We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cedar Point Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
sany2
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Cedar Point Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Let me preface my review with this-
I stay at a variety of different hotels, ranging from hampton inn style properties, to Ritz-Carlton and Four Seasons properties.

We chose this hotel for a stay at Cedar Point because we have stayed at the onsite properties before, and were wildly disappointed by the value of the Breakers hotel, which has some significant maintenance problems.

This hotel was comfortable, inexpensive, and close enough to cedar point (maybe a 10 minute drive).

It was probably one of the best budget hotels I have every stayed at. I have two examples of service that beat my experiences with large scale hotels such as Hiltons and Sheratons.

1) There was no remote in the room. I called the desk, and within 5 minutes, I had been delivered a remote. Doesn't happen in large scale hotels.

2) When I checked out, I walked down to the desk, and the clerk (who I hadn't seen before, and certainly hadn't used to check in), had my paper work ready, and asked if I would like to keep the bill on my American Express, before I had even identified myself.

Worth the price, and the best bet in the Cedar Point area.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    147
    63
    29
    12
See reviews for
201
85
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

My husband, myself, son and his friend stayed at the Comfort Suites on June 20th and 21st. I thought this hotel was clean, had nice hot shower, nice breakfast buffet, rooms were pretty spacious, decor was not bad. The front desk was very nice, especially Amanda.. The only downside I could find to this hotel was the long walk to the pool.. It was kind of scary to let the 16 yr. old boys walk at dark all the way over there. They should have their own pool

We took the big red bus over to Cedar Point and was a pretty good way to save money and aggravation since we did not have to pay to park and did not have to deal with traffic. Just make sure that you get there early to get in line.. I would stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone. We did not find too many places to eat dinner at so good luck in finding dinner.. We did eat at Chili's one night and at Olive Garden the next...

If you go to Cedar Point - enjoy, it's pretty clean.. I suggest you take a back pack but be expected to store in a locker as some rides you cannot keep on the ride...

  • Liked — Free internet and bus to Cedar Point
  • Disliked — The location of the pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed here 2 nights. Very nice accomodations since the property is brand new. Marble walled bathrooms and large size rooms. We wanted a roll away, but the property has none since the rooms will not accomodate one. Kind of strange though, because the rooms have sofas (non-sleeper). This property is adjacent to a less desirable Comfort Inn. The reason I mention that is that if you want to swim, you have to walk 200 yards to get to the Comfort Inn's pool since the Comfort Suites does not have a pool (or a guest computer). The buffet attendant was rarely present and many items were missing and unavailable ( including any fresh fruit). This property is probably great for Sandusky and Cedar Point, but they need to get their act together some. We would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Very nice oversized room.
  • Disliked — No roll aways, no pool, no guest computer, slow elevator, lacking buffet.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Our room was spotless and everything looked new. The clerks at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't as large as a suite sounds but we were happy to have the couch and desk. It gave the four of us enough room to be comfortable. The bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. The breakfast food was fresh and plentiful. There were many bread products, cereal, juice, coffee, sausage, fresh fruit, and make-your-own waffles. We ate early so didn't have to deal with a large crowd but it looked like the room would be very crowded by the time we left and people started to arrive in a steady stream. We will definitely stay here on our next visit. My only problem was with all the dead plants in the lobby planters. It would make a better impression to get rid of the dead plant material and leave the planters empty.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Dead plants in the lobby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Stayed at Comfort Suites in Sandusky November 16th.

Everything about this property is first rate. Spent the previous night at The Hampton Inn in Milan Ohio, a few miles down the road (right at the turnpike exit) and paid $20.00 more for a room
that didn't come close to matching those at The Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

The five of us just spent the weekend at the Comfort Suites in Sandusky, Ohio. The whole experience from check-in to check-out was great. The rooms were spacious, and we utilized all of the amenities that were offered. Having the shuttle available to get to Cedar Point was an added bonus. We regularly go for Halloweekends, so we will definitly return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed at this Comfort Suites from October 6- 10, '06. We had a very pleasant stay, and the room was very clean (I'm a clean freak when it comes to hotels). The hotel being brand new also helps this fact. Housekeeping did a very good job, I think they even bleached/cleaned the bathtub every day (its sparkling white) and I was comfortable enough to shower without shower flip flops and take a bath.

The decor is updated, with granite countertops in the bathroom and granite shower walls. The floor is a stone tile. The carpet was very clean (I was comfortable walking around without shoes), and the furniture was new. The beds are quite high, so remember this fact when you're getting up in the morning! The beds were comfortable and I felt well rested after each night.

TV channel selection was good. Plenty of storage (closet and dresser). Ooo and also free internet!

The only annoyance we experienced was the morning of the 7th. There was a family with children moving out around 8am Sat. We got in the night before after driving 7.5 hours at 1:30am. The noise of the door perpetually slamming and the children racing down the halls over and over again was well heard from inside our room. Despite this, the hotel was empty the rest of our stay so it was very peaceful. I can imagine the hotel is much noisier during the normal theme park season. I think the staff should tell people to be mindful when they shut the doors (they are very heavy and slam loud) b/c it is heard within the rooms, as well as talking/running.

The hotel was conveniently located by Cedar Point Amusement Park. You just make a left out of the parking lot and keep driving straight until you see signs for CP. There was a lot of road work going on so it was a little trafficky, but it's probably much more trafficky during the main theme park season. We left half an hour before park opening and got great parking and beat the rush to some of the ride lines (We walked into the park 10mins before opening). It was also Halloweekends, and it was a lot of fun! Definately recommened, and if you like rollercoasters, RIDE TOP THRILL DRAGSTER AND MILLENNIUM FORCE!!!

Although it is a Comfort Suites, the room wasn't exactly a suite. Its one big long room with little half wall things on each side of the room. This wasn't a big deal to us though since we saw pictures before hand and knew what to expect. We even posted a picture to this site of the room we stayed in :)

We chose this hotel b/c the rate was good (50something a night), the reviews were good, and there was a microwave/fridge. I would've liked to have a kitchen but we just "precooked" everything (taco meat, pasta) at home and reheated it in the microwave. Great way for a college couple to save money!

I hope this review helps anyone. If you are a light sleeper or cannot tolerate any noise, I would probably bring earplugs for the in season.

  • Liked — Comfortable, New, Clean, Convenient, Great value
  • Disliked — Poor soundproofing - Keep quiet please!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring earplugs during in season, go to Cedar Point!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.