We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel within a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A hotel within a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I and our four kids spent one night at the Best Western in Sandusky. Being typical kids, the first thing the kids wanted to do was see the pool. We were very surprised to learn that the Best Western and neighboring Comfort Inn (they share a parking lot ) have the same owner, and we had access to the indoor and outdoor pools at the Comfort Inn. The Best Western has a small indoor 3' pool (it's sort of dark and in the basement), which is suitable for young kids. The Comfort Inn's indoor and outdoor pool are much larger. There is even a tiki bar next to the outdoor pool. I'm sure this area is really crowded on the weekends and in the heart of summer.

We had a two room suite, which was more than sufficient space for our family. It was really great that the two rooms had a door separating them. The room felt clean enough. The comp breakfast was fair, but featured a really cool pancake maker. It cooked two at a time. The kids loved it!

The next time we go back to Sandusky we will plan to stay at the Best Western again. It has most everything a family would need



Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Wow--it sounds as if you and your family really enjoyed your stay at the Best Western PLUS in Sandusky! We're so happy and gratified to hear when guests enjoy their stay as much as you obviously did. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and with others who may be trying to choose where to stay. And thank you for your commitment to making us your choice lodging location in the future. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back many, many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    173
    80
    32
    12
See reviews for
247
98
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our room was very clean but a few issues .Like why do you have to go next door to another hotel to swim in the pool? We reserved the same room for another night wanting to pay with two different credit cards, but the clerk charged everything to one card after it was explained what our intentions where. It just made me frustrated.Next time pay with cash , like it's the 90's again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you found our accommodations clean, comfortable, and inviting. As we state in all of our marketing and advertising materials, we DO have a small therapy pool on the lower level of our property. We also state that our guests are welcome to use the amenities at our affiliated property next door (indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna, Cabana Bar and Grill, our fine dining restaurant, etc.). I'm sorry if there was a misunderstanding on what amenities we provide and what amenities can be utilized next door.

I have also communicated with our General Manager regarding the credit card issue you raised. It is my understanding that when you extended your stay for an additional day, you wanted to use a different credit card than the one that was charged when you stayed for the first day. However, once you realized that funds were being held on the second credit card (to cover the next day's charges), you requested that everything be put on the first card. Again, I'm sorry if there was confusion on this, but when you requested we charge everything to the first card, the hold was removed from the funds from the second card--which is what we thought you were trying to do.

We're happy you chose to stay with us and it would be wonderful if you became a repeat guest--like so many of our other guests--in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The walls in bathroom needed repainted. The pool and Restaurant they tell you to go to is in the hotel next door. The food prices were ridiculous just for a cpl burgers, a fry to share and 2 beers was $35 dollars. It was decent enough for a nights stay, but would find another Hotel that's a bit on the cleaner side of things, especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. As we're consistently ranked either the #1 or #2 hotel in Sandusky, the comments that you shared are not what we're used to hearing. I'm surprised and saddened to hear that all of your expectations weren't exceeded because that's what we normally hear from 99% of our guests.

We DO have a small therapy pool in the lower level of our hotel which is what is advertised in all of our marketing and promotional material. We allow the use of additional amenities as our sister hotel next door (indoor and outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, Cabana Bar, etc.) as a courtesy to our guests.

I'm hoping you share specific cleanliness issues or concerns that you had with our staff right at the hotel so that any issues could be addressed immediately. I also hope that you treat those issues as isolated and give us a chance to prove our commitment to continuous quality improvement in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel staff was wonderful. The hotel itself could use a good cleaning. There was grafitti on the back stairwell (on the stair risers), lots of cigarette butts outside the doors and cobwebs in the windows. Otherwise the rooms themselves were clean.

I wish Best Western Sandusky hotel offered queen size beds though. Everything seemed to be doubles!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. And thank you also for pointing out where we need to improve in terms of the public spaces of the hotel. Your comments will be shared with the housekeeping staff so that improvement in those areas is immediate. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful staff.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in a suite with three double beds. The added room gave us more space and privacy...perfect when you're traveling with lots of family. Breakfast is the usual; but the automatic pancake maker is unusual and worth trying. We enjoyed playing mini-golf at Goofy Golf; although they have much more to offer. Our favorite place to eat is Manny's Sports Tavern...just within walking distance...be sure to try the homemade french fries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're glad we could offer your a five-star stay and hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days during Ohio Bike Week. It is quite close to the Harley dealer, which worked out well since so many events were there. I picked this hotel based on previous reviews and also because some of the other hotels in the area had bed bug reports in the past -- this hotel had none.

The interior of the hotel was nice. The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave. The bed was comfortable. The toiletries were well stocked.

We did have a problem where our door lock quit working due to a bad battery. A hotel employee, Art, moved us to another room - an upgrade with a Jacuzzi - and helped us move our items, including stuff that we had in the fridge. He could not have done more to resolve this problem. He also found a tool that I needed to fix a bad luggage pull on my bag. Everyone working the front desk was helpful and pleasant.

I found the breakfast items to be fine and well stocked. They did let the breakfast run a bit late, which was wonderful for us. The breakfast area was kept clean.

It appears that they are working on fixing a few outside items -- the landscaping, etc., was being worked on while we were there. They let the motorcycles be parked right by the front door under cover, which was great since it did rain.

We really enjoyed our stay there and thought the staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We're THRILLED to hear that you would stay with us again in the future if give the opportunity. That's the best advertisement any hotel could ever hope for. So--thank you for sharing your positive experience with us--and with the entire world :) We appreciate your staying with us and are glad that we could resolve the incident with the door lock as quickly and efficiently as possible. It's our aim to have every guest feel as thought they received both luxury and value when staying with us. Sounds in your case like we hit the mark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel and staff where very nice. They allowed us to check in early which saved me a huge hassle. We planned this trip to visit Cedar Point it is a quick 10 min away. I will be using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're super-excited to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our amazing staff and that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. We also grateful to hear of your loyalty and the fact that you'll be staying with us again in the future. Until then, safe travels and happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.