We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11160 Dowlin Drive, Sharonville, OH 45241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Sharonville
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express with nothing extra to set it apart. Our first impression on walking into our room was negative, it stunk. After three days (and a lot of room deodorizer) we concluded that the air conditioner was at fault. It cooled the room, but didn't remove the humidity. The smell was a funky, damp odor, probably from a clogged filter? The room, however, was very clean with a fridge and microwave. FYI, as a Priority Platinum member, we were disappointed that the only perk we received was a bottle of water.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJ S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we do take into consideration our guest views. We are currently in the process of refreshing the hotel and we encourage you to come stay with us again. We make sure our guest are our number priority from the time they enter the hotel. Again thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
5
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Here we go. Upon check in we were greeted by a 100% American. He was fabulous! Very helpful. Our suite, (We read this on another review also) had a bit of a musty smell, but appeared clean including the tub and Jacuzzi. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Breakfast was supposed to be served from 6-9:30 a.m. We went down around 8 and all the hot food was gone and there were just too many people in such a small area to wait around. Day 2 of our romantic getaway, at about 4:30 p.m. We came back to the room. It was not cleaned, just freshened as the front desk lady referred to it. Not all the towels were replaced, No big deal, but it would be nice to have enough towels when you pay as much as we did for a 2 night Jacuzzi Suite. **As we are trying to enjoy ourselves and relax, I was in the Jacuzzi. My husband was about to get in, when a maid walks in **WITHOUT KNOCKING** I was so embarrassed. I reported the incident to the Assistant Manager and the young man that checked us in. It was just as embarrassing for them as I am explaining. "While I was nude in the hot tub..." The manger was very good and took care of the situation, also addressing the issue with the employee. We also used the guest laundry room. It was very clean and only $1.75 to wash and dry our items. It was great having that available. So. With all of that said, I would recommend this hotel, as long as you are not hungry for breakfast. Make double sure the doors are locked. The staff, other than the maid service was top notch! The lobby was very clean and pretty. Our suite was very nice and in good repair. Its location is very nice when visiting the Cincy area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Sharonville property is a typical Holiday Inn Express, not a great one. The staff was very helpful in check-in, check-out and giving directions. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, if not especially large. It is far enough from Interstate-75 to be quiet in a residential area. There were plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as a pleasant suburb. Breakfast was fine, but the staff had trouble keeping up with the rush. It looked like one overworked but pleasant woman handled both the desk and refreshing the breakfast bar. Businesses can cut staff only so far until it will begin to have a negative effect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Spent two nights. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Close to Great American Ball park and the zoo

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Rooms seemed a little dated / stuffy and had a stuffy smell. Not terrible though. Big and plain bathrooms...everything worked and had great water pressure. Had great breakfast service. Two people were working hard to keep the food and coffee out. Gave an average rating compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses but not a bad stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Now this is a hotel I wouldn't mind staying even for a week. The rooms are great, light and roomy. Plenty of outlets for all your electronics. If you are a Gold or higher member their suites are great. Like having two separate rooms with two separate TVs. Everything works in the room and do I do mean everything. Breakfast in the morning is good. Hot food is hot and cold is cold. People very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade you will enjoy their upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and thank you, again, for staying with us. If you are traveling in the area in the future, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for a weeklong business trip to the area, and overall I was rather pleased. Seeing as this is a chain hotel catering to business travelers and the like, there was nothing particularly notable or unique about it, but my room was more modern and updated than I expected for the money, and the amenities were functional though limited.

I ended up with a two queen room, which was nice: clean with comfortable beds and a flat screen TV. There was also a fridge and microwave which I never had the need to use but could be handy to have around. The bathroom was plain but everything worked, with good water pressure and temperature. My window looked out on a small neighborhood street which made for a quiet neighborhood. I never heard any noise outside my room the whole week.

There's a pool (which I never used) but no hot tub, and a very small exercise room. I used a stationary bike one morning; I think there was also an elliptical machine and some free weights. The "business center" area was one computer next to the elevator - a bit odd, but it worked fine for me.

The complimentary breakfast was my only real complaint. It was one of the worst I've had in a hotel. The first morning featured some sort of imitation omelette which felt like it was made of styrofoam. Hot foods the other morning were similarly unnatural feeling scrambled eggs and rubbery sausage patties. There was also no fruit, limited yogurt and only sugary-sweet cold cereal so I quickly ran out of alternative options.

This hotel was pretty cheap, so the quality level of the room pleasantly surprised me. Everything was comfortable, clean and seemed new. Breakfast was bad, but I'd just use the savings from the room rate to go out for a better one. It wasn't a particularly exciting hotel, but it served my purposes while I was there. I'd probably stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Cyclone05,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your feedback. I am pleased to know that you liked our room accommodations and amenities. I apologize that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 11160 Dowlin Drive, Sharonville, OH 45241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sharonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sharonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sharonville is located north of downtown Cincinnati. Our hotel is conveniently located off I-75 @ exit 15. Our Sharonville hotel is the most centrally located hotel for business & leisure travelers seeking exceptional service in northern Cincinnati. Each guest room has been freshly renovated & offers free wireless high-speed Internet access, flat screen TV, and refrigerator/microwave. Enjoy our refreshing indoor pool, guest laundry & fitness center to help you stay in shape while on the road. Our guests have complimentary access to a nearby extensive fitness center. Breakfast is hot and free! Served daily at 6:00 AM, our breakfast bar offers a selection of hot morning favorites including fluffy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon or sausage, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit & more. It's delicious. It's hot. The signature cinnamon rolls alone are so good, you'll start looking for reasons to travel more often. Business: Our corporate clients think we are ideally located within minutes of Cincinnati's top companies such as General Electric Evendale & CTEC, Ford, UPS, Procter & Gamble, Sharonville Convention Center.Attractions: Kings Island, Beach Water Park, Great American Ball Park, Paul Brown Stadium, IKEA, Cincinnati Zoo are a short 15 minute drive or less from our hotel. Holiday Inn Express Sharonville is the smart choice when staying in Cincinnati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sharonville
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Sharonville
Sharonville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sharonville, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.