We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Bay Resort to your Saves list
Castaway Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we checked in we found our room dirty. Front desk handled it perfectly and had it cleaned right away. They gave us the breakfast buffet for free. It is normally $13 per person and if we had paid for it would have totally not been worth it. It was more like the type of buffet we get included with the room price at most hotels like a Holiday Inn. We found that we did not use the waterpark much because we were mostly there to go to Cedar Point, it was really hot outside, and it made us not want to hang out in a hot waterpark. It was a nice hotel though, decorated nicely, and the waterpark was very clean. It was nice to get in to Cedar Point an hour early and the discounted tickets ($34 each) were great.

Room Tip: We had a room with a king bed and a room with 2 sets of bunk beds. It worked out great for us and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I'm glad we were able to resolve your room issue, thank you for making us aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    223
    122
    96
    85
See reviews for
452
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We traveled to Cedar Point and stayed at Castaway Bay for 2 nights. I was anxious after reading many negative reviews about cleanliness. Well I was totally pleased and had no issues what so ever. The only negative I have to say was the 1 am fire alarm. The water park was awesome an my 7 year old daughter had a blast. There is a TGI Fridays attached to the hotel. It did not seem overpriced and the staff was friendly. It's just a VERY short ride to Cedar Point with a free parking pass. We also bought the breakfast buffet package which wasn't anything fancy but perfect for breakfast before heading to the park. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I would not spend the extra money for a bay view room. It faced TGI Fridays and an intersection on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

the waterpark was great for the kids, and minutes from various lake erie attractions!! great place to stay indoors and swim without fear of sunburn. package your room with cedar point and soak city tickets for more fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked a for night stay for my family vacation to Cedar Point. We arrive earlier then our scheduled check in was able to right to our room. Our room wasn't huge but was big enough for my family of 4. The staff was helpful and friendly. The weather was bad our whole stay, we even had a tornado watch issued during our stay. The staff kept us well informed of the situation and we felt that we were never in any real danger. I had bought a Cedar Point package which included a breakfast buffet every day of our stay. Same choices everyday, and not many of them. The TGIF that in Castaway Bay I feel is way over priced and advise you stay far away. My children enjoyed the water park and the arcade. I could see us going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Castaway Bay because the other hotels seemed to be booked for a room the size we needed for 2. These rooms do need some updating as well as new mattresses. The wallpaper coming off the wall, and the shower never drains while you are in there. As for what you get with your stay I think if you are going to offer indoor passes with ride and slide passes they all should be good for the rest of the season. There is NO way you can use them in time you book. Check in was a breeze but clerk was not friendly nor rude. Just mediocre. Staff in gift shop acted like she didnt care where she was. So all in all the stay was a little pricey but we had a blast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us a providing your feedback. To be clear on the admission tickets - indoor waterpark admission is valid during the dates of your stay. Cedar Point Ride & Slide tickets are valid for the 2013 season, they do not have to be used during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed at Castaway Bay for one night thank God I didn't book 2 nights. First of all, way overpriced. The waterpark is good if you have children. It is a small but it is a nice little place. The rooms however I found to be gross. The refrigerator did not work and it smelled. The microwave was dirty. The room was soooo small like a shoe box. But worse of all was the old rickety squeaky hard beds. The beds probably came with the building of the property. You know when you lay in the bed and the linens are old and uncomfortable and the bed is hard and you have only one pillow per person. I used the towels as blankets because it just felt gross. The whole place is way overpriced. The food, game room, little store ect. We had to ask for our parking pass for cedar point as advertised they did not just offer it. We also had to ask for a card for early access to cedar point as well, they did not offer that either as advertised. We had a nice night time visitor too, Mr centipede (nasty). We ate at overpriced TGIF, yucky food and high prices. Oh we'll we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. I hope you were able to speak with a manager while you were here so we could take care of any issues for you. There probably was some confusion if you already had Cedar Point tickets with you as the parking pass and early entry are part of the ticket packages. If you already have admission, you would have to let us know so we can get the appropriate items for you as not all of our guests visit Cedar Point while they stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time provide you review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been to Cedar Point more than a dozen times, but this was the first time that we decided to turn our trip into a long vacation. We chose Castaway Bay because it had an indoor waterpark, discounted park tickets and the convenience of restaurants on site. Having arrived early, were happy that our room was ready upon check-in. Check in was super quick and our entire package from breakfast buffet coupons to waterpark passes, to Cedar Point tickets & parking were ready to go when we arrived. We had booked a great water-view Manatee suite on the first floor. It was quite spacious, and the enclosed patio/deck space was lovely. Our only complaint was that a) there was only one bathroom for 7 people and b) housekeeping was a little lax in replenishing towels and obviously didn't see the sheet stains when they had made up the king bed. However, the overall experience was spectacular. It was great to have the convenience of having a hot breakfast at Mango Mikes and dinner at TGIF's without having to leave the hotel. The other nice amenity was obviously the indoor waterpark. Our kids range from 7-13 and it really had something for everyone. We were very pleased with our stay and will definitely make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Castaway Bay. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to being part of your family's tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay Resort

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this resort destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castaway Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Castaway Bay Resort Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.