We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We decided to roll into the unknown realm after our plans to visit and stay on Cedar Point fell through. Rain also kept us from the park on Friday night, so we picked a place to check into before we caught a flick.

This hotel has been dormant for a few years so I was hesitant. I was proven wrong quickly, what a nice place. They have huge rooms (especially for just us two in a 1 king room) that are very clean, and they have a "kitchen" area with the standard mini-fridge and what not. (It does look as if there is a new and an old part so there could be a massive difference between them.)

My only complaint is that the bathroom door didn't latch because the door wasn't wide enough. It gave me a chuckle since I have set doors before.. But, it wasn't an issue since it was just my wife and I.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMarkOH, Owner at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Lukus612!

I am so thrilled you decided to give Maui Sands a chance and were Not disappointed! All of the rooms are the same theme and really great! Next time you come we will show you the other room types. I apologize for the door not latching, we will definitely take action. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    232
    103
    81
    84
See reviews for
516
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was just ok. It felt very empty and felt for sure unfinished. Some of the staff seemed like they didn't know what they were doing or had worked in the hotel industry before. But everyone was ver nice. Our room felt like it was from the 1980's even though these were new. Some of the paint was unfinished and there was a stain on the carpet. There was also hair all over the bathroom floor. I think they should have waited to open until everything was complete and they were ready. Just felt a bit unorganized at times. The room key was a bracelet too which seemed strange, regular room keys would be better. It was cheap which was nice and close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMarkOH, Owner at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Stephanie!

I am very disappointed you had this experience with us! I am happy the staff treated you well. I hope you give us another chance to change your perception of Maui Sands. I look forward to your return. It will be our pleasure to ensure a great experience for you!!

Have a Great Holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Family friendly and fun! Rooms were spacious, staff was top notch, price was excellent for the area, and very comfortable and convenient lobby area with a beautiful bar area! My wv family and oh family net there for a weekend at cedar point! It rained so the park was a bust but we enjoyed the hotel for the two nights we were there! The kids were able to go off on their own and experience the arcade and the large swimming pool! The waterpark wasn't open yet but it looked like its going to be awesome! The adults were able to hang out in the lobby/bar area and have a view if the indoor water park! The kids all gave the complimentary breakfast a 10! Very pleased ad will be returning soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMarkOH, Owner at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Kmeninger!

I love the title of your review for Maui Sands!! Thank you for letting the secret out!! It was a pleasure having your family as our guests. Thank you for all the great comments. The Water park will being opening soon! We look forward to your return.

Have a Great Holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You walk in and instantly you feel good about the hotel. The atmosphere was comforting and beautiful .The staff was friendly,checking in and out, we met the manager personally and she was great! The hotel was very clean and we would most certainly stay again. The ONLY downfall, the bunk beds are for small children, next time I will book a regular room.Teenagers are too big!The price was amazing,especially when you see this place.Try them!!

Room Tip: the rooms on the inside have a view of the pool,nice switch from looking at a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMarkOH, Owner at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Stacy!

Thank you for the great comment of instantly feeling good about the hotel when entering! I feel good too!! I agree, a different room type may accomodate your teenagers better. We are looking forward to your return. It was a pleasure serving you and your family.

Have a Great Holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After rolling in Maui Sands, drenched from Cedar Pointing all day in the rain...I was ready for problems checking in. It seems at some hotels, if you purchase your room online at a discount travel site, they give you the crappiest rooms. Not at Maui Sands! The receptionist was so nice and even offered a free upgrade to the King with 4 bunks, so my step son would not have to sleep on a cot! It was so nice to know that there are places who still want to impress the customer! Super clean rooms as well!

Room Tip: Room with King and Bunk beds has a partition for privacy. Bunk beds a little narrow, but great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was a very nice stay, the staff was wonderful, pool was nice, a little cool, the bed was really comfy, room was clean. Will be going back in the spring to visit their waterpark, I hope the staff stay so positive and helpful good job to the Hiring department.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very nice suprise! There are not that many places in Sandusky to stay at a reasonable price and as as nice like the Maui Sands. The hotel decor and furnishings look great! The bunk beds were fun for the kids! The bunk beds are less wide than a king size pillow. The king size bed was comfortable, the sheets were just a little too starchy! The bathroom was roomy and it was nice to have the sinks in the hallway. You walk in the door and there is the toilet and shower room on the one side, a closet with a safe on the other side, then you walk through the vanity area on one side, the microwave and mini frig on the other and then you walk into an open area with a mirror on one wall and the bunk beds on the other side and then you walk into the area with the king sized bed! It felt so roomy and there was plenty of places for storage of our stuff.
Did not use the pool but looked really nice! Will go back as long as prices dont go through the roof! We paid $119 for our family room and the girl at the desk thought the prices would go up by $50 once the water park is open. Breakfast was bagels, toast, english muffins,cereals and oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Thought they could sneak in warm scrambled eggs to make the breakfast better.

Room Tip: The pricing difference between the family room and the king size bed with bunk beds is that the fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.