We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary but Cheap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-0353   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scary but Cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You get what you pay for. My friends booked this hotel so that we could go to Put in Bay. It was dirty, scuzzy and cheap. Everything expected. Haha. I mean if you drink enough does it matter? I wouldnt choose to stay here again, but it wasnt the worst place I have ever been.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    18
    14
    55
See reviews for
33
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Don't do what we did and book this place, on most sites they advertise a free breakfast, this is a LIE they do not provide a breakfast. As this was a major criteria when choosing a place to stay don't get sucked in like we did! The rooms are rough, lights don't work, dirty and generally the place is run down and needs a lot of work! Don't try and make a long distance call as although instructions are on the phone in your room, they must have come from somewhere else as advised by reception this is not an option. Use any other booking site except "Hotels.com" as trying to get any sense from them about their false advertising is like smashing your head against a brick wall

Room Tip: only spent time in one so can't comment, but expect they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

DO NOT stay at this hotel unless you don't mind getting high off of the marijuana smell.My family stayed in two rooms in the executive suites which is a seperate building that has three entrances that are wide open.You do not need a key to get into any of these entrances.There is no one on staff in this building so anyone can walk in at any given time of day or night, and there were homeless people hanging out in the lobby,the lobby that had no one in it.My kids were scared to stay in their own room. The window on the first level at the entrance was wide open as well. The rooms were dirty and smelled musty.There was so much weed smoking in our hotel it reeked of the smell everyday and not to mention my daughter walked outside and a boy was smoking weed in broad daylight. Do not bring your children to this hotel.The owner of the property Nicole is rude and very un helpful,I made a complaint about this hotel to corporate and personally spoke to Nicole myself and she proceeded to tell me that weed smoking goes on all the time there and there is not much she can do except call the police.Really? maybe she should put someone on staff in that building and if I could smell the weed and the kids can smell the weed then I know the staff smelled it but then again maybe they smoke it as well.This hotel sucks!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay at this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richeyville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My kids and I stayed 3 nights while going to Cedar Point and the lake. Friendly staff, close to Cedar Point, great price. JUST A PLACE TO SLEEP. Been in a lot better, and a lot worse. Would I stay again... Yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Found this motel on Priceline they had ok reviews. It was cheap. We had been away from home for a week in many hotels. So we decided well can't hurt it was owned by choice hotels should be good. Claimed to have an indoor heated pool-far from it! You were lucky if the pool was 55 degrees! That's freezing! The shower wasn't clean at first glance it was ok. We woke up itchy and goin bugs in our bed! My poor boy ha a few bed bug bites! :( we were soupose be there two nights yea that didn't happen! Went to the front desk and got money back for the night we canceled. We better get the money back the night we did stay! Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms at this hotel in July 2012, for a Cedar Point visit. This hotel is old, one of our rooms was not cleaned at all during our 3 days, there are no room amenitied like fridge or microwave (there is a small coffee-maker) and we had no light above the sink-mirror area. I do think they try - front desk staff is friendly and coffee and juice in front office all day - but this is an older property and you should only stay there if it's just a stopover for your days in Cedar Point and you don't care about any luxury.

Room Tip: My older kids got a corner room that was quite large, would be better for families with younger kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

First off the room was very small. The T.V. did not work properly, the drywall was damaged, and the ceiling tiles were molded and dirty. The pool water looked green and disgusting. The doors to the rooms have an 1" gap at the bottom where anything could crawl in. And in our case it DID!! While we were laying in the bed we found a giant/huge water bug crawling in our bed. It was literally the size of my palm!! We exited the room immediately and asked for a full refund. The clerk then stated they get those all the time after it rains. She said not to worry and tried to give us another room. We weren't having it!! In short people stay somewhere else!! It was by far the most horrific hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North

Address: 1021 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-0353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Cedar Point North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.