We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Groupon buy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Groupon buy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Karina for making our early morning breakfast pleasant ( fresh coffee)! Also for the help of the friendly front desk with replacement of our broken bracelet pass. Come to hot breakfast early. Plenty of food and lots of guests ready to eat ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear MamaMamaMama:

Thanks for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guests' experience.

Glad you used the groupon package. With overnight accommodations, waterpark passes, pizza dinner for six and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, it is a great value and has been very popular with our guests.

We appreciate the kind words about our employees. The front desk staff does a wonderful job and Karan is a special person who is an excellent ambassador for the resort.

The complimentary hot breakfast buffet is another treat. With eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, hash browns, cereal, toast, juice, coffee and more, it is a great way to start the day.

Your patronage is very important to us. We hope you and your family will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    232
    104
    81
    84
See reviews for
516
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of January. We got there around 2 and checked in right away. We had 6 people. 2 adults and 4 kids. The bunk beds were not sturdy at all. We did have a problem with the heat. The water park it self was great for the 9:year old's but wasn't for my older boys. The breakfast buffet was ok but could have used more of a variety. Staff was very nice. We got a good deal. But we won't becoming back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Sandy T:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested in our guest's experience.

We are glad that you were pleased with the value of your stay and for your kind comments about our employees. We want our staff to provide the best guest service every day.

However, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with some aspects of your visit. We will share your comments with our department heads. We want all of our guests to have a great fun-filled stay.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great experience at this resort, just happened to find it on groupon and gave it a shot. All of the staff was very helpful and inviting and you get your money's worth at the resort. Karan was a cheerful and enthusiastic employee who told us about all of the attractions and good places to eat around our hotel. She was so helpful and checked in with us throughout our stay. The suites inside the resort are top notch and have great pool access. The rooms not connected to the pool area and are a stroll away, aren't updated, and are much less inviting. The room was cold when we arrived and the heater knobs were slightly broken and hard to control. It's a must that you stay in the suites in the main building, especially if you have small children it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are very pleased you had such an enjoyable experience.

We appreciate the kind words about our staff members. Not only do we offer an excellent value for overnight accommodations, we also challenge our employees to provide the best guest service possible every day.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Let's be real, you are not going to get this experience at other big name waterparks. Obviously it doesn't have as many attractions but you really feel like a guest at Maui Sands. The staff is top quality insuring you have a welcoming stay. As soon as we got here Doc personally came up to our group and introduced himself and insured we would have the utmost hospitality. And Corran (sorry about the spelling) down at the snack shack is another gem here at Maui. Overall my entire group had a blast. And thanks for allowing us to be here with such a great Groupon opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. The staff works tirelessly to make each and every experience a great one! We would be no where without our staff and we're glad you had a great time. We look forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My stay at Maui Sands was amazing! The room was extremely nice while the cost was significantly lower than other waterpark resorts in Sandusky. The staff members were extremely helpful and polite. Altogether I had an amazing and luxurious stay and intend to go back to Maui Sands anytime I am in Sandusky!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your straight forward words about your stay. Most everyone had a fantastic time and we;'re glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you aback again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend vacation here with our two kids - they loved the water park and the pizza! The staff carried a smile throughout the day and offered directions when we needed it. Sandusky doesn't have much during the non-summer months, but we still managed to turn the whole weekend into a mini vacation. We visited the movie theater and Ghostly Manor Thrill Center...both just up the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark and Sandusky, Ohio.

Even during the winter, there's lots to see and do.

We are pleased your enjoyed your stay at Maui Sands. Plenty of fun in the waterpark and good pizza makes it a great time for everyone in the family.

We also appreciate the kind words about our staff. We want to provide the best guest service possible every day.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will visit us again real soon. There is also quite a few things to do in this area during the summer.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went to this hotel using a Groupon. We stood in line for over 3 hours waiting for our room. When we were instructed that check in was not til 4 we again entered the long line and at 3:58 PM. Our room was still not ready. Finally around 5:30-6:00 PM we were able to check in. This water park is more a younger child's destination although some of their slides were fun. The hot tub that indicates that is for adults only was not enforced by the guards and was a warm bath for children. The guards don't retrieve the rafts for the lazy river either or the slide as they toss them back in the water having guests retrieve them. They did walk around with pizza offering it to guests who waited in line. The food was good. The room was ok. Kids liked their privacy somewhat. The food was good minus the dessert. Pizza was delish and breakfast was superb. I would like to note that Karan in the kitchen was clearly a work-a-holic, there all day, all night, and bright and early the next morning. She was sweet as pie and was a pleasure to assist everyone. She is clearly an asset to the hotel. Always calling people sweetie and telling she loved ya when you actually cleaned up after yourself. Reminded me of my sweet grandma. Very nice hard worker. You could clearly tell she cared about the people, work and food. Not sure I would go back to this waterpark, but I would recommend Karan to a different location any day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We're not alike any other water park. We've been proving it since that bad weekend that many have spoken about. We've improved our check ion process, added staff, retrained and re-modified many things we did wrong that weekend, and since then , we've been back on track. I've apologized many times and hopefully have spoke to you directly. If not, please allow me to do so and contact me directly. I would say that the bad check in of that weekend should not ever happen again. Give us another try as we represent a tremendous value and do allow our guest to get into the water park and enjoy themselves earlier than any other water park, period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.