We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to do lots of Walking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
chicago illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Prepare to do lots of Walking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is massive! The Resort is set up with the Water Park and main lobby which contains all the restaurants and shops in the front and rooms behind so if you have any restrictions you may want to request a room as close to the Water Park as possible. We stayed in the Sands section of the resort which is the furthest point from the Water park so needless to say we did alot of walking. The room we stayed in was the Hut room, which was their most reasonable room and was more than sufficient. I read a few complaints about checking out and will say it requires some patience. Getting a cart was not a problem for us as there were plenty, the problem was once you were ready to exit you will encounter a line of people with carts that stretches all the way down the hall trying to get an elevator. It reminded me of airplanes on a runway all waiting to takeoff! The wait was so bad I gave up waiting for the elevator and used the stairs and made at least 5 trips back and forth to load the car. My advice is load the night before check out and just keep a bag with your daily needs handy to avoid the chaos. The resort was a lot of fun for the Kids and had a ton of activities to offer such as pottery to mini bowling and more. We would stay here again and look forward to checking out their other property in the Dells.

Room Tip: request a room closest to the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    677
    284
    186
    174
See reviews for
1,599
87
3
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked this hotel on a Wednesday and was able to get a room for Friday to Saturday.
The experience was awesome from the moment we pulled in and were greeted by the man who told us where to park to unpack to the bellman who unloaded our bags from the van and waited with them until we checked in. Then escorted us to the room and unloaded and made sure we knew where everything was located and even asked if we needed anything.
The room was amazing. Very clean! Pizza was great!! Recomend it!!!
The water park was great. This time around I have a 19 month old and the toddler area was amazing. A variety of things for all the little ones.
There was staff and lifeguards everywhere to help you if you so needed.
I definitely want to go back this summer to experience the outdoor adventures.
Thanks so much for your deal on TripAdvisor. Definitely family friendly!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Second time here and will be back again. We took our teenager and he had a blast along with us. Now we want to go back with our toddler grandson. They have something for everyone. Large toddler area to play in with many slides not just one or two and many big kid slides, large hot tub areas along with great wave pool. Lots of sitting areas. Best water park in state. Clean rooms, friendly staff, not overly priced for food either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We just love that we are growing with your family. Thank you so much for visiting and sharing. Your toddler will love it! I just wanted to be sure to let you know how much we appreciate hearing your feedback. Thank you! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Kalahari is an awesome resort! We have 2 sons ages 13 and 7 and it is perfect for both of their ages! We had a two bedroom suite...we got a great deal thru living social! Nicest hotel room/suite we have ever stayed in, 2 bedroom suite with fireplace. Patio's opened up to the outdoor waterpark. This feature would be awesome in the summer! Hope Living social runs the deal again because we will be going back! The park was clean and well run. The life guards very attentive and took jobs seriously! It was a rainy cold April weekend, the perfect answer to spring fever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Kalahari is a nice place to get away from the winter doldrums. The inside waterpark has various slides to quench your need for thrills. The hot tubs and the lazy river provide a more laid back way to enjoy the park. If you have ever wanted to try surfing, they have a Wave Runner that mimics the surfing element. You can enjoy the wave pool with its awesome wave action. There are also several attractions made just for the littles. When you get tired of the water, you have several shopping areas throughout the resort along with eating establishments of all kinds. You can enjoy an adult beverage in the water park if you are so inclined.

In the summer time, there is the outdoor water park available as well. They have added zip lines and a "mini" zoo out there as well.

The rooms are clean and neat. Most providing a refrigerator and microwave. We always try to get one that has a balcony and a fireplace as well if we are staying in the winter time.

Be sure to bring your camera as there is so much to see here.

Room Tip: see if they have a free upgrade when you get to the desk. Sometimes you can get really lucky :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We're thrilled and so very thankful that you continually visit us, and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to review us! As I see snow in some of the Midwest's forecast this week, I am so excited for when we can open the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park. Soon I hope! We're excited to see everyone again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We bought a deal on Living Social for a one night stay. I went with my Mom and three kids ages 9, 6, and 2. There was something for everyone and we had an absolute blast! This was our first stay but definitely not our last! We had a 2-bedroom suite and it was very nice. We loved the sitting area with the fire place and table. The guys outside were SO helpful with luggage and answering questions. The people working at the check-in desk were friendly as well. My 9 year old accidently purchased a movie that charged me $9.99 but the girl at the desk took it off my bill which I greatly appreciated. I love that the indoor waterpark is open until 9pm. My kids loved the waterpark and hated to leave. We will be back for sure. It's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Well we think you are wonderful yourself! So great to hear you were able to take advantage of the Living Social offer and come visit! I will be sure to pass along all the good thoughts to our team. We just love hearing it! I just wanted to be sure I pass along our thanks for visiting us and your time! We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went with my kids for the night and they had a really great time! This place is absolutely HUGE and the wait times can be maddening, but the kids had a blast and that's all that matters. I know some people have complained about the language of the kids at the park, but I saw none of that and was pleasantly surprised at how much of a non-issue this was for me. Definitely recommend this for a day/night of family fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We're so thankful for your time to not only visit us but also to review our resort. Very glad to hear that the family had a blast! During the more popular times, the lines can get long, so I'm glad to hear that wasn't too much of an issue for everyone. Hopefully when you return, you can come a time a little less busy and have your run of the place. That would be so fun! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.