We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cedar Point Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Host Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2027 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Best Budget Inn North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cedar Point Vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a great place to rest our heads after a long day at Halloweekend. Price was good. Location was awesome. Will stay again. Our only complaint was the complimentary soap was broken in pieces, but we always bring our own anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
26
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My son and I have been attending Cedar Point since He was quite small.

We had stayed at various facilities over the years and have found The Best Budget Inn North most consist in service, cleanliness and price. The close proximity to The Cedar Point Causeway proves to be invaluable, after a long day spent at the park.

This facility may offer the best value for your dollar while visiting The Cedar Point Amusement Park.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is situated just outside Cedar Point. The prices are very reasonable and the hotel is very well kept and very clean inside and out. The free breakfast was always fresh and good. The staff were all very nice friendly and helpful with any thing I needed or asked about. The pool was closed but looked very nice in the spring when I stayed there the first time. This was my second visit to Cedar Point for this season and I picked this hotel for its price and location. I came back the second time this fall because of the location and what a great experience I had the first time.

Room Tip: Both rooms that I stayed in were very nice and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The breakfast room and breakfast for this hotel was the best part of our stay. There were many tables, with space between them, and the breakfast was nice. However, in room 133, the TV didn't work (couldn't turn it on w/ the remote and there was no power button on the TV). Rm 133 had been a smoking room (from smell & burn marks on sink), but we had asked for non-smoking. There was hair in the bathroom in room 134. The tub in rm 133 didn't drain. A light bulb was missing in room 133 and the overhead light didn't work in room 134. The clerk found a bulb that we installed in 133, but she said nothing could be done about the overhead light. The fitted sheet on one bed in 133 didn't fit the bed, so the mattress showed. They had surfaces for opening suitcases, but they were unusable because safes were on them. Otherwise, there were no suitcase stands. The train that others complained about didn't bother us. When we told the clerk about our problems she was friendly but said there was no one to fix things and that she couldn't leave the desk. Oh yes, when we first arrived at 5:00pm she said her credit card device wasn't working and asked us to go do something (like eat) until it was fixed. In all, I think this hotel has a management problem. Many of these things could be prevented by using check lists and there should be some means of immediately correcting problems pointed out by guests. This could be a nice hotel but as it stands now we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms 133 & 134
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Non smoking room, smelled musty, bed spread and blankets stained, sofa bed cig burns and mattress torn big and guts falling out. Bathroom sink did not drain, carpet dirty. All 4of us kept our clothes on to sleep ,got up and left at 6:30 AM.....not because we had to just wanted to escape. Paid extra for a deluxe room w sofa bed.....right. Outside Cedar Point, but close...which was why we were there. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one, since ours was the Deluxe.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend get away. The rooms are a little small but they are nice. The staff is nice and friendly. It is also close to cedar point, I would remecomed this hotel to any of my friends. The only con about this hotel is the walls are thin and you can hear things, but other than that it is a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Planned a family trip to Cedar Point and went on line to read reviews in trying to find a hotel that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg but still be close enough to all the attractions. This hotel had a few bad reviews but I am here to tell you that this place was great, from the girl who check us in (wish I could remember her name but blonde and energetic) to the owner who we came to know through our 4 days here and the housekeeping staff who were very nice. The rooms were VERY CLEAN, no odors as noted in previous reviews and the price was very affordable. The hotel is nicely located close to everything, literally steps from a TGIF (which I don't recommend-but that is another review for another time) and right around the corner from the road to Cedar Point. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody as the staff does go out of their way to help and it is very decently kept up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Address: 2027 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870 (Formerly Best Budget Inn North)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn North Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Budget Host Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.