We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable and adequate for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Express

Save Saved
You added Breakers Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakers Express
1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Tecumseh, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Suitable and adequate for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The address for this hotel at the top is incorrect. The correct address is 1201 Cedar Point Dr.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. After reading all the unpleasant reviews I assumed I would get a filthy, run down hotel. Most of the reviews where over the top with their descriptions. Apparently, they were expecting a five star hotel with luxury accomodations. You won't get that here, however, you will get a very good, clean hotel that is very close to the entrance of Cedar Point. It took us about 10 minutes to get into CP's parking lot from the hotel. They do not have a restaurant here only a gift shop. The carpeting was very colorful and looked as though it was relatively new. The rooms were a decent size for our family of 4. I believe they do not have small refrigerators or microwaves in the room but we didn't mind and I didn't ask because we didn't need them. We only needed it for one night. They do have an outdoor heated pool and a good size jacuzzi however we never used it since it was overcast and a bit cool. I saw a lot of complaints regarding the beds sheets, comfort, no breakfast, etc... Like I said, if you want a luxury hotel then go somewhere else and don't complain about this one. Some people seem to have real high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    192
    120
    68
    65
See reviews for
288
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lobby was nice, pool looked nice, the rooms not so much...hard bed, sheets don't fit, and flat pillows not a comfortable sleep after all day in the parks. A lot of money to not have a continental breakfast, but it was nice that parking was included, very close to the park, early entry and cheaper price for the tickets with staying here. Will return to Cedar Point, but maybe try somewhere different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

For the amount we spent the rooms were dirty. The bed were HARD! The chair in the lobby was more comfortable than the bed! The early entry was the only good part of the hotel! Very run down ! Expect more from cedar point !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If we did not get early entry along with this hotel I don't think I would rate it this high, but this is the main reason to stay there. we just got hme and found that the lines after about 10:30 for the major rides to be more than a hour long. The hotel itself was fine, I thought it was clan well taken care of not much to complain about but nothing really to rave about. The pool was nicer than we expected the kids enjoyed this after a long day at Cedar point, I thought beds were a little hard and the room did not have a fridge or any extras. The location was better than I realized, you could leave Cedar point for lunch or dinner and stop off at the room to relax a little bit and be back at the park in 5 minutes, with free parking this was a good way to save $$ on food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent ALL of our time at the theme parks. So very little time in the hotel. For the price it was perfect! Clean. Great places close to eat. Parking pass for the theme park. Would stay there again.
There is a small gift shop for any necesities. Donuts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Room was less than optimal. Housekeeping needs some work - found decade old Cheeto under bed and maid forgot to provide service on one of the nights we stayed. Room had a mildewy smell and air conditioner seemed to have two speeds (high and off) Room was OK at best.

Location is right down the street from Cedar Point. Hotel offers ticket packages which also include parking and 1 hour early entry (always useful when getting on the most popular rides.)

Nearest restaurants are McDonald's and Dairy Queen (although a TGI Friday's is close by) Nothing to brag about but a theme park vacation is rarely about cuisine.

I've been in much better hotels but this was livable. Just.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Trip was the wkend of Aug 3 2012. We thought we would stay here considering it was so close to the park and we also got the early enrty to the park....well if you have little ones no need for early entry. . Then there was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. The picture I seen of the hotel shows a playground in the back of the hotel...the playground is nasty and not part of the hotel. There are no little fridges in the room and the rooms smell musty. There were stains all over our walls and the lighting in the rooms is very poor. If you have little ones i suggest pay the extra monies and find a hotel that has amenities!!!!

Room Tip: pay the extra and find something that has amenities...and i suggest a hotel anywhere on the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakers Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Express

Address: 1201 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Cedar Point Peninsula, the Breakers Express offers you real comfort and competitive room rates that make it easier to make the most of your Cedar Point getaway. Many visitors stay at the Breakers Express the night before their big park day, so they can start right in on the fun. Or you may choose to stay late at the park and spend that night in one of our comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Breakers Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Express Hotel Sandusky
Hotel Breakers Sandusky
Breakers Express Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.