We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful winter getaway - summer too actually” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Mantua, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful winter getaway - summer too actually”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Kalahari is a nice place to get away from the winter doldrums. The inside waterpark has various slides to quench your need for thrills. The hot tubs and the lazy river provide a more laid back way to enjoy the park. If you have ever wanted to try surfing, they have a Wave Runner that mimics the surfing element. You can enjoy the wave pool with its awesome wave action. There are also several attractions made just for the littles. When you get tired of the water, you have several shopping areas throughout the resort along with eating establishments of all kinds. You can enjoy an adult beverage in the water park if you are so inclined.

In the summer time, there is the outdoor water park available as well. They have added zip lines and a "mini" zoo out there as well.

The rooms are clean and neat. Most providing a refrigerator and microwave. We always try to get one that has a balcony and a fireplace as well if we are staying in the winter time.

Be sure to bring your camera as there is so much to see here.

Room Tip: see if they have a free upgrade when you get to the desk. Sometimes you can get really lucky :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We're thrilled and so very thankful that you continually visit us, and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to review us! As I see snow in some of the Midwest's forecast this week, I am so excited for when we can open the Safari Outdoor Adventure Park. Soon I hope! We're excited to see everyone again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    664
    280
    183
    174
See reviews for
1,577
87
3
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We bought a deal on Living Social for a one night stay. I went with my Mom and three kids ages 9, 6, and 2. There was something for everyone and we had an absolute blast! This was our first stay but definitely not our last! We had a 2-bedroom suite and it was very nice. We loved the sitting area with the fire place and table. The guys outside were SO helpful with luggage and answering questions. The people working at the check-in desk were friendly as well. My 9 year old accidently purchased a movie that charged me $9.99 but the girl at the desk took it off my bill which I greatly appreciated. I love that the indoor waterpark is open until 9pm. My kids loved the waterpark and hated to leave. We will be back for sure. It's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Well we think you are wonderful yourself! So great to hear you were able to take advantage of the Living Social offer and come visit! I will be sure to pass along all the good thoughts to our team. We just love hearing it! I just wanted to be sure I pass along our thanks for visiting us and your time! We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went with my kids for the night and they had a really great time! This place is absolutely HUGE and the wait times can be maddening, but the kids had a blast and that's all that matters. I know some people have complained about the language of the kids at the park, but I saw none of that and was pleasantly surprised at how much of a non-issue this was for me. Definitely recommend this for a day/night of family fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We're so thankful for your time to not only visit us but also to review our resort. Very glad to hear that the family had a blast! During the more popular times, the lines can get long, so I'm glad to hear that wasn't too much of an issue for everyone. Hopefully when you return, you can come a time a little less busy and have your run of the place. That would be so fun! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Kalahari is a fabulous resort!!! The employees are very friendly and willing to lend a hand, offer advice... or just help in any way they can. The resort is very clean.. the rooms, the indoor waterpark, the restaurants, the arcade.... you name it, it is very, very clean. It is a fun place for all ages. The water slides are awesome!

Room Tip: We had a Desert Room (4 of us) and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We got a great deal on one of their specials, so it was very reasonable. Otherwise, it can be very pricey. The indoor water park was nice, they had several slides, hot tubs, a lazy river, a wave pool, a toddler's play area and more. They allow you to arrive at noon and make use of the water park until your room is ready. They say the rooms will be ready starting at 4:00, but no guarantees it will be ready at 4. The rooms are nice. We had a 3 room suite. We took the family down there for a short vacation (an 18 month old, 5 adults and a senior citizen). You have to rent lockers in the waterpark to store your stuff while you wait for your rooms. That first afternoon the water park was packed. You had to wait over an hour in line to ride a slide. It was the Sunday following spring break. I would reccomend not going over spring break week. It was terribly crowded. On Monday morning, the water park was almost deserted until 11 am or so. Go during the week if you can. They sell day passes and I think the place is probably packed every weekend when kids aren't in school. Check out the convention center, which is attached to the hotel. Lots of really cool African art to look at, it's almost like an art museum. They also have an arcade, an outdoor petting zoo, and the outdoor water park (which was still closed for the season). Lots of restaurants, bars, gift shops, etc. Everything you need is there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the waterpark. It can be a long walk to the indoor water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Spring break is a popular time. We're so glad to hear that you were able to have your run of the place Monday morning. That is so much fun! We're also thrilled to hear that you were able to snag a special. That's the best way to have a family vacation :) Thank you for not only visiting us but also taking the time to review our resort. It was certainly our pleasure to have you this past week and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The indoor water park was very nice , the only thing I say that they should add an eat only section . There was no where to sit and eat . We loved the big and reasonable arcade .the buffets were good the service was kind . Overall very great get away for my boy and his mom!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am a single mom. I brought my daughter (10) and friends for an overnight stay. This trip was a little expensive for me, but was a great time. Checkout was a little crazy. Not at the desk, but the mad rush for everyone to get their luggage out is a little ridiculous. Can't find a luggage cart to save your life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I would guess your daughter is so thankful for taking her and her friends to Kalahari! What an awesome treat for them. Thank you so much for coming to visit us! Glad to heave everyone had a great time. The luggage carts can be scarce when everyone is checking out at once. We have recognized this and put an order in for more. So those will be coming soon. Thank you for your feedback with that! That is extremely helpful to find areas we can improve on. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Thank you for visiting us and then taking the time to review us! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.