We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean fun for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Hudson, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good clean fun for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was a wonderful experience for my 7 and 8 year old. We stayed in the Hanna room which was clean and wonderful. We were fortunate enough to come while there was a grand opening special which included a room price of 149 overnite (4 tics to water-park). 36$ for food at the volcano grill and 10$ in game tokens. Food was OK, it's a touristy area so food is pricey, and the gameroom was small ( we understood that they were building a bigger one).

We have never been to a water-park. If the prices stay about the same, with a better gameroom maybe another small attraction (minigolf) we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    282
    145
    110
    135
See reviews for
683
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me, my husband, our 2yr old granddaughter, 11yr old grandson & his 11yr old friend LOVED it!! The waterpark was "more than enough" - the boys said it was better than Kalahari & Castway Bay!! Definitely not as crowded as Kalahari!!! Great Value for your money!! Very friendly & helpful staff!! Clean, comfortable, roomy rooms!! Very good food!! Great location!! The waterpark had plenty of clean towels, the restroom/shower area was large & clean. The lifeguards were very attentive & friendly. We enjoyed the hot tubs. Check-in was easy! (Thanks David!) The room was clean & well stocked with towels, soap,etc..We stayed in the King size with 4 bunks & the boys LOVED their own space. The 'entire' staff was very friendly & helpful... I had made reservations on line & phoned in & rescheduled (Thanks Anne & Melissa for answering all my questions) We LOVED the free breakfast & was very comfortable eating in the large dining area. The Volcano Grill had a great 16in cheese pizza for only $12 & the cheeseburgers were large & good! There was a vending machine in the small arcade room...It was enough...they have enough room to add to it?? The boys had to wait a few minutes for a game or two but said the enjoyed watching the others play. We don't drink but there was a bar & the group that was there in the evening was 'quiet'. Ice machine was full :)
Our wristbands were the "keys" that were awesome for the boys coming & going...no key to lose :) You can check in to waterpark @noon until your room is ready & stay the next day after your 11am checkout.. Lockers available for your things if you want. I can't say enough except that we will DEFINTELY BE BACK!! GREAT JOB MAUI SANDS!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Overall the hotel is Wonderful it is on a main strip with a lot of restaurants and the Sandusky Mall and movie... Back to the hotel we had a fast check in.....great Wonderful waterpark and clean room our room was located in the best spot close to the hotel restaurant (the food was just ok and they do have free breakfast) waterpark.. the staff was Wonderful except for one girl who was very rude to us on the last day.... The manger was very Wonderful after we told him the problem and took care of the problem related to this issue.... Thank you overall me and my family had a Wonderful time but next time (do to one rude staff member) while in Sandusky we will stay somewhere different...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the two king bed suite. We decided on Maui sands as other water parks in area had high reviews of bed bugs and Maui sands did not. The room was very clean, did not have a musty smell, and no bugs. We had two separate bed rooms, three tvs and two bathrooms so everyone was happy (and its was so much cheaper then other places with only two double beds) We went with our four children ages two to twelve and they all had a blast. The park are was very well staffed and there was just enough stuff to keep everyone busy. The staff kept a very good eye on the swimmers. My two year old took off to try to jump in a pool part and the life guard was immediately there to prevent her. I was very impressed and grateful. The kids really enjoyed the slides. The only complaint the kids had was the arcade was not very exciting at all. Very basic, but they did not plan on staying much time in the arcade anyway. For us the clean room and the very nice water park staff will be why we will come back there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room overlooking the waterpark . Did not hear any noise and the curtains blocked out l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The actual waterpark was good. The rooms were very good for the price.

It would have been nice if they had a restaurant that was opened for business. The full service restaurant listed on the website, "Black Sands", was not opened for business. The only option for food was the snack shop. The snack shop is located adjacent to the waterpark to make it easy to order while at the park. The problem is that it is FREEZING in the snackshop, and most people ordering in the snackshop are in bathing suits, shivering. They really need to keep the air at the same temp as the waterpark because it's clear the idea is to come into the snack shop directly from the waterpark. Additionally, the snack shop wasn't open for breakfast, so we had to take the kids off premise to eat breakfast when all they wanted was a quick bite so they could swim. If I would have known there was noplace to eat breakfast, I would have brought it with us.

Another problem is that the entryway is also FREEZING, and that is where the door to the waterpark and elevator banks are. The kids come out of the waterpark damp and in their swimwear, and stand in the lobby waiting for the elevaror (and wait, and waiting --- the SLOWEST ELEVATOR EVER - on several occasions we gave up and found the stairs) shivering in the cold lobby. The front doors to the resort are big double doors open at the same time so the airlock doesn't appear to do any good, and the waterpark door and elevator door are right in the same small area. The bar is also in this area, and the few folks sitting in the bar had their coats / jackets on to keep warm. It was not an inviting bar / lounge to sit in since it was so chilly.

The front desk was understaffed, the one person at the desk was on the phone taking a reservation for about 5 minutes when we arrived to checkin.

That being said the kids had a great time in the park and the rates are VERY reasonable. The park is new and nice, clean. If you bring your food breakfast food (ours had a mini fridge) and order pizza in to the hotel for dinner, you should have a fine trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My trip to Maui Sands was a very "spontaneous" adventure. I decided I just had to get away for a night with a friend and up to the resort we went! When we arrived the staff was friendly and curtious. The General Manager Tim, was very professional and accomodating. We had a wonderful night get-a-way!!!! The park is just amazing! Thanks Maui Sands! :)

Room Tip: We had a room very close to the restaurant/bar and the water park. I beleive it was room 2115. EXCE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha Jill,

I'm so glad your spontaneous lead to Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark. It seems like you had a great time here. Please visit us again real soon.

Mahalo,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family visited Maui Sands and it by far, exceeded our expectations!! We booked the room that had the kids room, 2 sets of bunk beds and their own tv, so the kids were thrilled before we even made it to waterpark. The waterpark kept all the kids busy, we had 4, ranging in age from 3-11. The lifeguards were all great and would talk to the kids, and the 2 young men running the top of the slides had our 2 girls laughing, as they were joking with them as they were racing down the slides. Their was plenty for everyone to do, between 4 large slides, basketball pool, family spa, little tree house, and the baby area. Lazy river was fun, and big. There is even an adult only outdoor hot tub tucked away on 2nd floor. My husband and I took turns going in there for a quick 10-15 min break. The volcano grille was a great option for dinner and we didn't have to leave waterpark for dinner. They even had a free ice cream social for the kids that included a toppings table!Breakfast in the morning was continental and had doughnuts,muffins,bagels,English muffins, cereals, yougurts, fruit and coffee and juices. I highly recommend Maui Sands!! Can't wait to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Front Office Director at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha danickifamly,

It is always a pleasure to hear families are having such a wonderful time. Since your stay we have upgraded our continental breakfast to a hot breakfast. We can't wait for your visit again.

Mahalo,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#11 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
3.3 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#8 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.