We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Avon, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I would like to thank the staff at Maui Sands resort for going out of there way to make our stay very enjoyable. We found the rooms clean, the pool well maintained and the prices for food and drink reas A special thanks to Doc, Karan, and Hope.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jeff P:

Glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay at the Maui Sands Resort & indoor Waterpark.

It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We are very pleased that everything went so well and that Doc, Karan, Hope and all of our Team Members treated you courteously and efficiently.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    263
    131
    102
    113
See reviews for
608
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I purchased this through Groupon for a Christmas present for my niece and nephews. I booked the trip easily with the reservation specialist. Decided to arrive on Thursday and depart Friday, was hoping it would be less crowded as I was the only adult going. My goal was to stay at a waterpark that was manageable for me to watch all 3 kids, this was PERFECT. Not a large, overwhelming resort. It was just the right size for this age group. If I had teenagers, this park might have been boring for them. The treehouse area was such fun for all three, the lazy river was fun and the big waterslides were a hit for the 4 and 7 year old. The 9 year old doesn't like waterslides, so that limited his fun. The life guards were great, the interacted and engaged the kids. They made the experience enjoyable, I wish I would have gotten their names.

The water was perfect temperature and when you got out of the water, you didn't need a towel, the temperature of the waterpark was pleasantly comfortable. I was afraid that it would be freezing.....it was not!!

As far as the hotel, it isn't a 5 star hotel, but it was clean and comfortable.

Overall the experience was very positive. A nice winter getaway. I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Karen C:

Glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time during your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

We appreciate your recommendation. It means a great deal to us.

We are also pleased that the reservation process went easily and smoothly, our lifeguards treated you properly and your kids had plenty to do.

Thanks for telling us about your visit. Feedback from our guests will help us make the resort better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The entire hotel was VERY clean! Staff was very friendly & helpful. The kids had a blast at the waterpark. I as a spectator was was a bit warm sitting in the pool area watching the kids - but they never complained about the temp at all! The rooms were great! The kids liked the special bunk bed kids section of the room! We would definitely consider going back!

Only complaint was the food - the pizza we ordered was horrible - we could not eat it! It tasted like reheated cheap frozen pizza. Plus we waited in line for the pizza for literally an hour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Antflash93:

Glad to hear you had a great time at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We are pleased that your family had a great time in the waterpark and that our Team Members were friendly and helpful.

Our suites with the bunk beds are very popular with families. Children love the bunk beds while parents enjoy the privacy of a separate room.

Sorry you were disappointed with the pizza. Normally, we receive many compliments about our pizza and pasta.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawsa, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just got back from our 1 night stay at the Maui Sands. After reading mixed reviews, I thought we would give it a go since it was half the price of other nearby waterparks. I'm so glad we did. We had an amazing time. We had our 3 year old daughter and our 3 month old baby with us. We got a hana suite, which was awesome. It had 4 bunk beds in a separate little area for the kids with their own TV. My daughter loved it! The waterpark was perfect for a young child. The lazy river and the hot tub were fun for mom and dad too! We also played in the baby pool which was the perfect size for our baby and our 3 year old to play together! The continental breakfast was terrific! The service was great! The only thing I could possibly complain about was that when we tried to call and place a food order, nobody answered so I had to send my hubby out in search of some food. Other than that we are so happy we chose this place for our mini getaway. It was not overly crowded. It was not far to walk from our hotel room to the waterpark. We will definitely go back another time! And I'll mention again, the price was great for what was included (the suite, waterpark passes for both days (check in and check out), and for the continental breakfast! Yes, the lobby was cold but I did not have to wait more than a few minutes to be served so it was no big deal.

Room Tip: Go for the Hana room with the separate kid bunk bed area! Loved that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear AugustaN_13-:

Thanks so much for your outstanding review of the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. We are glad everything went so well and you had an amazing visit.

The Hana Suite is very popular with families. Children love the bunk beds while parents enjoy a private room.

We are also very pleased you had an excellent time in the waterpark, the service was great and it was a great value. Admittedly, the lobby does get cold when the doors open.

We hope you will visit us again. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here last night on a Groupon deal. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but there were some negatives.

Good:

1. The water park was a lot fun for all of us (two 40's adults, two 13 year olds, a 5 year old and a 2 year old). There was enough for all us to do and the lazy river was really nice for an indoor water park. The lifeguards were just the right mix of being safety conscious and letting the kids have fun. The little kids areas were perfect for our younger kids and the 13 year olds said that the bigger slides were great.

2. We had a Hana Suite in the new section overlooking the water park and the room was gorgeous, with a huge bathroom and really nice touches in the decorating. The twin bunk beds were nice for the kids and we liked having a separate room for us with a king bed. The room was very clean.

3. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic for an included hotel breakfast. We all feasted on pancakes, sausage, biscuits and gravy, eggs, home fries and an assortment of drinks.

4. With the exception of one person who was grumpy all three times I interacted with her over two days, the staff was wonderful and welcoming!

5. The decor in the whole resort is well done, reminiscent of the Polynesian Resort at Walt Disney World.

The Bad:

1. While our room was very nice, the HVAC system was inadequate for that size and style of room. We had the A/C running as high as we could and the bathroom exhaust fan running to pull the cooler air through the room, but still it never cooled down below 78 degrees in the main bedroom. The bunk bed room was so hot that the two 13 year olds ended sleeping on the floor and our two boys were stripped down to a diaper and underwear and still sweating. We would stay here again, but would bring a small fan next time to keep the kids comfortable. A room like this needs a central heat/air conditioning system with vents in each "room", not a small through-the-wall unit. As a travel agent, I am hesitant to recommend this resort to clients until I know the room heat/AC issue is resolved because it was very uncomfortable and almost ruined an otherwise wonderful visit.

2. The lobby was very cold and the line to check-in was long, so we were blasted with cold air every time someone walked in. A heat curtain like they have at Wal-Mart stores would go a long way to keeping the lobby warm.

3. Most areas of the water park were smooth concrete and were extremely slippery. I almost went down once and my 2 year old slipped and fell a few times just walking. The concrete needs to be acid etched to make it less slippery.

4. The bathrooms and changing rooms in the water park also need the floors to be made less slick (those rubber mats with large drainage mats would work well).

Some improvements I suggest to really put this place at the top:

1. Add a staff supervised Kids Club for Fri. and Sat. evenings (7-10pm maybe?) for younger kids so that Mom and Dad can enjoy the water park on their own after dinner. We would gladly pay by the hour or evening for something like this at the resort.

2. An actual sit down restaurant would be nice. We went off property to eat but having something in the resort when it's cold outside would be a plus.

Room Tip: Get a Hana Family Suite. These are in the main building and some of them overlook the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear AstridJobe:

Thank you for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit with us.

There is a lot to do for guests of all ages in the waterpark, while families like the layout of the suites with the bunk beds.

We are very pleased that our employees treated you courteously and efficiently.

Unfortunately, the floors can be slippery at times and the lobby does get cold when the doors open.

We appreciate your suggestions. They are good ones. In fact, we have already discussed some special programs for our younger guests right before bedtime.

We hope you will visit with us again soon. Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

WOW.....this pace was awesome! We had 10 rooms/about 40 people for a mid-winter get together!! The great staff at the front desk,Saundra, Stephanie, Samantha, Alaina, Celeste made a long line of check in go very quickly and pleasantly! Complimentary pizza while we waited!!! The waterpark was clean and had something for everyone! Snack shack and bar pricing very reasonable!! They allowed our group to use one of the small conference rooms for our group dinner and to play games! Doc was so awesome in making sure we had everything we needed! We will definitely be back for more clean friendly reasonable fun in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Lisa O:

Thank you for telling us about the great time you had at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark.

We are pleased everything went so well and our staff treated you courteously and efficiently.

Team Members such as Saundra, Stephanie, Samantha, Alaina, Celeste and Doc help make every guest feel special.

We are also glad you had an enjoyable evening during Game Night in our Conference Room. We do our best to accommodate our guest's special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were hesitant because of the negative comments. Boy were they ever WRONG! Yes, the lobby is chilly because of incoming guests - bring pool cover-ups or your own beach towels (this is what we did) so when you leave the water park, you are in a dry towel. The life guards were awesome, ever employee we encountered was polite, helpful and just plain nice. The breakfast was hot and the pizza package we got with the groupon was fine. It isn't pizza parlor pizza but when kids are hungry - they will eat anything. Plus you get family salad and breadsticks. Our room was the best, we stayed in the Hana Suit. Separate room for the kids with their own TV and a little private room for mom and dad. The room was very clean, we used the microwave(with popcorn we brought from home) and the fridge was handy for the beverages we brought from home too. All in all, you won't be disappointed. This was a great two day, close to home, vacation. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W, Front Office Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear TeresaRay:

You are very welcome! Glad you had a great time . Thanks for giving us a chance.

We are very pleased that all of our Team Members were courteous and helpful. We want our staff to provide the best guest service possible every day.

The Hana Suites are popular with families. Children like the bunk beds and parents enjoy the privacy of a separate room.

We hope you will visit again soon Your patronage is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.