We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder people and water park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
“Wonder people and water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family visted this hotel on May 2-3rd, 2013 and was very pleased with our stay. The staff was very friendly at the hotel and the waterpark. I was very impressed with our room and the food. I will return to this hotel in the near future before ever going too one of the high priced other water parks/hotels. MY hope is that the proces stays decent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with bunk beds. It slept my three kids all under five, mother, and me and my s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    211
    96
    75
    73
See reviews for
478
53
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

A very nice, clean and friendly atmosphere. Perfect for an overnight get away. We booked an economical special that included a king room with dual bunk beds, breakfast, large pizza and 4 drinks. The water park is a good size- large enough for fun but not too big that you lose track of your children. I would recommend this hotel over the craziness of Great Wolf and Kalahari if you don't mind the limited "attractions"; we sure didn't!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff goes out of their way to be accomodating. Always greeted with smile and acknowledgement. Superb continental breakfast. Smaller waterpark, but still was a blast. Prices are much cheaper than other waterparks on St Rt 250.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Took the grandkids ages 11,12 & 15. They had a wonderful time and we were on the ground floor (which we had requested) and the pool was close to the room so we felt comfortable letting the kids come and go. We are a picky bunch, needed blankets then a fan for the other grand kid, the staff answered every request with out a hitch. The pool was clean and the life guards were on the ball. We have stayed at all the waterparks in Ohio, yes this may be one of the smallest but it is the best in our family's mind and on our return list The price we payed was over $100 less then the Kalahari for the same night. Again our family can not say enough about the maui sands. Oops almost forgot the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean and well stocked with towels. Something we usually have to request extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spring Break getaway, other places were sold out so we decided to try Maui Sands Waterpark, a midsized waterpark. Although it did not have a wave pool, it had many of the other attactions to entertain everyone including our kids, 13 & 10. They were able to go on all of the rides as much as they wanted too, this is not possible at other larger parks. The restaurant is not open yet, but the grill is, we ordered pizza from there and it was very good. The people were all very friendly and helpful, overall if you are looking for an alternative waterpark, Maui Sands is a good place to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Leroy cooked our food we brought in because of our unfortunate cercumstances at our other destination. Tommy and Derek are phenomenal bartenders and wemt above and beyond to service us north east Mudders, Jessica for taking care of us upon arrival and last but not least Angela huether I think she is very professional and took care of us very very very well!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There is plenty to do for all ages. If you don't have fun it's your own fault. It was a great value for the money. The room was nice and clean. The check in/out process was easy. I loved the bracelet that they use for your key so you don't have to worry about losing your key in the water. The snack bar had a nice variety of food choices and I thought they were reasonably priced compared to other indoor water parks we have been to. They had a lot of life guards. All the staff was very friendly and willing to help if you had questions. The Free breakfast in the morning was awesome. They had a wonderful variety. I do wish they had something in the rooms to hang your swimsuit and towels up. We also didn't use all of our arcade tokens due to broken games, but the kids stayed in the waterpark almost the whole time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. With our "soon to be Famous Hot breakfast" you will walk into a true Hawaiian themed property. You’ll experience the little touches that you’d only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you’re here, you’re family. When you compare the value you’ll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area’s other lodging choices you’ll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.