We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloweekends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Express to your Saves list
Breakers Express
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Gary, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Halloweekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I thought the hotel was very nice, decorated wonderfully, was very clean and comfortable. I also loved how close it was to the park. and the wonderful deals we got with the package made it that much better.can't wait to go again next year! I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    254
    147
    74
    72
See reviews for
370
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Early entry was worthless The reason I chose to stay at breakers was the advantage of early park entry; was not an advantage at all. I went to the park and was in line at 10:40. Got past the gate around 11:15 and walked to three different coasters - all of which were closed. At around 1140 I asked a store worker what would be open to ride and they didn't know. I asked them to make a phone call to find out - which they did and they were told the only coaster was millennium force, which now had an hour long wait. By the time we walked over to it - it was noon and the gates were open to everyone and there was already a line formed at every coaster. Again - no advantage

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your experience. I apologize that early entry was not beneficial to you. In most cases, the park opens additional rides if something is unavailable for mechanical reasons. Unfortunately, weather can impact our operations and for safety reasons we are not able to open all of the rides if conditions do not permit it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I read some negative reviews about this place in older reviews but I think they are those reviewers just wanting to complain about something. The point of staying here is to get discounted tickets to Cedar point and early entry to park. If you are staying here for just a hotel amenities you don't understand point of this hotel. No breakfast or other things you'd find at similar hotel. I stayed here knowing it was for the discount and early entry. Clean room and clean bed is what I wanted and received. Yes, the hotel could use a renovation but that didn't effect my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel offered very friendly staff, clean rooms, great rates and it was only a 2 minute drive to Cedar Point. Still had the bonus of going into Cedar Point an hour early. It was a perfect stay and yes I would recommend this hotel to family & friends.

Room Tip: Had a top floor room. Much quieter than having someone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your five star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were there Oct 2013, just got home yesterday. This hotel is very convenient, the hotel staff was friendly even at 3a when we arrived. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. The Value for everything included was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We're glad that we were able to provide you a good value for your stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is my 5th time staying at Breakers Express. Location is perfect as it is right in the causeway. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and orderly. I like the property because it's open, clean, well-lit, and seems to be in better shape than the other hotels around the area. We've never had issues in staying here and check-in has always been quick. We usually use the hotel for staying overnight AFTER going to the amusement park, not for getting the early entry. So when we show up in the morning, we can hit the front desk, check in and get our park tickets and parking pass and hit the park. It's always been right in and right out. Very efficient process. After going to the park for literally 12 hours (Halloweekends), we were whooped and wanted to crash. The only item we were missing in the room was a do not disturb hanger for the door. We knew we'd be sleeping in the next morning. We just made one ourselves with the notepad and put it in the card slot on our door. Not enough to knock it down a star though. Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We appreciate the recommendation. Thank you for letting us know about the do not disturb sign. I apologize it wasn't in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Breakers Express is super convenient to Cedar Point, and they have some excellent deals for park entry. Staying there for our HalloWeekends trip this past September, with the deals they had available—including complimentary Friday night entry—was definitely a no brainer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler A, Manager at Breakers Express, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Express

Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Express 2*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Breakers Express offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Breakers Express the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Breakers Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Breakers Express Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.