We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for what it was” 2 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Value Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for what it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stained towels, bedspread and carpets, felt dirtier leaven after a shower the next day, the only positive is staff very friendly and helpful. We would not stay here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for relating your experiences with your recent stay at our hotel property. Thank you also for pointing out your pleansant experience with our staff. We continue to use comments such as yours to refine our processes and to better train our staff on our expectations of a clean, quality ambiance and experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    25
    18
    72
See reviews for
51
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vestaburg, mi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Here's the deal....it's cheap compared to the other hotels in the area. The 'breakfast' was the only thing I would complain about. It wasn't a breakfast, but that's ok.....it's close to many decent places to eat. No fridge or microwave....but, again...that's OK! The rooms were clean, the staff was fine....What in the world can you complain about when you choose a hotel based on a cheap price when things are seriously....just fine. It's not a 5 star hotel, it....is what it is. We will return. It's a place to sleep at a decent price. When you get back from the park after 10, with a clean room and the beds are made......and leave when you get up....with clean towels each day....what is there to gripe about?? Again....I will say....we'll return. No problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with our hotel! I am pleased that you found value in the accommodations and that you found your room to be clean and in acceptable order. As you indicate in your review, this is a budget-conscience property--as such, breakfast is not a mandated amenity; although we DO provide free coffee and muffins as a courtesy to all of our guests. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have stayed in many America's best value inns all over the country. We like them so much we became Value Club members. We read the reviews to many different inns, motels, hotels and alike up near Cedar Point. Really none sounded good to stay at. We choose to stay at our little fav inn and hoped for the best after reading about dirty rooms and rude staff. The room was nice and clean and the the staff was very helpful and friendly. The one thing I do agree with is the WiFi sucks. It was sporadic and only really worked the first time I logged in. But really who needs it when you are going to Cedar Point? The restaurant on sight was great and great value for the amount of food you got! Needed dogie bags but no fridge or microwave in the room. Oh well, Sorry Snoopy. Over all great stay, great value, no issues will go back next time we go up to Cedar Point!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found it to exceed your expectations and that you are a loyal Value Club member of ABVI! I'm super-excited to hear that the accommodations were clean and that the staff was pleasant and responsive to your needs. Thanks, also, for bringing the sporadic WiFi access to our attention. We will most definitely look into that problem and see if we can't find a resolution. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back again on your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night while in Cedar Point. Honestly, was very scared after reading all of the horrible reviews (I was not the one to make the hotel arrangements). Once we arrived everything looked fine, staff was nice, lobby area was decent and the room was clean. Only had one problem with a friend of mine having a very flat pillow but we received a new one after we asked. It's not much of a hotel but for one night and the price you are paying, it works. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm exceedingly happy that you found our accommodations more than acceptable and I'm even more delighted that our staff took care of the one issue that you described. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel had all bad reviews so when I arrived I was not sure what I would find, but actually it was a very nice place especially for the money. It was nearly half the price as any of the other hotels in the area and I was very pleased with the room. The room was clean and the employees were VERY nice and helpful to all of my requests. The only problem I had was that the safe didn't work and they couldn't figure out why, so they offered to give me a different room but it was not that important to me to use the safe. I would definitly recommend it to anyone who is going there and wants to save some money on a room. The only draw back was there was no continental breakfast except coffee and packaged blueberry muffins which to me is important because I like to have breakfast when I get up and I had to travel to get a meal. Maybe they will read this and start to offer a decent breakfast and it would make my next stay a little more relaxing since i won't have to go out to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel! We're appreciative of your review and pleased that your stay met the majority of your expectations. Because of the deeply discounted hotel rates that we are able to offer, continental breakfast is not a required amenity for this particular franchise brand. We offer the muffins and coffee simply as an "extra" or as a courtesy to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Until then, safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown, wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

After getting to the Comfort Inn and finding they had overbooked and had to cancel my reservation, they sent me to Americas Best Value Inn. Pulling up and going into the lobby I assumed this place wasn't that bad, especially with the friendly front desk gentleman. Then we got to the room. It looked as if we had walked into the 1970's, not did it seem to have been cleaned since then either. The room smelled so bad (it was non smoking) the mattresses were stained, almost as stained as the brown pillows we had to sleep on. The air conditioner did not work and the water was either scalding hot, or ice cold. This was probably the worst experience of my life, that I have had to pay for at least. Will not be back.

Room Tip: Looks can be very deceiving, try to see pictures of the rooms before booking. Tip for finding a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff. It's comments like yours that help us to continually focus on guest satisfaction and to improve the physical features and conditions of our property. We hope that you'll give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you to our area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Please please stay somewhere else. Our room wasn't ready, then got into one and the ac wasn't working,shower had a film of soap scum and toilet wouldn't flush and the staff was very rude and acted like we were a nuisance for wanting assistance. The hotel bar staff is a joke... we were only 2 people sitting at bar and bartender decieded to run water and ignore us for 20 minutes. Overall hotel was dirty and just a joke. It is close to good bars and restaurantes but I beg of you to not stay here!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer comments about your recent stay in our hotel property. We continually strive to make guest satisfaction our number one priority and, athough we may have missed the mark in your case, it's comments like yours that help to offer real-world examples to our staff how we can improve and work to meet or exceed guest expectations. Thank you again for your comments. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity to serve your needs on a future trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#16 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites
Days Inn & Suites
#21 of 34 in Sandusky
3.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#10 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky
Knights Inn Sandusky
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn Sandusky

Address: 5608 Milan Road, Interstate 80/90 Exit 118, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your vacation dollar goes farther here where our 100 beautifully appointed guestrooms feature everything you need for a fun-filled vacation including complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary HBO and premium channels, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck, in-room coffee maker, and more. There’s also an onsite restaurant and lounge. The famous RoadHouse Restaurant & Saloon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your America's Best Value Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Americas Best Value Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Americas Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.