We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, but over priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Roseville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun, but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This resort is huge, and it's got everything you could want, but they are going to make you pay 3 to 4 times what the item is actually worth.

If you have teenage kids, you'll be making your kids very happy by going, and there are not many places where you can spend your entire trip in a bathing suit in the Midwest in winter.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    598
    252
    167
    162
See reviews for
1413
79
2
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goshen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had 8 adults and 9 kids, all first time visitors. We stayed Friday thru Sunday. Liked the fact that you could start using the water park at noon on the first day eventhough you couldn't check in until 3 pm. Yes it was busy to check in the staff was very nice and even let us divide the cost of the hotel b/t all families. We all liked the suite and it was spacious. Full size kitchen was great but would love to have a cookie sheet to use. Not a big deal though. Water park was great and the kids ( ranging in ages 4 to 13) had fun. Yes the lines were long but it was a weekend with a holiday attached to it. Learn to carry a conversation. A couple of irritations from our families were the length of time for the activity of the day. Make it all day long or longer than an hour. The other was the staff at the body surfing..... Be friendly with everyone and give suggestions on what to try. One staffer at the bottom just stood there and didn't say try this or that. And please talk to them about flirting..... They literally stopped the timer to give a couple of cute girls a longer time and were "friendlier" with them. The Reserve restaurant was good and liked that you had a kids buffet. I do think the website should say something about booking a cabana when you make your reservation. That information would be helpful as well as knowing the prices of the cabanas. Overall we had a great time and will visit again. Everyone has to remember this is a family place to go for all types of people and the definition of family and what is acceptable or not is a wide definition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and so happy that you gave us a try. President's Day weekend is a popular one, so we sincerely appreciate you taking that into consideration. We certainly try out best to stay efficient as possible, I'm glad that this wasn't an inconvenience for you. I have forwarded our thoughts to our Waterpark Managers, Activities Director and our Food and Beverage team. I hope we will see you again soon and you will have an even more amazing time! Thank you so much for all of your thoughts! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at Kalahari Waterpark with our two kids aged 8 and 10. We stayed over President's Weekend so were expecting the crowds to be large which they were. Despite that fact, we still had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The rooms were large and clean. The large, fully loaded arcade was a good option for the kids if they needed a break from the water park. We didn't wait more than a half hour at any of the restaurants. The food was average but that is not why we came. The water park itself was clean and there were many rides for the kids to explore. Yes, the lines were long; so if going over a holiday make sure you stay two nights so you dont feel rushed. The wave pool was fun and it appeared to have a very nice area for young children. The tiki bar was great and the service was fast! My only complaint is there were not enough chairs for how many people they allowed in. In my opinion, resort guests should have some priority over day passers. Over all, a great winter weekend. We left with happy kids!

Room Tip: Stay on floor 6. It is very quiet; away from the action and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We very much appreciate hearing your thoughts and can't thank you enough for taking the time to come visit us! President's Day weekend is a popular weekend, but fun! We're excited that you chose to spend it with us! I did pass along your thoughts for review. Again, thank you so much for sharing. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This resort was more than I expected had a great time using the facility. The rooms were very clean but had cheap furniture. The water park k has many things to do for children and adults, one if my favorite things was the hot tub. The wave pool was very fun to be in. The lazy river was nice and relaxing and long. The arcade was huge and had many games for all to win but the prizes are lame, the minimum golf was a great time it's glow and the dark but there are only 9 holes. I recommend The Great Karoo's buffet with chocolate fountain very delicious and reasonably priced for all the food you get. The fitness center is kind of small. Great trinket shops and lots of food choices however, wish they had a contenetial breakfast for all. Great relaxing getaway close to home. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been to Kalahari several times but I would say that this stay was average. We stayed Thursday and Friday. Thank goodness we came at 3:00 pm on Thursday because we got to enjoy ourselves in the waterpark. Friday was a different story. It was literally standing room only in the waterpark and we decided to leave early instead of 3:00 pm which is when you are supposed to leave. It was a downright madhouse at noon. The waterpark, arcade, lobby everywhere.

We had a one bedroom suite with kitchen. The room was clean and not out of date like many reviewers say on here. Not true at all; this is coming from someone that has worked at hotels for years. I will say though they needed to soundproof the walls better when they built the place. Food at Reserve restaurant was good, we even got some arcade credits with our meal. This time I will say it was average because of the overcrowding. One thing that guests need to realize is that check in time is 3:00 p.m. not noon so don't try to check in and yell at the front desk and have to stand in the lobby until the room is ready. I think this would solve the overcrowding problem. If you want to bend the rules and check early, send in one person not the whole family, 20 suitcases and all your groceries. You should see the poor pitiful bellhops who I am sure will not be getting tipped. You would think that Kalahari could come up with a simple solution to this overcrowding issue. Maybe a resort expert could come in and advise?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! We're glad to hear that you are a repeat guest, but discouraged that this last stay was just average. Thank you for your thoughts and tips to solutions. We sincerely appreciate that and I will be passing that along to our executive team. I hope you will come visit us again and it won't be so busy for you. Very much looking forward to seeing you then! Thank you for your thoughts again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a blast at the resort! Hotel rooms were clean and the waterpark was non-stop fun. Don't miss the candy store in the lobby....it made my head spill with so many choices.=) Try to plan your trip during a weekday. We arrived Thursday at noon and had no problem with long lines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Candy Hut! Amazing choice! That is a personal favorite too! Thank you for coming to visit us and taking the time to review our resort! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. I just wanted to send a quick note thanking you and letting you know how much we appreciate you! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Kalahari 2-28-12 to 3-1-12. This was our third time here, and we stayed in the Desert room. Room was clean, comfy, and smelled nice. Liked the layout, with the sink in the main room and the toilet and shower in a seperate room. Accommodated our family of 5 very well. The lobby is huge and has so many places to eat and shop! Again, I love the layout of this resort. Downstairs on the main level there's a very big arcade, a restaurant, and a very nice play area. My 2 and 9 year olds loved this. The water park is HUGE and so much fun! There is truly a slide for everyone. The toddler area is perfect for the younger ones and the bigger slides are fun thrills for my 9 and 12 year olds. Waterpark was fairly clean. Found a band-aid in the wave pool, but this is not the resorts fault with so many people there. It really seemed like the lifeguards were trying their best to keep the park clean and safe. Even saw a lifeguard pick up pieces of trash. One lifeguard was particularly interested in assuring my kids had fun. He was working at the Victoria Falls slide and I didn't catch his name but he was very nice. Overall, a very fun, clean, and friendly family resort. Booked to go again 3-4-13 to 3-6-13, can't wait!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#1 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list