We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and poorly maintained” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hocking Hills Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hocking Hills Resort
Save
You added Hocking Hills Resort to your Saves list
25780 Liberty Hill Road, South Bloomingville, OH 43152   |  
Hotel amenities
Jewett ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filthy and poorly maintained”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Upon arrival we discovered what others have commented on. Cobwebs and dust on everything. The light yellow colored wall was so stained up only several coats of paint could have covered it. The television did not work. Only enough towels for one night and good luck finding someone to replace them. My wife refused to use the shower and jacuzzi tub before cleaning and disinfecting them herself and I have NEVER seen her do that anywhere else we've stayed. In a reply to a previous comment the owner said this is how things are in "country living". I live in the country and that does not result in my home being a rundown filthy non maintained mess. I have stayed at several cabins in the area and can tell you this place is not worth the price. There are much better cabins for the same os less money!

Room Tip: You can get a CLEAN and MAINTAINED cabin at several OTHER locations for the same money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    4
    4
    13
See reviews for
8
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in Ladyslipper cabin on the Labor Day weekend. There were four of us. My husband and I gat the bedroom and our two friends used the huge loft that sleeps six. One bath a balcony with peaceful views and a hot tub that was great but the weather was too warm to use it. The kitchen is handy for the Hocking Hills area as there are not many restaurants close by. (The Grouse Nest Restaurant is onsite and delicious) If the kitchen didn't have it, the office did. They have a small gift shop in the check in area where I purchased two log carvings by a local woman named Dee Dee. I wish I could have met her. All in all, I would like to stay here again, IF we can get back up the driveway!
And don't forget to pet Mama the cat who sleeps on the porch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Hocking Hills Resort, and grateful that you took the time to post your comment here in TripAdvisor. Don't forget, as repeat guests you are part of the Repeat Club and if you call for a reservation within 24 hours and we have a cabin available, you get half off the regular price. You don't need a voucher number for that -- it's automatic. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ditto to Joejones review from 9/10. I wish that I had read it before going to Hocking Hills.... When we went outside on the deck, we smelled a septic or sulphur type smell. There was so much unsightly debris seen from the deck. The whirlpool tub had a yellow stain and the drain would not stay up to drain the water. There were only a few towels in our cabin that we used the first day and they smelled musty upon arrival. It took several times, before I could find anyone in office to get clean towels. The cabin was dusty with cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. Our bill was incorrect at checkin and again at checkout.

The love bug cabin did have a gas fire insert that heated the cabin really well that we used at night. The windows by the whirlpool tub were a nice feature. The location of the Hocking Hills Resort is convenient drive to the hiking.

The Grouse Nest food was excellent. There is a nice outside area to eat. We plan on eating there again.

Room Tip: I can not recommend staying here until it is cleaned up and maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHRGNR, Owner at Hocking Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Some things all potential guests should know about Hocking Hills Resort:
Hocking Hills Resort is a natural resort in the heart of Hocking State Forest, where most guests leave happy, refreshed and ready to return to their jobs, families and the stresses of city living. Yes, the drive is rugged and sometimes challenging to get up the hill—that is the true nature of the Appalachian foothills. Our water comes from a well deep within the ground, bringing forth minerals such as iron that can stain the cleanest of tubs. The occasional woodland bug will make it inside the cabins, which are treated once a month but reside among the trees in the forest. The cabins are cleaned thoroughly between guests, and the mattresses heat-treated. Anyone familiar with country living knows how quickly a cob web can appear, spun across a room overnight, staying one step ahead of the housekeeper with her telescoping dust mop. Hocking Hills Resort, aka its original name Ash Cave Cabins, is an unpretentious hospitality business in a quiet, peaceful setting where we strive to make our guests comfortable with friendly service and extra touches such as excellent food at our restaurant (Grouse Nest), beautiful receptions and banquets, romantic packages, and pet-friendly cabins. We know our style is not for everyone. We don’t apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Customer service at the office was very poor. They are very hard to get in touch with. The service at the restaurant was decent. The lovebug #4 cabin was very dirty and outdated. The ceiling had a huge hole in it. The walls were dirty and holes in them as well. It took at least 45 min to halfway fill up the wirlpool tub. Cobwebs all over the ceiling. Lots of debris outside made it very unsightly. Cabin just really needs a good cleaning and updated. Given the price and the numerous other cabins in the area I do not see us ever staying here again.

Room Tip: stay anywhere but here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I am writting this review 1 & a half years post staying at Hocking Hills resort. I have been remanicing about the stay that my husband & I had there & feel that it needs to be shared with others who may be interested in staying there!
When we first arrived we were a little taken a back by the very long, steep, rough drive up to the "resort". Our exact words were, "Thank God we didn't bring the car!" Secondly, we arrived & no one was there to greet us, again...we were a little turned off by that. There was a note saying that they would be back, but we had no idea that there wouldn't be anyone there for us to check in. So, we waited. Luckily, the area is so beautiful & it was a beautiful, warm, early September day. So, the wait wasn't really that bad. We were greeted a little while later & given the key to our "Love Bug Cabin". The cabin was SO cute! So quaint, quiet & clean. It really was totally worth it! Starting out on this trip I was totally bummed because we had reservations for Nags Head NC for a week at the beach. Unbenonced to us a hurricane moved in two days prior to our reservation & just leveled the entire area we were to stay at! Looking up the Hocking Hills Resort was a total "whim" on my part! I had never even heard of "Hocking Hills Ohio" before! But, I am SO glad that we stayed!
We did have one issue while we were there, but it was taken care of immediatly. I had ordered a basket for our cabin & we never received it. Once I brought it to the staff's attention, they took care of it right away! They even brought us a bigger basket than I had ordered. Then we found out that they delivered that basket to the wrong room! They let us keep that basket & didn't charge us for a basket at all!
The cabin is so cute, the jaccuzi tub is awesome under the sky light. The water is a little rusty & brown, but growing up in the mountains of PA I know how the water in the woods can be! So, it was not a disapointment at all! The shower was HUGE & seating all around it. We totally loved the back porch & spent the evenings out there burning fire in the chimney. The night sky is AWESOME! There are no lights around, so you can see every star in the sky & all of the constelations. The last night we were there there was a thunder storm & let me tell you, with all the lights out in the cabin, laying in the bed & watching the lightning thru the skylight, it was so romantic!
While in the area we visited Ash Cave & I really wish we could have done more hiking & sight seeing. The area is just awesome & I can not wait to go back!
Finally, in the cabin we stayed in there is a journal from all those who come, stay & come back. It was such an awesome thing to read & to add to! I would totally stay here again & have suggested this place to others to check out! The Grouse Nest Resturant was great too! Really good food, quiet & good service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We just left Hocking Hills Resort and had the most wonderful time. We loved our Love Bug Cabin, it was clean, cozy and decorated tastefully. We hiked Ash Cave State Park and returned to soak in the jacuzzi tub with the stars over our head. We will be back soon to enjoy the Hocking Hills and the Love Bug Cabin. The Grouse Nest Restaurant was an added touch that served fabulous food!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at Hocking Hills Resort this and found the resort to be secluded on top of a hill, with friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in a Love Bug Cabin that had a great 2 person jacuzzi tub. We had pizza brought to our cabin and enjoyed the balcony off the bedroom, sitting under the stars with a camp fire in the chimnea. We'll be back !

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
12.0 mi away
Baymont Inn Logan
Baymont Inn Logan
#2 of 6 in Logan
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
24.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#2 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hocking Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hocking Hills Resort

Address: 25780 Liberty Hill Road, South Bloomingville, OH 43152
Location: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Bloomingville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy cabins in a natural, wooded setting on a rugged hill, large reception hall for weddings and events, restaurant serving American cuisine, bar, gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Hotel South Bloomingville
Hocking Hills Resort Ohio/South Bloomingville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hocking Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.