Creek State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.