We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1935 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
1 review
“Ok but......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lots of negatives :
-Small waterpark (super small,compared to others in area)
-no indoor pool so the hot tub became the pool which with small kids in it does not work.
- so much chlorine. Which never bothers me but here it burned my eyes just being around it.
- hallways reaked of smoke (but luckily the rooms did not)
-small beds,no elevators(which with a stroller does not work),arcade is pricy and half of the games don't work..
- showers were small, I mean if your over 5feet tall your going to have to scrunch to shower( which you'll need to after being in all that chlorine)
- no water place for little ones. Mine were constantly getting run over by bigger kids who never watch where there going ( and the lifeguards don't bother telling them to stop running either )
- no water slides for smaller kids (under 42inches)

The few positives:
- hotel is right the entrance to cedar point( if that is important to you)
- it's cheap
- the FREE breakfast was very good
-the restaurant attached has good food ( but its a bit pricy)
-bowling alley was nice
-staff was friendly
- waterpark is so small you won't lose you'd kids


All in all we will not be staying here again. If your looking for a waterpark hotel spend the extra money and go to any of the others in the area(kalahari, great wolf, castaway bay). (We actually got bored and went to kalahari for the day , which is amazing !)
If your looking for a cheap hotel next to cedar point but not one of there's this place would do.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    44
    30
    64
See reviews for
141
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Every year we go home to Sandusky to visit my parents for Easter and we always stay at the Rain. We have been coming here for years and we are never disappointed. This pace is like home. We thought about trying one of the bigger water parks in the area this year for a change but the kids threatened us. They look forward to going here every Easter. The rates are reasonable and they have had the same staff forever. In addition to a small water park they also have a really nice bowling alley and restaurant. There is something for everyone at this hotel and is a family fav for us. We'll be back next Easter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Discovered this place by accident driving back home from visiting my parents. We stopped in Sandusky for a bite to eat at one of the restaurants off the interstate and our waitress recommended this place for a nice place to spend the night with the kids. When we pulled In our first impression was this was a older hotel but it was packed hard to find a place to park, it was a Saturday night. Once we went inside the kids were so excited there is so much to do. This was the perfect stop for kids that had been stuck in a car. They have a small but cute water play area and a really neat bowling alley. Only wished we had got here earlier because so could have spent more time. The next day the kids begged us to stay another night and tried to bribe us with breakfast in bed from the hotels continental breakfast but we had to get on the road. The one draw back was this hotel was noisy lots of kids running around including ours and the rooms were being a remodeled when we there so they were in a semi state of being finished but were clean. Glad we found this place by accident!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stay at this hotel everytime we're in Sandusky. It's very convenient and very reasonably priced. We were in Sandusky for a women bowling tournament and brought the kids. While we bowled they played in the hotels water park and we all enjoyed the Thirsty Pony Restaurant. This is one of our favorites places to go with the kids. The hotel is older but clean and the staff have all been there for a long time.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for hours of the hotels water park and lazer tag
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have become a regular at this hotel. They have a very nice, computerized bowling alley that the kids (and adults) love and also has laser tag and a game room. The indoor water slides are clean and well supervised so no worries there with the kids. The Thirsty Pony restaurant/bar has horse betting, great drink and food prices and a cozy atmosphere that we love. I HIGHLY recommend this facility, especially in the winter months because all the fun is under the same roof so you dont have to go outside! Its a close, inexpensive, clean and friendly, fun place to get away for a night or the weekend, WE LOVE IT.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have been there many times and have never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ms.Shea upgraded my reservation to a Jacuzzi room because I was a rewards member. The room was very clean and most importantly very quiet. A very relaxing enviorment. Check out was as pleasing and professional. The hot breakfast was awesome... Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

grandkids loved the water park, rooms were clean, staff was wonderful and great food in thirsty pony, taco night in bowling alley was a blast kids loved it. breakfast was wonderful alot to choose from. we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park

Address: 1935 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park Hotel Sandusky
Quality Inn And Suites Rainwater Park
Quality Inn Rainwater Park
Quality Inn Motel Cedar Point
Quality Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.