We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but have become above criticism.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zinc Brasserie

Zinc Brasserie
215 E Water Street, Sandusky, OH 44870-2502
419-502-9462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Sandusky
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good but have become above criticism.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Went for my birthday last Sept. Ordered the Halibut, a little overcooked but not bad. We had a party of 4 and I have to say our food was good. We had one problem, ordered wine and while our server was pouring
the wine I noticed the glass was dirty. Instead of taking the bottle back to the bar and bringing a fresh bottle as a restaurant of this caliber would do, she took the glass of wine and poured it into a fresh glass. I did e-mail the restaurant owners with no acknowledgement so sent a letter directly to the owners requesting an acknowledgement. Still no reply. Just wanted to let them know if they wanted to attract fine diners they needed to be aware of how to keep them coming back. Am local and unfortunatelywon't be able to get my husband to go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    16
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is one of the best restaurants in the country. For the price, it would be very hard to find anything better. The quality of the food was outstanding. The service was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. We will definately be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“How can a small town have one of the best restaurants in the country?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We have been to top notch restaurants all over the states...The Herbfarm in Seattle, Peter Lugar Steakhouse in NYC, Ocean Club\Prime in columbus ohio and Phoenix. This place is just awesome! The chef is a home town boy who studied at the Culinary Institute of America and went back home to start his own place. The flavor combinations and quality are phenomenal. Their lobster bisque is delicious, especially topped with a flaky pastry, their meat and fishes are diverse and tasty. the desserts are yummy. If ever in the area of Cedar Point, have a 5 star dinner in a casual atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Everything here is terrific, but the Lobster Bisque is to die for! The food is pricey but worth every penny! They use unusual ingredients and feature special martinis. I highly recommend the Zinc for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Never disappoints! This is a fabulous restaurant for people who enjoy fine dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have eaten at Zinc more times that I can count. Most recently last night for our anniversary. This is a small, amazing little bistro where you can enjoy food that is truly inventive and delicious. The Chef/owner is creative and skilled and on the cutting edge of cuisine. This is not a wings-n-burgers joint, this is fine dining complete with white table cloths and an amazing wine list. It's not cheap, but in comparison to fine dining in Cleveland or Chicago, the food is amazingly well-priced. I've taken my children here, but they're foodies and they truly loved the Lobster mac 'n cheese, but this place is not really what I would call "child-friendly." I lunch here often and in the summer there's a perfect little patio on the sidewalk. This is also a popular place for an after work glass of wine and an appetizer and it won't take long for the staff to learn and remember your name. I highly reccomend this restaurant... and I recommend the calamari appetizer with smoked peanuts and cilantro.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Zinc Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zinc Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.