We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Survives on atmosphere and confused parrotheads” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Margaritaville

The Original Margaritaville
212 Fremont Ave, Sandusky, OH 44870
(419) 627-8903
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Port Clinton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Survives on atmosphere and confused parrotheads”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not bad tex/mex, Mexican themed food but not very tasty. The atmosphere and location on Cold Creek are the main selling points. This location purports to be the original Margaritaville, but this one has nothing to do with Jimmy Buffett.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    20
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“"Never again" Me Too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Wish I would have looked here before I went. The last time we went the food was crappy but we thought we would try again. Not much different. So disappointed, this use to be the best place for fun and food. They have such an awesome location, too bad the food isn't so awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We gave it one more try. Sorry that we did! It used to be a good restaurant, but since it reopened, the food has really gone downhill! The salsa tastes like marinara, the rice with the meal tastes like Spanish rice. The only part of the experience that I still like is getting a table by the window to watch the waterfall.DO NOT get sucked in thinking you are at the Buffet chain!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Strong margarita saved the day...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was a rainy Saturday afternoon...so unfortunately we had to sit inside. When our party of 6 arrived, it was as if this was a brand new restaurant and no one knew how to seat us or the few others that arrived at the same time - very awkward indoor set up and borderline rude service. Once we were actually seated, things improved...especially with the help of the Jumbo Gold Margarita (very strong and tasty.) The food was typical mexican joint stuff, nothing special...and I have had better. I am willing to admit that this would be a great place for outdoor dining, but since we didn't get that experience, I would say skip it and head to another place if it rains.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great destination for a meal or just drinks. Fantastic atmosphere overlooking the water and waterfall. Both inside and outside dining. The portions are large and the food is excellent. The outdoor patio/deck is massive with plenty of seating, again with great views. The margaritas are THE BEST that you will find anywhere, with almost any flavor as well as original margaritas.
Well worth the drive or to stop at on your way through Sandusky.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Margaritaville also viewed

 

Been to The Original Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Margaritaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.