We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burntwood Tavern

Burntwood Tavern
33675 Solon Rd, Solon, OH 44139
4409140290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 restaurants in Solon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: http://www.cleveland.com/west-geauga/index.ssf/2012/03/burntwood_tavern_will_replace.html
Solon, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a newer place. Great covered patio, Good menu choices. A bit unique enough to be interesting. The service and food were good. I would definitely go back. It is hard to get in so be patient.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    26
    25
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for an uninspiring lunch....and have a looong time to wait for your food, you could do worse. I had the asiago crusted chicken sandwhich...interesting attempt at some use of unusual flavors you wouldn't expect, but halfway through my sandwhich realized there was half an inch of unidentifiable cheese that was so tough that i thought it was a second piece of chicken. The fries thankfully were quite good. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here, but in a pinch I would try it again assuming there was no where better to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Yuckkkk !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We called the restaurant around 6:00 p.m. and they told us that there was no wait for a table. We arrived at the restaurant 5 minutes later and they told us there was a 20 to 30 minute wait. We turned right around and walked out.....but alas they reeled us back in with a loud voice before we could escape. Literally 10 seconds after shooing us away they somehow told us that someone had cancelled and we could have their table. More than a bit odd.

Well, next our waitress gave us the strangest look when we asked to split a 16 oz. draft beer. One of us had the burger and it was bland and greasy ($10 Angus Beef, what a ripoff) and the other in our party had the Cuban sandwich which tasted like salty lunch meat from Giant Eagle. The French Fries were super greasy, lukewarm and tasted like they'd been deep fried in rancid oil.

Even though we've been to the Chagrin Burntwood several times and enjoyed it, it appears that expanding to more stores has taken quality down several notches.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Returning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the decor in this place is great, the acoustics are horrible! We dined there with another couple a few weeks back and I literally could struggled the entire time to hear what the dinner companion to my right was saying; my husband across the table (a 4 top) could not even begin to hear the conversation. I ordered tilapia that night and when it came, I noticed it was dried out and had a slightly burned flavor. After a few bites I flipped it over and noticed the entire backside was burned. Normally I would send it back, however, we were with dinner companions and had waited an abnormally long amount of time just to get our meals, so I didn't want to spoil their evening anymore than it already was. We had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled several times before actually getting more water. So I can't give this place a good review on any front: service, atmosphere, or food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i heard this place was really good so was excited to try it. the place was very nice inside. great atmosphere but we were sadly disappointed with the food and service! the service was terrible. our waitress was mia most of the meal. i had to ask for water 3x. the portions were small for the price. we thought maybe it would make up for it in how tasted but that was disappointing too. my potatoes were cold in the middle, asapargus was salty and steak was undercooked in the middle and burnt on the outside. we definitly wont be going back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burntwood Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Burntwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burntwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.