We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Knights Inn Sandusky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very decent motel close to Cedar Point. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff very nice and breakfast in the morning was a plus with great options to choose from. Second time staying here while visiting Cedar Point and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    98
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
96
64
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I was weary of staying at this cheap motel but it's good. I have slept great and felt safe. No. Not fancy but
It's a great value and just as good as the Hotel Breakers. Much much better value. Easy drive from Cedar Point. Would definitely stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for our weekend trip to Cedar Point in June. We read all of the great reviews for this place and were expecting a decent stay. We were very disappointed.

When I checked in, the lady at the front desk was very friendly and gave me a run down of where to find everything we would need. When we found our room, we were disappointed to find that it was on the first floor and directly opens into the pool area, which was full of very loud children the entire night. The room was extremely musty smelling despite being a non smoking room, and felt dirty. We even found a used floss pick on the floor next to the bed. On the bright side, the room had a mini fridge and a microwave, which were nice, and the bed was clean.

Within 1 minute of being in the room we heard and felt the first train go by. We never actually saw where the trains were, but the entire night they went by and were extremely loud.

On a positive note, this hotel had a very nice continental breakfast, including fruit, yogurt, granola bars, and donuts.

All in all, it was not the worst place we could have stayed (we saw some real gems down the street!) but next time I will definitely fork over the extra bit of cash to stay somewhere nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level and facing the front would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in July and found this hotel to be just average. First off, the walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear the neighbors conversations even though they were taking in normal voices. You could also hear a train that passed by but it did not disrupt my sleep. We stayed in a room with a Jacuzzi tub, which was nice, but very loud. Ours did have a closed in bathroom (room 326), unlike other travelers who have reviewed this hotel, so some of the rooms must be set up different. The bed had a spring popping up that was very annoying. The breakfast was not the greatest but we did eat it every morning. They serve muffins, donuts, bagels, English muffins, frozen waffles, yogurt, apples, bananas, and cereal. I sent my English muffin through the toaster twice and it didn't even warm it up enough to melt the butter, let alone toast it. We did not actually go swimming but the pool was about the size of our king size bed. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful but I do not think we would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Each year when we go to cedar point, we stay at this Knight Inn location.
The good: We stayed in a jacuzzi room this time, we got the rate of 79/night thru Verizon rewards so why not....the staff is super friendly and makes you feel welcome! The rooms are a good size, and overall comfortable. The jacuzzi is huge. The pool temp is good, breakfast is good, and the property is clean, although dated, again is clean. The WIFI worked great as well.

The not so good: There is no privacy between the tub/bathroom & the room itself other then a shower curtain that doesnt go wall to wall all the way. It wasnt an issue for us, but for some it might be. The tv's they use are cheap off brand. The tv that was in our room this trip didnt power on at all (tried the button on the tv itself, working outlet, etc). Front desk came quickly and brought a new tv. which worked but being an off brand, the sound quality was bad. You can hear the train at times, and the jacuzzi in the pool area is super loud. My fathers room was near it and if it was on, you heard it well.

Personally we have never had an issue in all the years we have stayed here, and will continue to stay here on our trips to sandusky/lake erie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel options were few for a July 3-4 stay if you were looking for a reasonable price. We chose this hotel for a family of 5. Although the receptionist was friendly enough no other staff person was. The 2 double beds were barely comfortable. The challenges in getting to sleep that night consisted of the frequent passing of trains that were fairly noisy as well as the couple above us who's bed was making a lot of spring noises clearly audible for our entire family. The creaky floors from the couple above walking around lasted till 2am. The continental breakfast was barely satisfactory with awful tasting coffee. The cheap motel-like feel was not something that we would have anticipated given the cost of this place. It was ironic that we stayed in a two star rated hotel the next night some distance away for $25 less and it was extravagant in comparison. We will definitely not opt for this accommodation in the future.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, pick a room on the top floor and at the back of the hotel...away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here the night before Cedar Point day. Very nice employees, nice room, comfortable, clean everywhere here. Room had 2 dbl beds, fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, nice new TV and micro-wave. The only negative were the outside lights right by the room door. Everytime we opened the door, mosquitos flew in by droves. Hairspray kills them so we were fine. This is by far the nicest, cleanest and most accomodating Knights Inn anywhere. The pool is somewhat small compared to some bigger places, but IT'S CLEAN. I'll take CLEAN over big anyday! Only 5 minutes to Cedar Point Causeway, no conjested traffic because your going towards CP from here the opposite direction of most other motels. We definitely will stay here again and I highly recommend this place for a relaxing night's stay and a very nice, clean place for the price.

Room Tip: Try to request a first floor room to avoid mosquitos in the summer when you go in and out of your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#10 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
1.2 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#8 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Cedar Point
Econo Lodge Cedar Point
#17 of 34 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sandusky

Address: 2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.