We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Bloomfield, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just went in to go to Cedar Point and stayed overnight at this hotel with my wife and 3 kids. We had 2 rooms and right away we noticed how big the rooms were. Although the beds are double beds, we were quite comfortable in them. My son notice that the couch was also a pull out bed as well. The rooms were quite clean. The breakfast was a typical breakfast. Sausage, cereal, cinnamon rolls. They did have a pancake machine but both of the machines didn't work the day we were there. Staff was very friendly. Location was about 5 miles away from Cedar Point. I would definitely recommend this hotel and for the price you will be completely satisfied. I will stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on and rate your recent stay with us. It's great to hear when guests have such a positive experience and really appreciate all of the effort that we put into being the #1 ranked TripAdvisor in the Sandusky area. I must apologize for the problems you encountered with the pancake machines. That issue has since been resolved--so please come back and enjoy some pancakes--on us! :)

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We realize you have lots of lodging choices and appreciate your continued support and your fabulous recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    186
    81
    32
    12
See reviews for
255
102
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemingsburg, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the moment we walked through the front door we were greeted with smiles and a very helpful staff. I stayed in a clean and updated room with everything I needed for a great night of rest. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property, our amenities, and our staff. It's great to hear of your recommendation and we can't wait to welcome you back as our guest sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The location of this property was exactly where we needed to be. It was clean but otherwise very average. The people who worked there did their jobs well, but did not seem to go out of their way to be friendly or personable. The breakfast was the standard Best Western breakfast. Our room which they called a "suite" was no where near a suite. It was a standard room with a king bed, a small couch, a fridge (which didn't get very cold), microwave, and coffee maker. The room was clean, but again, you could tell that the cleaning crew did exactly what they had to do and no more. The bed skirt (which was too large for the bed) dragged on the floor and you could tell that it had been vacuumed over numerous times, as it was ripped at the seam (see picture). There was nothing wrong with this place, but nothing outstanding either. The price of the room was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm surprised (and disappointed!) that your stay didn't exceed all of your expectations (as is the case with most of our guests). By definition, a suite is simply a larger room with more than just a bed for sleeping. We feature this larger room, sofas, fridge and microwaves, easy chairs, as well as an office setting in each of our rooms. In addition, we also have rooms that adjoin one another if someone were to need even additional space or a private bedroom.

We're always looking for ways to improve what we offer to our guests and take every comment and/or suggestion seriously. I hope you took the time to discuss your concerns with our staff while you were at the property so we could hear, first-hand, what we can do to continue to make our guests' stays even more awesome. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good service. Front desk service very kind, good location. Clean, affordable place. We were there for a Guitar Festival, and the place was very nice, close to restaurants> We had a big group of high school students there, but we did not notice them. I will recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our central location, our vast array of amenities, and our pleasant ambiance. We're very happy (and flattered!) to hear that you'll be recommending our hotel to others--as this is the best marketing we could ever hope for.

We hope you'll be back again to visit us soon. It would be our pleasure to be of continued service to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We actually just checked in a party of four. Two king suite rooms our rooms are on the same floor yet on opposite sides of the floor. When asking the front staff if we could get adjoining rooms she just said bluntly that she got us as close together as she could. She didn't even type anything into the computer to see if there was even rooms closer together. We have had the rooms booked for over a month and we are staying for three nights. Hoping our stay gets better. Frustrated now.. Also requested extra towels and blankets for each room and this was also not taken care of. Disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to offer valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As you indicated, you wrote this review soon after arriving at our property. My hope is that your stay with us improved over the time you were with us.

As is the case is most all hotels, special requests such as adjoining or adjacent rooms are honored as much as possible. Additionally, our computer system will automatically bring up rooms that are in closest proximity to one another. This may be why it appeared as if the staff member didn't take extra time to see if your request could be honored.

I really do hope that your stay improved over time and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and we hope we were able to achieve that in the end for you as well. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you to our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERWICK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very nice room. Only downside was we arrived too late at night to enjoy it much so weren't there long. Good hot breakfast as well. A little pricey for the short stay but we had a certificate so not bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our property and for letting others know that we have a quality product to offer! Although we wish that you had more time to enjoy all of our amenities, we ARE pleased to hear that you took advantage (and enjoyed) our amazing complimentary full hot/cold breakfast spread.

We hope you'll have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and that you'll have more time to enjoy all that we have to offer. Until then, we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is centrally located to all things in the Sandusky area. Many chain restaurants located nearby. Friendly, helpful staff. Large rooms with the standard ameneties. Do not recommend the restaurant next door at the Comfort Inn. I have no way of knowing how the food is....we waited over a half hour for a waitress to bring menus so had dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking valuable time to offer share your recent experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the amenities and our central location to be of value and convenient. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get a chance to experience the amazing food and service at Baci next door--as they're the #1 rated restaurant in the Sandusky-area--just as we're the #1 rated hotel in our area.

We hope to see you back again soon and wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.