We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Knights Inn Sandusky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Charleston, WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was my first time staying at this particular Knights Inn. First of all I loved the fact that it was so close to Cedar Point! I've usually stayed at places further away. The check-in process was quick and the lady was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable and larger then most double-bed rooms I've seen. Everything seemed to be in working order and I always love have a mini-fridge since I travel with a lot of beverages. :) It also had a microwave which I didn't use.

The continental breakfast was decent and included fresh fruit, muffins, doughnuts, and bagles (which are my favorite.) The pool was literally outside my door but I didn't get to use it. I was also lucky enough not to be bothered by anyone using it. The train that everyone talks about it didn't bother me at all and I am a light sleeper!

The only real complaint I had was the door. The locks worked fine but it was drafty (which could be an issue in colder weather) and it felt like it (along with the walls) were paper-thin. Luckily I wasn't really bothered by anybody or anything going on outside. It was raining which probably kept everyone indoors.

All in all it was a great place to stay and I will definitely keep it in mind for my next trip! It's nothing fancy but it's better than some of the places I've stayed at in Sandusky! You have everything you need and it's very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    89
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
88
58
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Next time we go to Cedar Point, we will be spending the extra money to stay at a more up-to-date hotel. The continental breakfast provided fresh fruit (a little) and lots of carbs. They did get fresh cake donuts every morning, that was fun for the kids.
The breakfast area was nice, outdoors and screened in, they also offer a laundry facility.
The room just did not feel real safe or clean, the kids felt uncomfortable in it because of the outdoor entrances it, thin walls and doors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel during our trip at Cedar Point my wife and I with our three children 15, 13 and 7. Cost of accommodation was a selection criteria and we were on a week + journey heading to Chicago where we were already lined up to pay a premium. We had this room for less than $75 a night; my oldest very picky son was convinced it would be a disaster and had a pretty bad attitude heading to the Knights Inn. Yes there were trains, yes there was a bit of a smell but the completely odorless hotel rooms are quite rare. No one in our family complained. Heated pool, very nice breakfast (included for 5 of us in the $75!), well functioning A/C, timely service at front desk, nice hosts even a laundry which ended up solving an issue for us as we were going to need to do some laundry during our trip. $1 for a wash, $1 dollar to dry and even large towels and jeans dry with $1. Safe and fridge in the room. Bathroom sink was actually outside that bathroom itself with allows for dual use (good thing for a family!). This was definitely the best deal in our whole journey. The picky teenager reported "Perfect hotel Dad!"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very decent motel close to Cedar Point. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff very nice and breakfast in the morning was a plus with great options to choose from. Second time staying here while visiting Cedar Point and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was weary of staying at this cheap motel but it's good. I have slept great and felt safe. No. Not fancy but
It's a great value and just as good as the Hotel Breakers. Much much better value. Easy drive from Cedar Point. Would definitely stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for our weekend trip to Cedar Point in June. We read all of the great reviews for this place and were expecting a decent stay. We were very disappointed.

When I checked in, the lady at the front desk was very friendly and gave me a run down of where to find everything we would need. When we found our room, we were disappointed to find that it was on the first floor and directly opens into the pool area, which was full of very loud children the entire night. The room was extremely musty smelling despite being a non smoking room, and felt dirty. We even found a used floss pick on the floor next to the bed. On the bright side, the room had a mini fridge and a microwave, which were nice, and the bed was clean.

Within 1 minute of being in the room we heard and felt the first train go by. We never actually saw where the trains were, but the entire night they went by and were extremely loud.

On a positive note, this hotel had a very nice continental breakfast, including fruit, yogurt, granola bars, and donuts.

All in all, it was not the worst place we could have stayed (we saw some real gems down the street!) but next time I will definitely fork over the extra bit of cash to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level and facing the front would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in July and found this hotel to be just average. First off, the walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear the neighbors conversations even though they were taking in normal voices. You could also hear a train that passed by but it did not disrupt my sleep. We stayed in a room with a Jacuzzi tub, which was nice, but very loud. Ours did have a closed in bathroom (room 326), unlike other travelers who have reviewed this hotel, so some of the rooms must be set up different. The bed had a spring popping up that was very annoying. The breakfast was not the greatest but we did eat it every morning. They serve muffins, donuts, bagels, English muffins, frozen waffles, yogurt, apples, bananas, and cereal. I sent my English muffin through the toaster twice and it didn't even warm it up enough to melt the butter, let alone toast it. We did not actually go swimming but the pool was about the size of our king size bed. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful but I do not think we would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sandusky

Address: 2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.