We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Bay Resort to your Saves list
Castaway Bay Resort
2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in a Tarpon suite, the suite was pretty nice. Having the bunk beds for the kids in a separate living space was very nice and gave us the extra space we needed as a family of 5. We did have a couple issues with housekeeping - they kept forgetting to bring towels and replenish the coffee for the morning. But the hotel staff was very nice and brought us everything that housekeeping forgot. The waterpark is pretty much for kids 12 and under, my 14 y/o enjoyed it with her little sister, but it is not something she would choose to do on her own. TGI Fridays at the hotel was horrible, two more minutes and we would have left without our food and so overpriced, I do not recommend going there. There is a pizza place called The Pie Factory...call them for delivery and eat in your room...Delicious and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    208
    114
    86
    78
See reviews for
414
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Not sure if I would stay again. The staff was very friendly but . . . the only day we were able to spend in the waterpark 3 slides (there are only 4) were not working and my kids could not play near the bucket holding the water so we were left with the wave pool and hot tub.
Our room was eh. The kids had no where to store their clothes other than their suitcases, the air conditioner didn't seem to be working at full capacity (was kind of sticky in the room) and my son's bed smelled of urine.
But all in all we still had a Great time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid a little more than some other comparable hotels but the clincher was the early entrance to Cedar Point topped off by GREAT customer service. We had an issue with the reservation intially but teh team worked to gether to resolve it. At check-in, because it was slow that evening, we asked and received a water view room at no additional charge.

Room Tip: Check in early. Ask staff for best available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms need to be re-modeled...as they are very outdated. Our mini fridge was not working, but was replaced within 30 minutes of making a phone call. The kids (ages 4 and 8) loved the waterpark, but one of the main slides for their age group(pineapple plunge?) was not open either of the days we were there. Breakfast at Mango Mike's was delicious. The arcade was too expensive!! Despite this, we still had a very enjoyable stay at Castaway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice with a friendly helpful staff. The water park was clean and well staffed. The breakfast buffet was a good value that we purchased as part of our hotel/ cedar point visit.

I highly suggest staying at the castaway bay on a visit to cedar point. The water park in the hotel was nice but a bit small but coupled with the discount passes to cedar point made it all worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I've read some of the poor reviews and decided these must be people who enjoy complaining. I've been visiting Castaway Bay for the last 5 years. We come during the 4th of July holiday and I've never seen the so called filthy rooms, or rude employees. I've always had very friendly service so maybe it's the attitude of the visitors. The only thing I encountered this year was an old looking food item in the eb & eddy's. This isn't the Hamptons or the Hilton. It's a waterpark where thousands of little children run free on a daily basis all year long. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a great time .the hotel was nice and clean the room size was good.indoor watermark was fun.the breakfast was good.the staff was nice and professional. over all the 5 day with my family 2 adults and 3 kids 11,12,13 was a great time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We're glad to hear you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay Resort

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this resort destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castaway Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Castaway Bay Resort Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.