We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for basic stay and early access to Cedar Point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Express to your Saves list
Breakers Express
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK for basic stay and early access to Cedar Point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a basic, no frills property located close to Cedar Point. We stayed as a large group for a HS Band trip.
Room; Not very clean, including the bathroom. Housekeeping can definitley do a better job. We stayed 2 nights, and our room never got touched by housekeeping...never showed up to make beds or anything. Guess they just couldn't make it and gave up?? No idea. Wasn't worth complaining about as we were checking out in the morning. We stayed in October, so it was the end of the season for them, so maybe that is why things weren't quite up to par.
I guess if you are going to Cedar Point, it is worth a stay to get the early park access. otherwise, maybe try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    302
    166
    92
    78
See reviews for
460
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Breakers Express on 10/26/12. Initially, our reservation was for a two night stay, but we didn't make it that long. One night was enough! We arrived after 9pm, and checked in with a less than enthusiatic employee that was talking about a customer she had just spoke to on the phone with another employee the entire time she checked us in. She handed us our key cards and a bunch of papers with no explanation of what they were, and sent us on our way. She didn't send us in the right direction of our room, so it took us a few minutes to find it. The lobby and hallways were nice and clean, so we thought we would be ok. As soon as we opened the door of rooom 1147, the smell hit us like a brick wall. The room stunk, BAD. We had to go to a gas station to get a car air freshener to put in there! There appeared to be mold or mildew on the wallpaper in many places, and there was a leak somewhere in the cieling in the bathroom as we heard constant dripping whenever the people in the room above us were showering. The rain probably had more water pressure than the shower. The room stayed hot and stuffy, and the air conditioner didn't work. It sounded like an old pickup truck was running right in our room the whole night! Then come the beds. Where do I begin? They were probably older than me (late 20's), as they were thinner mattresses. They were VERY hard. You could feel every single spring in them. It may have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor! One of our queen size beds was on a full size box spring, so it hung over the edge of it. There were no fitted sheets, and instead, two flat sheets "pieced" onto both beds. The rooms are supposed to be non-smoking, but we smelled cigarettes several times during the night and into the morning. We could NOT bear to sleep on those beds for one more night, so first thing in the morning, we made a trip to the front desk. When I spoke to the girl and explained that I was checking out early because the room was unacceptable, she didn't bother to ask why. She just said "ok, you're getting this much back on your mastercard" as if she had heard the same thing 20 times already that morning. Needless to say, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We go to Cedar Point twice a year and usually stay at Cedar Point properties for the perks that you get. This time it was for Hollowweekends and for the first time, the perks were not worth the price.

One of the best perks that we have always enjoyed with staying at Breakers Express or Castaway Bay has been the Free parking at Cedar Point. This time however we were told that we did not purchase a "package" at the hotel. The Packages offered for Hollowwekends include full day tickets... we were not staying a full day. We go in for the Friday night and then spend the night and go to see other things on Saturday and avoid the crowded park. Friday night tickets are "Starlight" tickets and are cheaper than full day tickets and there was no package listed that offered Starlight tickets...only full day tickets. We still bought tickets to the park from the hotel and spent the night but did not purchase a "package" in their eyes.

Cedar Point used to be a great value but now they are looking for any little way to stick you for a few more dollars. (such as paying for "prefered parking" up closer to the gates...which you used to get by getting there early and "Fast Lane" or "Fright Lane" ... paying a very high price to look important and CUT in to the front of the line. It's ok...we have made many jokes of those who have those passes and cut in line...)

The other problem is that the hotel is closed during the week of Hollowweekends...only opening on the weekends. The hotel appears to shut down all water heaters during the week because getting hot water on Friday night was impossible and we had about 10 minutes worth of hot water on Saturday. Hot water has NEVER been a problem at this hotel during the summer months when they are open every day.

I had priced out other, higher TA rated, hotels in the Sandusky area and wish we would have chosen them. With taxes incldued, we paid $132 for the Breakers Express and got ONLY a room for that price...no breakfast and no parking. We could have stayed at the Fairfield Inn for only $119 (taxes included) and had a nice included breakfast, indoor pool and HOT water.

I highly advise avoiding the Cedar Point properties for Hallowweekends....the high price is simply not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at breakers express for an all girls trip to cedar point for halloweekends. The price was okay, you could stay at a hotel that's not part of cedar point for cheaper but the the real value comes with the price of tickets and the early access.
The rooms were not perfect but defiantly a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at around 8:30am, stopping in to get our parking pass & early entry pass. I was pleasantly surprised that they were able to check us into our room! At 8:30AM! !
It was wonderful because when we left the park at 10pm, we just wanted to fall into bed. No going into the lobby and waiting to check in when we were all so tired!
The room was nice, plenty of room for our extra air mattress. The bathroom could have been cleaner, but we were only there for less than 12 hours total, so it wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

2nd year staying and just as good if not better then the previous year! Always our go to place when we travel to CP. the staff at the front desk was friendly and did whatever they could to help us! We love the early entry and free parking at the park. Some people may have bad things to say but for the price that you actually get a good quality!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed at Breakers Express in the past. It has never been the most clean hotel. I understand however how many people are in and out through the season. We stayed this year and it was terrible. The lobby is clean but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. We didn't arrive in our room until after the park closed(12:00a.m.) The toliet was dirty and the wallpaper was falling off the wall. I tried to call the front desk and couldn't get anyone to answer the front desk phone. I walked down to the desk and told them I think something is wrong with the phone and they replied they were just too busy to pick up the phone. I told the gentleman about the issues in the room. He said he would like to go and look at another room with me to make sure it was clean. We walked in the bathroom and there was hair in the tub. He ask me if he could just pick it out. I told him no, they werent cleaning properly if there was hair still in the bathtub. We went into the next room and it looked to be ok. My family came in the room and my husband noticed that toliet was worse than the first one. It was now after 1:00a.m. and we wanted to just go to sleep. We went to Cear Point the next day and had planned to stay here another night but becuase of all the issues we decided to drive almost four hours home after our concert that night. Maybe they were just having a bad weekend with housekeeping but it's enough to make me not stay here again. Maybe we will try Hotel Breakers next year with better luck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.4 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.7 mi away
Hotel Breakers
Hotel Breakers
#1 of 34 in Sandusky
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Express

Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Express 2*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Breakers Express offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Breakers Express the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Breakers Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Breakers Express Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.