We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay...enjoyed the waterpark!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Bay Resort to your Saves list
Castaway Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
1 review
“Nice place to stay...enjoyed the waterpark!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a Great time here! My husband, myself, our 11 year old son & his friend stayed here the day before we went to Cedar Point. Waterpark was fun, outdoor pool was nice, (lifeguard on duty) room was clean. Staff was very Friendly!
We ordered pizza from the room service & it was good...not to pricey. TGI fridays is connected & we were going to eat there but they for some reason they changed their hours and didn't notify Castaway Bay that they were no longer open until midnight, (they closed at 10 pm) we had a late night at the waterpark...
Only issue we had was at about 4am there was a horrible smell....not sure what it was or where it came from but smelled like oil or raw sewage...lasted for about 1/2 hr then went away.
Overall I would recommend this place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate all of your helpful feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    223
    122
    96
    85
See reviews for
452
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recenty returned from a family trip to Cedar Point. I went with my two daughters 24 and 18, and my 12 year old son. The hotel choice was supposed to be just a surprise bonus but turned out to be my favorite part of the trip. The staff we encountered throughout were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the waterpark especially the wave pool. There were a few larger water slides for the older children. We went out for breakfast as there are several restaurants to choose from in the area. The coffee at Ebb and Eddy's (Starbucks) was very good but naturally overpriced. I found the staff at this location to be especially entertaining.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and our two children (13,10) loved it. We spent the late afternoon and evening at the resort and then spent the next day at Cedar Point. It is very close to the park.
It was not crowded and my kids could get on slide after slide and move around the different areas without bumping into anyone. As an active adult I loved that you had to climb up many things and loved the cargo net and treasure you could climb across. It is a smaller waterpark but having not been to any others we really enjoyed our time.
We did notice that breakfast was pricey, so went to the McDonald's down the road instead. Also there is a T.G.I. Fridays attached to the property but it is very pricey. We were able to sit outside and eat though and that was a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Cedar Point and booked here for the early entry to the park. Check in was quick and easy, we got our wrist bands for the water park, breakfast tickets, park and parking passes. We stayed in a Tarpon Suite which was perfect for our family. Breakfast was ok but did not change from day to day. Would have liked a bit more variety. I found the room dark however, could have used more or better lighting. Also there were not enough power outlets for the family to charge all of our gadgets. We enjoyed the water park and it was nice to be able to relax in the hot tub.

My family would like to stay here again but I don't know if we would do the breakfast again since I thought it was expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROSSE POINTE WOODS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our third visit. The the waterpark was plenty fun for our 4 kids who range from 2 to 9 years in age. The life guards were good in the mornings but not so watchful by 9pm. We stayed in the Flamingo Suite for two nights. The space was large enough but our view was a roof top and a wall of another building and only one small bath. For the money and from our past experience, we would get two rooms facing the bay next time. Take care in the hot tub, wave pool and water slide landing areas, they are a little worn and abrasive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place to spend time with the kids. The room was fairly clean and friendly.The only thing I did not like was a highly overpriced breakfast. For this money we could have gotten much better food. The waitress's were very nice though. We would for sure go again

Room Tip: Get a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

quick check in on Saturday. Very decorative and kids love the water park. gift shop had great prices and choices of namebrand items. Many places to eat on property. We had full entertainment Saturday with waterpark and arcade. Mall was 5 minutes from resort and was nice to do a little shopping. Close to everything. Beautiful view on the water. Resort is nice and rooms are clean (nice them decorations). We had quick checkout and early entry to Cedar Point. Kids definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the five star review. We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay Resort

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this resort destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Castaway Bay Resort Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.