We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
carol stream, United States
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a great stay, They upgraded us for free. the rooms we clean. the bed where comfortable. over all a great stay. I am glad i pick this hotel. I would stay there again. and i would tell everyone i know to stay there as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful five-star rating and review of your stay with us. I'm elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and that we were able to upgrade your room at no additional charge. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to have you back as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    164
    78
    32
    12
See reviews for
238
94
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Accessible hotel room was great. Breakfast was very good with some healthy options. Breakfast room was staffed too for help needed and food continually replenished. Small spa pool was great for a quick swim before working evening. Staff was very helpful and quickly attentive to requests and need a bit of fast maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive rating and review. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back many more times to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were satisfied with our overnight stay. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous even when we booked in late at night. They provided our request for towels and other amenities in a timely manner even if it's almost midnight. Honored AAA discount. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you, very much, for your great rating and review of your recent stay with us. We were happy to make your stay enjoyable and I'm super-excited to hear that you had a positive perception and interaction with our warm, helpful, and friendly staff.

Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

One night stay (between Cleveland and Detroit). Chose on basis of price/free breakfast/bar.
Hence the 'Average' rating rather than very good.
For a BW PLUS Hotel, the breakfast was okay at best, there was a lot, a good range, but quality wasn't special. And was hoping when checking in to maybe have just a drink and some bar food in the hotel - but we were actually directed to a bar over at the Comfort Inn (really do think that should be stated on the hotel's details, it's a small thing I know, but when you're calling yourself a PLUS...) as it turned out, the Comfort Inn's 'Tiki' bar was great! Hot Dogs, Wings and Margaritas for under £20!
Check out my photo of the room key! Almost worth another tick! Room Service? Call Dominos Pizza!
So: good location, nice room, nice staff...oh and looks nice when lit up at night!!

Room Tip: Ours looked out over the back and was quiet. Room was a good size, my tip is always go for a two dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. To answer your question regarding the, "PLUS" status--that really comes from having a consistent 3-diamond or higher rating from AAA/CAA. It includes a multitude of factors including guest satisfaction, cleanliness, newness and moderness of the property, etc. A Best Western PLUS is not required (and most do not) to have a bar or restaurant on the premises--and our advertising and marketing materials do not indicate that we do.

We are affiliated with the hotel next door and so we allow and encourage our guests to take advantage of the many amenities it also provides--such as an indoor outdoor pool, the cabana bar that you spoke of, etc. These are just additional amenities we're able to pass onto our guests.

In terms of the rooms keys; most hotels allow sponsorship of room keys by local area business to build good business relationships as well, again, as to offer our guests more dining selections.

We're glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I and our four kids spent one night at the Best Western in Sandusky. Being typical kids, the first thing the kids wanted to do was see the pool. We were very surprised to learn that the Best Western and neighboring Comfort Inn (they share a parking lot ) have the same owner, and we had access to the indoor and outdoor pools at the Comfort Inn. The Best Western has a small indoor 3' pool (it's sort of dark and in the basement), which is suitable for young kids. The Comfort Inn's indoor and outdoor pool are much larger. There is even a tiki bar next to the outdoor pool. I'm sure this area is really crowded on the weekends and in the heart of summer.

We had a two room suite, which was more than sufficient space for our family. It was really great that the two rooms had a door separating them. The room felt clean enough. The comp breakfast was fair, but featured a really cool pancake maker. It cooked two at a time. The kids loved it!

The next time we go back to Sandusky we will plan to stay at the Best Western again. It has most everything a family would need



Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Wow--it sounds as if you and your family really enjoyed your stay at the Best Western PLUS in Sandusky! We're so happy and gratified to hear when guests enjoy their stay as much as you obviously did. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and with others who may be trying to choose where to stay. And thank you for your commitment to making us your choice lodging location in the future. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back many, many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our room was very clean but a few issues .Like why do you have to go next door to another hotel to swim in the pool? We reserved the same room for another night wanting to pay with two different credit cards, but the clerk charged everything to one card after it was explained what our intentions where. It just made me frustrated.Next time pay with cash , like it's the 90's again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you found our accommodations clean, comfortable, and inviting. As we state in all of our marketing and advertising materials, we DO have a small therapy pool on the lower level of our property. We also state that our guests are welcome to use the amenities at our affiliated property next door (indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna, Cabana Bar and Grill, our fine dining restaurant, etc.). I'm sorry if there was a misunderstanding on what amenities we provide and what amenities can be utilized next door.

I have also communicated with our General Manager regarding the credit card issue you raised. It is my understanding that when you extended your stay for an additional day, you wanted to use a different credit card than the one that was charged when you stayed for the first day. However, once you realized that funds were being held on the second credit card (to cover the next day's charges), you requested that everything be put on the first card. Again, I'm sorry if there was confusion on this, but when you requested we charge everything to the first card, the hold was removed from the funds from the second card--which is what we thought you were trying to do.

We're happy you chose to stay with us and it would be wonderful if you became a repeat guest--like so many of our other guests--in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The walls in bathroom needed repainted. The pool and Restaurant they tell you to go to is in the hotel next door. The food prices were ridiculous just for a cpl burgers, a fry to share and 2 beers was $35 dollars. It was decent enough for a nights stay, but would find another Hotel that's a bit on the cleaner side of things, especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. As we're consistently ranked either the #1 or #2 hotel in Sandusky, the comments that you shared are not what we're used to hearing. I'm surprised and saddened to hear that all of your expectations weren't exceeded because that's what we normally hear from 99% of our guests.

We DO have a small therapy pool in the lower level of our hotel which is what is advertised in all of our marketing and promotional material. We allow the use of additional amenities as our sister hotel next door (indoor and outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, Cabana Bar, etc.) as a courtesy to our guests.

I'm hoping you share specific cleanliness issues or concerns that you had with our staff right at the hotel so that any issues could be addressed immediately. I also hope that you treat those issues as isolated and give us a chance to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.