We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Express to your Saves list
Breakers Express
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Portage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This was our second time staying at Breakers Express. 2007 was a great stay and this year even better.

Due to a downpouring rain around 12:30 pm, we decided to take a chance and see if our room was ready (check in supposed to be at 3 pm). The front desk staff was very friendly and we were able to check in right away. I was very surprised by that.

Beds were comfy, tv worked well, air/heat worked well, bathroom was clean, staff was very friendly.

We'll be back in 2009!

  • Liked — Was able to check in early
  • Disliked — Free continental breakfast would have been nice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    254
    147
    74
    72
See reviews for
370
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We checked into the hotel only to find somebodys toenail clippings all over the floor in our room and hair on the bathroom sink. We called the front desk and were told that someone would personally inspect a different room for us. The next room that was "personally inspected" wasnt far from the first. We could not believe how dirty the floors were. We had mildew on the shower curtain and an inch of dust all over the baseboards.

  • Liked — The hotel was close to Cedar Point
  • Disliked — The Filth!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Breakers Express is OK. For what we paid I expected it to be a little nicer. It's really kind of like a Red Roof or a Super 8. The rooms were small and didn't even offer a mini fridge or microwave. They should at least offer a continental breakfast for what you're paying. We received breakfast coupons which were good for a muffin or doughnut and a drink. (not worth it) Our bathroom was dirty and I didn't find the hotel staff to be very accomodating. Cedar Point was awesome but Breakers Express could use a little help :(

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — smelled musty & had a dirty bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We recently stayed at Breakers Express because of the location and price. The hotel room was clean. The staff was extremley professional. The check -in process took less than 2 minutes. They went above and beyond when we asked them to mapquest other locations. I highly recommend this hotel!!!!!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

The toilet had not been cleaned in a LONG time. The carpet was stained as were the hallways. There was mold on the wallpaper and the bathroom floor had not been mopped up properly. There were coffee grinds under the bathrom sink, hair in the shower, etc.

  • Liked — free coffee
  • Disliked — dirty room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My family & friends have been staying at Breakers Express for the past 6 years and have really noticed the downward decline. Our rooms have been farely clean, except for the ants. But when you do ask for something from the cleaning staff, they don't understand you-and vise-versa. My biggest complaint would be the staff and Cedar Point mngment itself lack of customer care. This past year after spending 2 days, on our drive home, realized we'd left our GPS charger in our room. I immediately called the hotel, told them who I was, what room we just checked out of, described what the item was and where exactly it was left. I was told the lost & found mng was gone but someone would check the room and I should call back. I called back, no charger found in room, someone will call me back later. A snippy employee called back saying, No charger found in room, in the days house keeping collection and no way to look in lost & found. To which I said, so what does that mean...that your housekeeper stole it or threw it out or in fact it is still in the room? She replied with a giggle, if we find it, we'll call and hung up. I called back the next day, still no lost & found mng there and was left with no hope of recovering my charger. So I then wrote a letter to CP mngment inquiring how it was my son could lose his wallet inside the park and have it returned but an item left in a specific room in a specific spot is gone for good! Never heard from anyone. For what CP charges in rooms, admission, food & parking one would think their customer service would be held to the same HIGH regard.

  • Liked — closeness to park
  • Disliked — customer service...lack there of.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

The room was okay. However, the staff leaves a lot to be desired. They are mainly from other countries and speak broken english at best. We came here in 2001, and it was still American. Now this place and Cedar Point is run by people from anywhere but america. How sad. The one time we did need assistance was to purchase a two day senior ticket for cedar point, and got the run around for about 45 minutes...over the simple price of the [----] ticket. Took 3 people! Finally an american woman told us a price, in english, and we purchased one. I doubt very much it is any different at any other motel, seems how 85% of cedar point and this motel was non-american. I would suggest you get a cheap motel if you are going to cedar point. The services at the more expensive hotels is just gonna be you trying to explain what you want, and the workers not knowing or caring what you want anyway.

  • Liked — umm nothing
  • Disliked — that they do not speak english
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Express

Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Express 2*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Breakers Express offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Breakers Express the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Breakers Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Breakers Express Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.