We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar Point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Breakers Express to your Saves list
Breakers Express
1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cedar Point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Breakers Express 8/17/12-8/19/12. This was a great deal because it allowed us to purchase discounted park tickets, free parking at Cedar Point, as well as an hour early entry into the park. So it was a great deal for our money.

The hotel itself is nice. My only complaint was that it was dated. I felt safe and it was clean, but something was missing. The mattresses were a little too hard for my liking but overall, it was a good deal.

The front desk staff was very helpful, but there needed to be more of them. When we checked-in (around 10pm) there was a line of 10 people and only 2 people were working the desk. When we were checking out (around 8:30am) there was a line with only 2 people working.

Overall, if I were to return to Cedar Point, I would consider staying at Breakers Express....it's a good deal!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor as it was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    253
    146
    74
    72
See reviews for
368
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We had an overall decent stay, minus the fact that the maid service only left us 2 towels each day for 5 people. The room was a larger room which was good to accommodate our large family. The floors in our room were somewhat clean, but atleast the beds were clean and changed! We also really like the pool area, it is handicap accessible which is a plus!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The address for this hotel at the top is incorrect. The correct address is 1201 Cedar Point Dr.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. After reading all the unpleasant reviews I assumed I would get a filthy, run down hotel. Most of the reviews where over the top with their descriptions. Apparently, they were expecting a five star hotel with luxury accomodations. You won't get that here, however, you will get a very good, clean hotel that is very close to the entrance of Cedar Point. It took us about 10 minutes to get into CP's parking lot from the hotel. They do not have a restaurant here only a gift shop. The carpeting was very colorful and looked as though it was relatively new. The rooms were a decent size for our family of 4. I believe they do not have small refrigerators or microwaves in the room but we didn't mind and I didn't ask because we didn't need them. We only needed it for one night. They do have an outdoor heated pool and a good size jacuzzi however we never used it since it was overcast and a bit cool. I saw a lot of complaints regarding the beds sheets, comfort, no breakfast, etc... Like I said, if you want a luxury hotel then go somewhere else and don't complain about this one. Some people seem to have real high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lobby was nice, pool looked nice, the rooms not so much...hard bed, sheets don't fit, and flat pillows not a comfortable sleep after all day in the parks. A lot of money to not have a continental breakfast, but it was nice that parking was included, very close to the park, early entry and cheaper price for the tickets with staying here. Will return to Cedar Point, but maybe try somewhere different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

For the amount we spent the rooms were dirty. The bed were HARD! The chair in the lobby was more comfortable than the bed! The early entry was the only good part of the hotel! Very run down ! Expect more from cedar point !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If we did not get early entry along with this hotel I don't think I would rate it this high, but this is the main reason to stay there. we just got hme and found that the lines after about 10:30 for the major rides to be more than a hour long. The hotel itself was fine, I thought it was clan well taken care of not much to complain about but nothing really to rave about. The pool was nicer than we expected the kids enjoyed this after a long day at Cedar point, I thought beds were a little hard and the room did not have a fridge or any extras. The location was better than I realized, you could leave Cedar point for lunch or dinner and stop off at the room to relax a little bit and be back at the park in 5 minutes, with free parking this was a good way to save $$ on food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent ALL of our time at the theme parks. So very little time in the hotel. For the price it was perfect! Clean. Great places close to eat. Parking pass for the theme park. Would stay there again.
There is a small gift shop for any necesities. Donuts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Express

Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Breakers Express offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Breakers Express the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Breakers Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Breakers Express Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.