We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
“Awesome Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The staff at the resort were overwhelmingly friendly and polite. They always greeted guests in the hall and were ready to give a helping hand at any time. Also, they did not hesitate to ask if we needed or wanted anything. Hope, Antonio, Ashley' and Karan were all exceptional!!! Hope (the accountant) saved my mother from a stomach upset and did not hesitate to engage one to one. She was delightful at 3 am as she was monitoring the front desk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks so much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guests' experience.
We are very pleased about your comments about our staff members. Guest service is extremely important to us.
Hope, Ashley, Antonio and Karan do a wonderful job for us. They are excellent ambassadors for the resort. Hope is a great go-to person for our overnight guests.
Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands. We hope you and your family will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    287
    148
    113
    140
See reviews for
694
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fantastic all the way around. Rooms very clean and big. Staff was extremely nice and very helpful. Great experience. Doc was a great help all weekend. Breakfast was great and parking was easy. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are very interested in our guests' experience.
We are pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Maui Sands. We want to provide our guests with an affordable and fun-filled family outing. We challenge our staff members to provide our guests with best in guest service.
We appreciate your kind words about Doc. He is a special person and is an outstanding ambassador for the resort.
Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I recently booked 15 rooms for a Friday and Saturday night stay at Maui Sands and was TOTALLY impressed with the Cleanliness , Service , Food and most of all the staff which were very helpful to accommodate our large group .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Guest Relations Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are always interested to know about our guests' experience.
We are extremely pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. We do our best to provide a fun and affordable family outing for all of our guests.
We appreciate your kind comments about our employees. We challenge our staff members to provide the best in guest service each and every day.
Thanks again for visiting Maui Sands. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. We hope you and your family will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has to be the friendliest! First of all, I have to thank Jeff Phillips for all his help and compassion in making our stay a great one! I was so greatful for all his help! Doc was so friendly and polite also. Anything we asked for or needed was handled quickly! The girls at the desk were pleasant and just walking around people would say hello and would ask if we needed anything! All the employees were so very friendly! My girls had a blast at the waterpark too! We all enjoyed the breakfast too! Was a great weekend! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Kat_82004:

You are very welcome. We are pleased you had such a great weekend.

Being considered the friendliest hotel is a huge compliment and means a great deal to us. We want all of our Team Members to provide the best Guest Service possible every day.

We are also glad the girls enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and the waterpark.

We hope you and the girls will visit us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Well we just undertook our first family weekend vacation as a family of five: Mom, Dad and three girls ages 5 and under. Thank you Maui Sands for making this a successful experiment in family vacationing!!

The girls absolutely loved the water park. Family time cruising down the lazy river was great for a start. The kiddie pools were fantastic for our three year olds. There were so many slides of various sizes that they had a blast and still have more that they can grow into when we come back for more fun in the years to come.

But even better (from this parent's perspective) than the water park was the super friendly and hospitable service provided by all the staff we encountered.

Doc was our night time concierge who promised us we ask him for anything that wasn't illegal or immoral (his real words) and he made special effort to seek people out to make them feel at home. God Bless ya, Doc!

Three people helped us tremendously at the front counter. I wrote down but misplaced the accountant's name, but she was very helpful in helping me understand the line item charges on our final bill. Steph was a riot, and she made our three young girls feel great handing them the replacement water park bracelets that they kept ripping off at bed time. And the third person who comes to mind at the desk, her name also starts with an S and has short dark reddish hair, helped speed along our check-in. Another time she noticed that my three girls were a little chilled after stepping out of the water park area into the Volcano Grill, and without a word or request, she grabbed three towels and draped them over my girls' shoulders. What a nice touch! And they weren't the only ones. I noticed one guy who was obviously getting off his shift go out of his way to open the door to the water park area when he noticed someone coming. And Karan, Bless her heart, was working from open to close in the food areas from the crack of dawn until close for three of the days we were there. Not only was she a hard worker, but she was somehow able to maintain her friendliness and hospitable attitude. I don't know how she does it!

The hot breakfast bar was a great unexpected treat for us. The biscuits and gravy were my favorite. The girls were looking forward to the pancakes every morning. And my wife enjoyed the hot tea, scrambled eggs and sausage links. The only thing that would have put this buffet over the top would have been bacon. But with the fresh coffee, juice, milk, toast, hash brown potatoes, cereal, etc., no one went away hungry.

We were able to stay in the Hanah Suite, I think it is called, which had the two sets of bunk beds in addition to the king size bed for the adults. The kids enjoyed their special space, and mom and dad could enjoy their own space especially after the kids fell asleep.

I could probably say more, but I already feel like I'm gushing. Bottom line is we had a nearly perfect four day, three night stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back again! Giving 5 stars on "value" because we were able to take this trip using a very generous Groupon offer that included the room, water park access, breakfast bar and a pizza/salad/breadsticks/drinks dinner package each night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Robert H:

Thanks for staying at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are glad everything went so well for you and your family.

Our goal is to make all of our guests' visit as enjoyable as possible from check-in to check-out and everything in between.

We are pleased all of our Team Members were able to make your visit so special. They do a wonderful job and take great pride in providing our guests the best service possible each and every day.

We hope you and your family will visit with us again soon. Your patronage means a great deal to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night so not very crowded, was peaceful. Overall condition very good, staff was very friendly, room clean and neat. No WiFi which would have been nice, otherwise a very nice place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Jason W:

Thanks for staying at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

We are glad you had a very enjoyable visit. Your recommendation means a great deal to us.

We also appreciate the kind words about our Team Members. We want our staff to provide the best in guest service every day.

Here's an important update. Our WiFi is now operable.

We hope you will stay with us again. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a ball. Only complaint was that my room was too warm and not enough towels. Will definitely plan another trip in the future. The staff was very friendly and room was very clean and comfortable. Waterpark was fun and not overly crowded

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Anika H:

Glad you had an enjoyable visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We appreciate your recommendation.

Sorry you were too warm.. As cold as it was this winter, we wanted to make sure all of our guests were warm and cozy.

Please visit us again this summer. We have a lot of fun ways to cool you off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
3.3 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#9 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Groupon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.