We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to Cedar Point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Castaway Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castaway Bay Resort
2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location next to Cedar Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight. Hotel was is good shape. Very convenient to Cedar Point. Ready for the season. Staff was very pleasant. Rooms were comfortable. Parking is good. Would stay here again. Reminds of a kid when we used to come here each summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyadams01, Manager at Castaway Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    201
    112
    86
    76
See reviews for
399
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericktown, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Drove almost two hours to go to Kalahari went and it was booked so went here for the day I had been there before but years ago. Thank gosh it was only $29 The lady at the front desk was nice but the place was dead! it was me and my sister and my friend, went into the water park and it was so small.For us all we really could do was the hot tub, the body slides and the tube slide they have, only was was there for 3 hours and left. For sure would be a good place for little kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My Wife and I took our children on a over night stay at Castaway Bay. Since it was the first time that the four of us have been we weren't sure what to expect. We drove down a few hours from Michigan and showed up about an hour before check in. (It was noted that check in was at 4pm) as we arrived the staff was very friendly and checked in a bit before 3pm, which was a nice thing. The room was very clean and up to standards with most hotels/resorts that my wife and I had stayed at in previous trips. Later on in the afternoon we all went to the water park, since that's the reason why we are here for. The staff in the water park was pretty friendly but didn't notice much since it was so loud. Next morning we all had breakfast at Mango Mikes breakfast buffet, a little pricey but at least the kids ate for free. Later on in the morning the wife and I took the children up to Camp Castaway to color their t-shirt's and beach towels that was included in the package.

So with our over all experience I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren,ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

place was nice and clean, staff was nice . the staff at the front desk was very nice to change our room, due to my wife gets out of breath real easy, also the girl at front desk got my wife a wheel chair she can use . water park more for familys with small childern, but i had fun anyways

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELIDA, OHIO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Front desk staff wasn't very attentive during check in. The only plus was that our room was ready early. This could be due to them not being very busy. Wasn't much to do for our kids as they are older. Same for the parents. Park itself looks very well maintained but not overly clean. No one working wanted to be there. Never saw a single smile out of anyone! Worst thing was our friends with use had a purse and other items stolen off their chair, Yes they shouldnt have left it there but had it all covered up with towels and not very busy with people. Within 20 minutes it was picked up, emptied and turned into the check in station empty. Attendant wasnt sure who turned it in. Just watch your stuff as they have staff come around and pick up dirty towels off the floor (and apparently off of chairs as well right about shift change!!) Security is handling but hotel management could care less. Will never go back!!

Room Tip: Dont pay for anything until after you take a look at the room you are being given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had an amazing time at cast away. I recommend this to anyone with young kids. We have a three year old and there was so much to do. It is a fun family environment and the service is really top notch. They have a really good staff here! The prices are amazing also and if you want some lunch at a reasonable price go to big Daddy's in the water park. Even the Starbucks at Ebb and Eddys is decent in price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for two days and the experience was great. The staff was very nice and friendly. Housekeeping came around in the morning and evening to see if we needed anything. We had the family fun package and it was great. Two kids eat free per one adult entree which was a great addition to our trip. This place is very kid friendly. They had an arcade, crafts and karaoke. There were a lot of activities available for the kids. There is also a bowling alley, mall and movie cinema near by. This was a trip well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay Resort

Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this resort destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Castaway Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Castaway Bay Resort Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.