We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Checked into first room and it was dirty,window sill had cig ashes on it (non-smoking room) mold on bathroom wall and cieling,dirty towels,not vaccumed.Second room was no better. Not even sure if the doors around the back where we parked locked at all during the night we just walked in. Kids swam in pool and found empty medicine bottles laying around, also pool in need of closing and overhaul.This place can be geared to the budget guest but it does not take alot to be clean. Immediatley checked out and found another place that night - will never be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I am extremely disappointed to hear of your recent encounter with our hotel. As a seasonal property, we have to work very hard with our seasonal staff to ensure that they understand the quality standards that we want to impart to all of our guests. Although this is a continual process, we believe that our standards have improved (as evidenced by other good comments about our property). Please treat this as an isolated incident and give us another opportunity in the future to prove our continual committment to quality and guest satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    19
    13
    56
See reviews for
43
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long, long day at Cedar Point. Rates and location from Cedar Point and the highway are very convenient. I was so bummed to get into our room (2 doubles) and find Trent tiny, very hard beds. After a day where your body is sore and exhausted, you hope to relax in a little softness. Not here. Room was very clean and everything else fine but I tossed on that bed the whole night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that you did not find the beds to your liking. Unfortunately, this is an area that we get some complaints but, by-and-large, we get a lot of compliments as well. The firmness or softness of a bed is definitely a personal preference--and I'm sorry that it didn't meet your needs. I AM glad to see that you pointed out that, other than the firmness of the bed, the room was clean and comfortable. That's evidence that our housekeeping staff continues to improve and that we are focused on providing a clean, comfortable, safe environment for all of our guests. We hope you'll choose to stay with us in the future if your travels bring you our way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Let me start out by saying this; in life you always get what you pay for. American Best Value isn't cheap for normal Hotel standards but in Sandusksy it is one of the more cheaper options but I feel like they could improve in many areas. My room smelled like mildew mixed with axe body spray. My room was never probably kept. The hosekeeper never replaced our towles and nobody was at the front desk at night for use to get more towels. I caved in and went to walmart to buy a towel. The free wifi does not work don't bother trying or losing sleep over your device. It won't work. Not having a proper lobby hurts them also, There is not were to sit down and chill by their front desk. I hate that about this hotel. The main hotel staff seemed overwhelmed so I do have mercy on them but the support staff needs to step up their game. I will not ever suggest this hotel to anyone until they improve on the areas that I mentioned in my review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our ABVI in Sandusky, Ohio. I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations--although I'm confused about your comments about the front desk not being staffed and the lobby not being "proper." Our hotel is staffed 24 hours a day. Perhaps you encountered the front desk while the staff was out in the hotel tending to another guest? Additionally, the lobby is very nicely appointed with marble floors, a granite fireplace, as well as comnfortable leather furniture. With regard to your housekeeping concerns, we continue to work with our staff in that area to provide above-and-beyond service and as the summer season continues to march forward, we continue to get better and better in this area. No matter, your comments are appreciated and they help us continue to strive for excellence. Thanks again for taking the time to write your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

First room we checked into wasnt clean, and smelled like it as well. 2nd room we checked into smelled better, as far as clean dont think anyone here understands the consept, staff ? Kids with no clue that brings up a question who really owns this place ,,,,my next step is to corp. Office this place needs to be closed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I am sorry that your recent experience at our hotel didn't meet (or exceed) your expectations. We have been working diligently with our houskeeping staff to address issues such as the one you brought up in your review. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and are being addressed. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your issues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was clean, the service was good, the place was quiet. What else do you need? After reading some of the bad reviews this place received, I was prepared for an unfavorable experience. I had the opposite -- I'll definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for your frank, to-the-point account of your recent stay at our hotel property. We're glad that you found your stay enjoyable and satisfying--and very happy to hear that you'll return on your next visit to our area! Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Seeing others comment on the cleanliness...I see we weren't alone in our assessment. The janitorial staff needs to be retrained...towels on floor means to replace such...NOT give unfilled so only one hand and one bath towel remain. DEF did not vacuum floor.

Pool is outdoor and when we went out there at 10PM...pool and surrounding areas was dark...pool was filled with people I couldn't see...and the abandoned shopping cart in the area made us say forget it.

Really, the most basic and bland continental breakfast ever had in a hotel. Just coffee and danish. No fruit, no cereal, no juices/milk. Taught us a lesson to ask EXACTLY what is put out. Also noticed that after we hit it pretty hard (family of four) it didn't get refilled...so next guest kinda out of luck.

Above said, the front desk staff was great in terms of handling a reservation aspect.

So, for for price and location to Cedar Point, I'd sum up as place to sleep and don't expect much more.

Oh...for mgt there...you might want to think about offering a buffet breakfast in the roadhouse restaurant. We and other families def left and went down street to Perkins and other places.

Room Tip: Ask to NOT face the expressway...it wasn't that bad but still...when traveling, any usual noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent stay with us at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs and friendly. We are actively working to better train our housekeeping staff and to improve their productivity and outcomes. Also, please undestand that the small continental breakfast that we offer is a courtesy to our guests--it is not a brand requirement AT ALL of ABVI. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I Stayed here this past weekend looking at the lobby it looks to be a very nice hotel but after you leave the lobby the rest was awful, we could not wait to leave if hadn't been getting charged a fee we would have. The room was very nasty and looked to have not been cleaned ever. The blankets looked to have urine stained on them and The smell threw out the hotel were horrible. The staff was very nice and couldnt bet the price but think i will pay more next time for a comfortable stay then to ever stay at an America Best again.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I am dishearrtened that your stay didn't meet (or exceed) your expectations. Although this property is aimed toward the budget-conscience consumer, we DO provide a clean, safe environment for all of our guests. Also, for those of you reading this review, we do NOT make it a policy or practice to "take hostages." If someone is not pleased with the accommodations, we first immediately try to resolve any problem; if we can't, we always allow the guest the option to get out of their reservation without penalty. At any rate, thank you for your comments; please take the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. We KNOW you'll see consistent and constant improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to America's Best Value Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Address: 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation dollar goes farther here where our 100 beautifully appointed guestrooms feature everything you need for a fun-filled vacation including complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary HBO and premium channels, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck, in-room coffee maker, and more. There’s also an onsite restaurant and lounge. The famous RoadHouse Restaurant & Saloon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.