We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drove 3 hours home instead of stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Cedar Point

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Cedar Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cedar Point
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1904 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Midwest USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Drove 3 hours home instead of stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I booked this room for 7/31/09 after a Cedar Point visit based on park proximity and favorable online reviews. Only requirement was cleanliness. When we entered the room the musty smell was overwhelming and you couldn't take a deep breath without coughing. As soon as we took off our shoes we realized the entire carpet was wet. The carpet was buckled and wrinkled and had been wet for a long while. We were exhausted and just wanted sleep. Upon looking at the bedding we saw burn holes in both bedspreads and one sheet. We found a curly hair in one bed and an actual moving bedbug in the other bed. I know bedbugs are an increasing problem in hotels everywhere but usually are not visible until a warm body in in the bed awhile. This one was crawling in the empty bed so how infested is it? We also noticed the shower was wet and this was at 11:30 pm. The only positive is that the desk clerk did not hesitate or give me a hard time when I said we wanted the room refunded. It was almost like she wasnt surprised and it was a common request. We checked for a room at another hotel that had a vacancy sign but even that place was full. We decided to drive the full way back to Michigan. (a full three hour drive). Im so glad we decided to leave Econo Lodge. It cant be good to breathe whatever things are growing in that moldy environment within and under that wet carpet alone.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
65
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, NW burbs
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

If you're looking for a no-frills place to sleep, while spending a couple days at Cedar Point, this is a good choice. The place is family-owned, and the staff was very friendly. Just don't expect the same frills - it's a budget place for a reason.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The front desk lady was all smiles - nice after a long drive. The room was a nice size, plenty of room to move around without bonking into each other. The location couldn't be much better, no extra trip to get to the gate. The room was very clean, the a/c worked beautifully. While obviously a little older, the pool area was clean and neat and back away from traffic. The room wasn't musty or smelly at all. Also, there was an iron and ironing board and blow dryer. I just wish there had been a little coffee pot as well.

I made the reservations before I read the reviews here...and was very worried. No need though, we had NO problems. We stayed for two nights and were very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

As others I was skeptical at first, but found the accomodations acceptable for one nights lodging prior to a day at Cedar Point. The room was clean and the bathroom appeared to be recently renovated, but the bathroom fan was extremely noisy. The heating/cooling unit worked well and was fairly quiet. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the bed comfort a 7. The heated outdoor pool area was in need of some minor repair, but the water was clean and fairly warm. My kids went swimming although the evening was overcast and low 70s. The breakfast was bare bones (coffee and small rolls), so we decided to go out for breakfast. However, to our surprise, there aren't any breakfast places near the hotel except for a McDonald's 1/2 mile down the Cedar Point Causeway. For the price and location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We spent one night here, and it was a very good hotel for the price especially compared to the alternatives in the area. The first room we got smelled pretty odd, but the very nice manager (owner?) at the desk reassigned us to a different room without a problem. It smelled a bit musty but a lot better than the previous room. The beds were a bit old/sagging, but otherwise the room was just fine. It was also nice having the free continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayslake, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights while going to Cedar Point, I was a little iffy at first but this hotel was clean and very close to Cedar Point. We stayed with friends and both rooms were clean, our room was a bit musty/smokey but maybe because the room had not been used much lately. It smelled lots better after a day or so..... The beds were nice, the bathroom clean and recently remodeled. The breakfast, while not much was ok! Bagels, english muffins, donuts and coffee/juice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, oh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I usually don’t write reviews but this experience warranted a review. My family and I stayed at this location during the opening weekend of Cedar Point 2009. I will start with the one and only positive. This is a great location in relation to Cedar Point. The hotel is almost at the park’s entrance. End of the positive. This place reminded me of a crack house only worse. The rooms are small, smelly and have the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. You can hear every move made in the room four doors down or the footsteps of each person walking by. When the pool is open you couldn’t pay me to take a dip in that cesspool. I’m not sure how they can call the continental breakfast food. There were four items available. Hostess doughnuts & cinnamon rolls, English muffins, & stale mini bagels. That’s it noting more, McD’s actually has a better breakfast than this dump. I’m sure the other positive reviews must be employees/owners. Save yourself and get the Hampton Inn or similar just a few blocks down the road. Guess this place lives up to the old saying “you get what you pay for”.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Cedar Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cedar Point

Address: 1904 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cedar Point 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Cedar Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Hotel Sandusky
Econolodge Cedar Point
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cedar Point Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Cedar Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.