We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Pony

Thirsty Pony
1935 Cleveland Rd, Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park, Sandusky, OH 44870-4308
419-626-6761
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 159 restaurants in Sandusky
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh dear!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I want to start off with I really want to like this restaurant. The location is ideal with ample parking. Unfortunately, besides being overpriced, it is almost impossible to find one item on the menu that is remotely appetizing. The lobster bisque is bland at best, the deep dish pizza is a huge ball of dough with a bland ketchup like sauce smeared atop. The chicken wings are the worst I have ever had. The only redeeming quality of the Thirsty Pony is the wide variety of beer and Cowboy, Cowboy is awesome and always makes you feel welcomed ... Simply put, I really don’t know how this restaurant can prepare all the menu choices this badly… Horrible…

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    117
    58
    24
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge, Illinois
2 reviews
“A winnign Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is not your typical restaurant. They have a hotel, bowling alley, and horse gambling place all attached. We all had burgers and they were great. The menu offers lots of choices. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals. To top it off we played the ponies and actually won a few bucks which we promptly blew on the kids in the arcade games in the bowling alley. If your looking for a fun night out with the entire family this would be a great place to go. We also stayed at the attached hotel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Grossly overpriced slop trough.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the fun decor. The food absolutely sucks! They give you large portions of badly prepared slop and than charge you 5 star prices. $5 draft beer served in a hot outta the washer glass. Undercooked fries white as snow. Breaded shrimp that lay flat like fishsticks. $7 canned spaghetti ohs. It's criminal what they serve and charge. I've never left a review on anyone till now... it was so bad i had too. Total crap!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sporty atmosphere, OK food, good drinks, a little pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had the Walleye, which I enjoyed. Other people at my table received cold food - mac & cheese, chicken sandwich, fries, etc. Drinks were good. Many TV's everywhere with sports playing for all to see. I liked the atmosphere, but some people in my party thought it was over-priced and mediocre.
Offers video horse racing, a bowling alley on site, and a decent sized arcade. Conveniently located across the street from Castaway Bay, which was our next stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed everything about this place! Good food, lots of fun. Not too many interesting places to eat in Sandusky, this was our favorite.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Pony also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Pony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.