We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HALLOWEEKEND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lighthouse Point to your Saves list
Lighthouse Point
1 Cedar Point Drive, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT HALLOWEEKEND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are 13+ hours away and had an absolutely GREAT time at Lighthouse point! The hour in early gave us the time to ride the "big" coasters and then fill in after that. Saturday the next to last weekend was very rainy but we thoroughly enjoyed a bit of time in the cabin. Where we are from does not have Lake Erie and seeing a freighter go by VERY CLOSE was outstanding. We also took avantage of the reduced rate to go to the water park until the rain let up. Cabin was roomy for 5 of us, warm and everything worked fine. We took an electric griddle in case the charcoal grill was not useable due to wind or rain. Are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    136
    26
    11
    10
See reviews for
297
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was the perfect place to relax after the amazing park. One of the best vacations I have had in recent memory!!! We grilled out the first night, it as so easy to use!! We were able to sleep in, walk to the park, scare ourselves to death and then walk back for burgers on the grill at lunch. Then back to the park. It was a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'm a big fan of spending my weekends hanging out at Cedar Point. I only live about an hour and a half away, but I still love to spend at least 5 or 6 weekends at a hotel, resort or cabin. I had stayed at Hotel Breakers 3 times this season, Breakers Express once, and other properties off-point on a couple of other occasions.

Closing weekend is always a tradition for my friends and I, and this year, we decided on Lighthouse Point. We all decided that the deck and water view were definitely worth going for, so we booked a cottage. There were 5 of us that stayed, and it seemed like the perfect amount of space.

It was cold, and very windy, but the heat kept us toasty, and watching the seagulls flying against the wind from the deck was very entertaining.

While these units could use a few upgrades (LED TV's, perhaps a toaster or toaster oven inside in case the grill is out of the question due to rain or wind), I think they're very welcoming, well insulated from both sound and weather, and in a great spot. We loved our stay, and plan to do it again in the 2014 season.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, the lake view and deck can't be beat, plus they're on the outer edge of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levering, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hallo weekend is fibulas .The cabin was clean and roomy.It was nice getting in an hour early and not having to drive from an off site motel to get into the park . Keep in mind if you stay at lighthouse point for hallo weekend to get there as early as possible because there's a long line to check in (in took us about 1 hour in line and we missed most of the early entry into the park).I 'd pay the extra money to stay at cedar point again.Well worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

we have stayed at the cottages at lighthouse point times or five now and have loved it every time. the convenience of having all our food and drinks so close, the shuttle to and from any gate any time, early entry, Friday night passes, the view and experience of the bay, makes the weekend that much better.
I am 6'2"; 200 # and fit in the shower. I have never seen a mouse. The place is always clean.
Yes you are on your own in the kitchen. A small microwave and coffee are provided along with the CHARCOAL grill off the deck. We bring crock-pot food, grill stuff and a "big boy" coffee maker and go back and forth to the park often to eat drink and be merry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The cabins are nice and conveniently located but be prepared for the fact that there is nothing included with the "kitchen". We brought our own food and had to bring dishes, utensils, dish soap, etc. The shower is very small, if anyone in your party is over 5'10', they won't fit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed the first weekend of October for Halloweekends. Our package for 4 adults included two nights in the Cabin, a ticket each for half day Fri and all day Sat and early entry and we got reimbursed for our parking. We stayed at Lighthouse point in a cabin and the cost with 4 fast pass plus tickets(90 a piece) and everything i mentioned above was less than $500. The cabins do have an "up north" feel. I cant say that it wasnt up to par as far as cleaning goes because what do you expect when you are told there is no room service except fresh towels. There are no utensils or plates so bring your own :) The view from the back deck right on the Lake was AWESOME!! We could see and hear the the screams from the roller coasters too, big excitement builder!! We saved money by bringing food to eat to the cabin. There is also a grill right outside each cabin. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Lighthouse Point, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Drive, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sandusky
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Lighthouse Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Point Hotel Sandusky
Lighthouse Point Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.