We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our 3 time here its lots of fun there is so much to do We allways get a cabana by the wave pool for one day it is very relaxing and to have food and drink brought right to you. and you can wach ty and just chill out while the kids enjoy the wave pool ect. The room we had was awsome one with a fire place it was very nice when it was cold out side.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Love being in the waterpark (not to mention in a cabana) when it's cold outside. Just a great feeling! Love that you have been able to take advantage of that and you were able to come visit. I wanted to be sure to thank you for your review and returning to visit us! It is very much appreciated. Take care and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    679
    284
    186
    174
See reviews for
1,604
87
3
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ive been to kalahari water park many times.Its great to go with your family.they have a arcade a golf course and you can go on a zipline or go to the petting zoo.but the best thing eating the breaskfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Kalahari for two nights for a cheer competition. I was very impressed with the resort, the waterpark was amazing! We had an awesome room rate, stayed in a lodge room which was gorgeous and had a great full kitchen. The bathroom was a bit small but there was a jacuzzi bathtub. We were in the sands section of the hotel which looks to be newer with more condo type accommodations. It was a bit of a walk inside to the waterpark and main lobby, but later I realized if we could have cut across outside on the path it would not have been as far. This is a place you can come, park your car and have things to do for days. Our group rented the whirlpool cabana for a day which was awesome, large private whirlpool with waterfalls, 2 flat screen TVs, a safe and lockable storage, lounge chairs, tables and chairs and food could be delivered right to the cabana. It was great. They also have "monster" sized drinks for the adults, with a refillable cup that you can bring back year after year. The 21 and up swim up bar and outdoor hot tub was nice. It was a bit of a quiet escape from the waterpark. The slides in the waterpark were great and I was amazed at the size of the place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Well thank you so much for your wonderful review! Loved hearing your thoughts and we are so very appreciative of the great tips you provided for future guests as well. I'm very happy to hear that while you were here for a Cheer Competition, everyone had a wonderful time with all the Kalahari amenities. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We actually visit about twice a year. My childrens school has 2 fundraisers at Kalahari. The place is awesome. Great food, huge arcade, huge waterpark, and comfortable beds. The restaurant really plays to the kids with limbo and dancing before dinner. Little expensive but if you can find the right deal.

Room Tip: If you dont want a long walk request a room closer to the pool. We have had to walk almost ten minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the 2nd year in a row we have stayed at this resort for an annual Cheerleading competition. The rates are good (compared to Great Wolf Lodge being more expensive), the staff are friendly, the food is excellent (reasonably priced) and the waterpark is clean and well organized.
The only complaint I have is the beds are somewhat old, worn and creak a lot (or at least the 2 rooms I've stayed in). I forgot to mention that to them when we checked out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Overall we had a really fun, first visit to Kalahari. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and stayed Sunday night, departing Monday afternoon. Our room was not ready at 2pm but was ready by 3pm, the usual check-in time. Passing that hour was easy. The kids enjoyed playing in the treetop play area and arcade. We were happy that we received a free upgrade from a Hut Room to a Nomad room. It was really nice having the fireplace and we will definitely book this type of room again. We could see zebras and ostriches from or balcony; the kids really enjoyed this! The bell staff was quick to bring up our bags and housekeeping quickly answered our request for extra pillows.

Once in our rooms we got changed and headed straight to the water park. The park was still pretty busy for this point in the season and all rides were open. Our biggest disapointment was that we put off riding some of the slides because of the long lines, and we assumed we would catch them the next day when the park would be less crowded. The next day, the park was noticeably less crowded, however, most of the single rider slides were closed! This is the reason I did not give the resort 5 stars. We purposely went at this time to avoid large crowds and instead ended up wating in long lines for the few rides open. We also felt that the wave pool had too much chlorine and it was very irritating to mine and my daughters skin. These were our only complaints though.

We ate at the Reserve on the Sunday night we were there. Our food was good and our server was great. We ordered a pizza from the park grill on Monday afternoon and found this to be good too. The buffet breakfast was awesome. So much to choose from! Our server was again great and very attentive. All of the service was excellent - from the restaurants, to the front desk, to the retail employees. Everyone was very polite and eager to help and answer our questions. We plan to return and hope to plan a trip with a larger group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
What a wonderful review and great details you provided for our future guests. Thank you so much for not only taking the time to review our resort, but also coming to visit us. We certainly appreciate you and your family very much. I can understand your frustration with the waterpark slides. I will pass that note along to our waterpark manager. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon and with a larger group. Sounds like added fun! Take care and let us know if you need anything in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great indoor water park with enough rides to keep you busy all day. They even have a water park roller coaster that zips down its tube. The indoor / outdoor hot tub is a great place to take a break and enjoy an adult beverage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.