We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,311 reviews 1,311 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
554 helpful votes 554 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was a very good hotel available at a reasonable price in the Sandusky area. We wanted to meet our daughter for a weekend stay halfway between home and her college. This turned out to be a convenient spot for us as Sandusky had just enough size to offer a few distractions (despite it being off-season for Cedar Point). This hotel was available at less than $100 per night and seemed to have decent reviews. As we pulled up, the exterior looked interesting with an illuminating light in front that changed colors as we watched. That certainly set it apart from the places around it. The location was reasonably convenient on US250 but it was slightly south of OH2 making it somewhat removed from most of the other commercial establishments (at least beyond walking distance). We arrived late in the evening and our check-in was relatively smooth. We had a room on the 3rd floor reachable by easy elevator access. The room was clean and quite spacious. There was a small sitting area at the front part of the room and the beds were to the rear. The amenities functioned well including the WiFi. The beds were comfortable allowing a good night's sleep. The only downside was the breakfast, which was barely adequate in my opinion. The choices were a bit sparse and the quality of what was put out was marginal. The check-out process proceeded smoothly. Other than the breakfast, the hotel was quite sufficient for what we needed. It was my understanding that the weekend prices are higher in the summer due to the proximity of Cedar Point. For the price we paid, I thought this hotel was a pretty good deal. Depending on how much more expensive it is in the summer, it might not be so much of a bargain. At $96 per night AAA rate, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a thorough rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and our wonderful staff. We're constantly working on tweaking and improving our breakfast offerings--so your comments in this area are helpful.

We hope you'll choose to come back and stay with us again in the future. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    173
    80
    32
    12
See reviews for
247
98
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I give this hotel 5 stars. My husband and I were pleased with everything during our stay. Absolutely no complaints. The staff was especially welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
It's so great to hear when people share that they'll be coming back to stay with us again in the future. This gives us an indication that we're on the right track in terms of guest services, our amenities, our cleanliness, and the overall value of our facilities. Additionally, it's the best marketing we could ever achieve!

We look forward to your return visit. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We seen some reviews on this hotel on trip-advisor and decided to give it a go. When we arrive the staff was very nice I believe it was Paul and Crystal. They had given me an upgrade which I needed so bad being I had my wife and children, and one small room wouldn't have been enough. Thanks a bunch for that. The suite had a room inside of a room with two full size beds so we were able to get some privacy and have some US time. Breakfast was good in the morning they even kept it open a little longer for us because we almost over slept in their comfortable beds. Rooms was very clean and I will be back to stay and recommend to anyone in Sandusky. Thanks Chrystal and Paul and thanks Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you, so much, for the wonderful rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're so grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your interaction with our attentive and friendly staff. We're thrilled to hear that you'll be back to stay with us again. Make it sooner rather than later :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The bed was so hard that my husband and I had sore hips. And, I wonder if the bedding had been changed or if the hotel staff had left lots of hair behind while making the bed. Had a broken window that someone had opened and broke the hinge, so the window was open a full inch. The room was freezing without the heater running constantly. So, we either froze or was sweating at all times. The room wasn't as nice as I had hoped. The room was very narrow and cramped. It did have a microwave and refrigerator though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We've had a lot of guests tells us that the beds are very comfortable, but that is an individual preference. We will certainly look at the heating/AC issues that you raised as we want all of our guests to be as comfortable as possible. Thank you for bringing that to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel had nice touches - like comfortable bed, fluffy towels, a "clean remote," and Ms. Pacman and a pinball machine (in the lobby). I will definitely stay here again on the drive back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel! We're so happy that you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed all of our amenities. We hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at this Best Western just as a Level 3 snow emergency was announced. The woman at the front desk was very nice even letting us know the one restaurant that was still open in town. Another Front Desk worker was pulling extra shifts to help out. It is a pleasant hotel. Room was nice. The shower was handicapped equipped so it kept turning and the pressure was not great. We were not interested in swimming. The indoor pool was located next door at another hotel owned by same company. That was different. The heat runs continuously in the room. Had a hard time keeping it the right temp. The breakfast was very good. Motel clean. Area not bad. Very easy access to many stores and restaurants. I thought it was a bit pricey for the time of year. The staff won me over on this one. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the review and rating of your recent stay with us! I'm so pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and responsive. We will take your comments seriously and work to improve the property. I hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late on a Saturday night and they were able to offer us a room at a discounted rate, and then they upgraded us to a suite with 2 bedrooms. It worked out great for our family of four.

The full breakfast was good (not great), and the rooms were clean.

We ended up staying two nights and had to request that our room be made up (at 8pm because it wasn't done earlier). We used the "therapy pool" they have in the basement and it has jets you turn on with a timer. The pool room was dark, and in the basement (a little sketchy), and the pool was definitely not up to heat.

The experience was average. For the price we paid, I would definitely stay there again. It was affordable, clean, and close to all the ammentities.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at our property. Your comments will hep us to continue to be the #1 hotel in Sandusky! We will work on continuing our improvement to our breakfast spread as well as other amenities we offer. Thank you for the suggestions! We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites

Address: 6011 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just Keep Moving! Free Fitness Training at Hotel. Free Circuit Training Class by Certified Personal Trainer - Tim Dorsey. Available Daily Monday to Friday 2 to 4 classes daily. Moderate to High Intensity. Located in Hotel. It's Free! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites is one of the only all-suite hotels in Sandusky all our rooms are one-room suites. Featuring 89 spacious one-room suites and full-service amenities to make your next business trip or vacation in Sandusky as comfortable and efficient as possible.Services & AmenitiesBeds are triple-sheeted with duvet32-inch flat-panel televisionsHot breakfast with waffles served dailyFree high-speed Internet accessFitness Center and Soaking Hot TubMicrowaves and refrigerators in all roomsIn-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and safeDesks and sitting area in all one-room suitesPremium cable channels with Pay-Per-View ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandusky Hotel And Suites
Best Western Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Suites Sandusky
Sandusky Comfort Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.