We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Shore Inn to your Saves list
South Shore Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2047 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
1 review
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We planned on camping on our way home to Illinois. Mother nature had other ideas and we needed to find a hotel. We were impressed by the price and reviews of this place and were NOT disappointed. We stayed in the King Deluxe. It was very clean and quiet. I am not sure if we were the only ones on our floor, but it was supet quiet. Oh, and the amazing bathtub Jacuzzi was a nice surprise! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel when the weather prevented you from camping. We appreciate your kind comments and thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with others. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    27
    12
    18
See reviews for
66
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

+ clean and big room
+ not far away from Cedar Point
+ quiet in spite of an outside pool
+ clean pool
+ direct outside access to the room
+ free parking

+- price (not too cheap but not expensive as well)

- no fridge
- bad availability of WiFi
- no possibility for a breakfast or even coffee (you had to take the car)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments, and thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the accommodations, the pool area, and the location so close to Cedar Point.
We hope to see you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family stayed two nights and we loved the motel,it was very clean.The staff was friendly,the pool was very clean and we watched them clean the pool in the mornings and they tested the water. the beds were like new very comfortable and close to all the places we went to.Great price,we plan to go back next year we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback. We were very happy to see that you found the accommodations to be both clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Another Cedar Point over night trip on a Thursday night. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, but this time we booked the 3 room suite. Wish we had know about this place when the kids were younger and we made these trips every month! 2 separate bathrooms and bedrooms, one room with a king size bed and one with bunk beds and a queen. The 3rd room between has a small pull out couch, and tv. (3 tv's in all) Very clean and served its purpose. The pool looked nice enough, although we did not use it. We have stayed at EVERY Cedar Point property. This hotel and especially the price on this room is the best deal out there! When travelling we normally stay at Hamptons and Hiltons, but we know that for this area and the choices available, there's not that much difference in the hotels. When your spending the day a Cedar Point, this is a great choice when you just need a place to sleep without spending the resort prices!

Room Tip: Great Price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel when in the area to go to Cedar Point. We were very pleased to see how the three room suite suited your family's needs perfectly.
We thank you for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience with others.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

First off, we stayed here one night and next door at Budget Host Inn for the next night, due to vacancy at Shore Inn. I would make this my second choice out of the two. Especially since they are the same price for the room. We stayed on the second floor exterior entrance near back of motel. By the way, there are no elevators. Which was fine with us, but you may want to know that when requesting a room. Interior area we went into smelled a little strange, glad we chose an exterior room. Pool was as shown. We did not take advantage of the pool area though, since we were mainly there for Cedar Point. Pool was open till midnight, and was a little loud, but inside rooms were quieter. Beds were comfortable and room was decently clean. Air conditioning was ok. It took a while to cool off the room. Shower was made for someone under 5'5", but served it's purpose. Watch your step going into your room, because for some reason there is a inch drop off into the room. Staff was friendly, especially the groundskeeper and his associate. I would stay here again if the Budget Host Inn was booked up.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room near back of motel for a quieter experience. Only if you do not need an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments after your recent stay with us while in town to enjoy Cedar Point. We appreciate our guest feedback, and were pleased to see that you found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family of 5 recently stayed for four nites and we couldn't be happier. The staff was friendly and the pool and grounds were clean. We had a three room suite and it was a perfect fit. It's hard to find a room that sleeps five where the fifth person isn't stuck on a roll a way. Our room had a king bed in one room, and a double and bunk beds in the other. It was also nice to have two bathrooms. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, and the price was right. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We were very pleased to see how much you and your family enjoyed your three room suite, and that is had everything you needed for a wonderful stay. Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a family trip (2 adults & 2 kids). The hotel is close to Cedar Point but not the closest and it's a motel. The best part of the place is the pool and hot tub, nestled away from the main street and in between the u shaped design of the motel. The kids loved the slide and the hot tub was close enough to watch them. The room was average and did have a funny smell. Cleanliness was also average. Beds were very comfortable and noise level was very low. I did feel the security of the door was below average and felt it could use added level of protection. (Note: we were not threatened at any time, but the door just didn't have up to date security measures). I also wish there would have been some kind of continental breakfast or ATM available. But overall, I was happy with our stay. The price was right as Cedar Point is expensive. The amount we saved by staying here instead of Hotel Breakers or such, we used to get into the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were happy to see that you found the hotel to be a good value, and that your family enjoyed the pool/water slide area. We hope to see you again when you come to Cedar Point for a fun getaway.

Marilyn Edwards
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky
South Shore Inn Sandusky, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.