We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spot Restaurant

Spot Restaurant
201 South Ohio Ave., Sidney, OH 45365
937-492-9181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Piqua, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Spot is a throw back to the good old days of home cooking in a small restaurant. The pumpkin pies and the best in the entire region.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Frozen in time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

OK...I was born and raised in this little town. From the time I was 4 years old (not saying how long ago that was...but believe me...more then a few decades ago..!) and my Great Aunt Alice would take me there to meet up with my other Aunts I felt right at home. Remembering the times my dad would bring home " a Spot burber( no...that is how I pronounced it...) when ever I was sick. Mustard and pickle only with a malted. To this day when I don't feel well I crave this morsel. I remember when it was all arranged differently inside AND the car hops outback. This was THE place that the teens of my day gathered after a date at the teen center. Sadly they are gone now and the interior is different. During a weekend I was home for the 45th Class reunion of the class of '67, my husband, brother and his wife joined us there for lunch. The pies are still good! (Pecan is the best!) ...the burber's (lol) tasty and oh, yes, the breaded pork tenderloins still available. My mom's favorite, as I remember was the shredded pork sandwich..with just a big ol' slice of onion and "extra broth, please". So little time and so little tummy room! Good food for a good price added with a dash of fond memories adds up to us always stopping in The Spot when we are in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Back In Time... in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Spot is one of those places that you will only find in a smaller town, and it's great. Not one bit fancy at all, but you'll get good diner food prepared the old fashioned diner way. If you're not a local, and trying it for the first time, stick with the tried & true staples... A Big Buy (or Super Big Buy), Chili, Onion Rings, and the cream or custard pie. Diner food at it's best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old time diner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You place your order at the counter. When your order is up, your number is called; they call your name once they get to know you. Good diner food and service at affordable prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

food was great, love the home made pie. Great place . felt like a 50's diner. if i visit again, a must stop. i hear they have great breakfast.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.