We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Sandusky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Knights Inn Sandusky
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Sandusky
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Everything was very clean, including the pool. It was better than we expected. The staff could have been a little more friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    76
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

It was a good value. Much cheaper than staying at one of the resorts, but still just a short ride from Cedar Point. At one point during the day at Cedar Point, we needed a break and jumped back over to the hotel for a quick nap, and then back to Cedar Point for the rest of the evening. The room was nice, continental breakfast was very good, and the facility was clean and staff friendly. Be cautious about where they put you, because if you are on the far north side of the hotel, you are very close to the train tracks, which can be noisey. That would be my only complaint, we were close to the train. Would recommend, costs way less than staying at the other places.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — train noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at Knights Inn in Sandusky because of the price and location. Not to far from Cedar Point and reasonable rates. The service was very good and the employees were very friendly. A nice suprise. We have stayed several places in Sandusky and this was the best by far. The breakfast area was wonderful on our summer day! A really relaxing and screened in area and plenty of items to choose from. The hot tub felt wonderful after our freezing cold rain at Cedar Point. The pool was very warm also. Would stay here again and recommend for others!

  • Liked — The breakfast area and the hot tub
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We were very apprehensive when we saw this hotel, but could not have been happier with our stay. The price was reasonable and the room and amenities were better than expected. We liked it so much, my husband and son are going to be staying here in 2 weeks when they go to Cedar Point together. The continental breakfast was nice too.

  • Liked — the setup
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Stayed here while we visited the mighty Cedar Point. It was the first time we had been and we had a very good stay. The hotel is a little out of the main drag and is next to a car & truck dealership, but literally 5 mins away from CP in a car. Has a quite attractive front & canopy. The lobby is quite intimate and when quiet we were served a small selection of free continental breakfast.

The day after arrival on a Friday it seemed as we were the only people there, we didn't see anybody else there.

The room was very clean, only problem on first entry was that the heating was blasting so I had to turn it down. I found the bathroom to be very clean and there was no problem with the beds. At the weekend we had breakfast outside in a sort of room with mesh sides, OK in summer maybe but it was FREEZING. However we met nice people here who were all visiting CP. My only real problem with this hotel was the RAILROAD. A train must have gone past every hour seemingly and they are all a mile long. If you are a light sleeper take this into account, it WILL wake you up.

Overall a very good stay.
Only the railroad would deter me from staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

We were doing a family vacation with 6 adults in their mid 20's and ourselves (parents). When we arrived both our rooms were ready. We had 2 rooms, one smoking and one non smoking adjoining. Both rooms were very clean and had lots of towels for all of us. Rooms had cable/satellite TV, microwave, refrigerator, air conditioning, VCR, all of which worked perfectly.

On the Friday night I went to the front desk to get a coffee which they had just made fresh and was I surprised to hear that the SWIMMING POOL AND HOT TUB were still open and HEATED. Being the end of September we would of never thought that these amenities where still up and running. We all ran out the next day and bought really cheap bathing suits and enjoyed the next 2 nights in both hot tub and swimming pool.

We also took along our little shih tzu dog with us. The dog and myself stayed at the hotel during the day as the 6 kids and hubby went to Cedar Point. All employee's where friendly and always stopped to pet her as we sat outside of our room during the day. Big field behind where you park your cars for the dogs to have a good run and do their business.

The continental breakfast was also a plus plus. The gentleman there (Tim) was very pleasant and always made sure that everything was stocked and fresh. There was a very good variety and also was still in a huge Gazebo in the middle of the hotel just down from the pool, hot tub, childrens playground.

Would I stay there again? Most definitely!!!!!! We were actually booked at another hotel for the 4 days but that hotel cancelled on us on the Tuesday for arrival on the Friday. I had to scramble to find another hotel that accepts pets and boy oh boy am I EVER GLAD WE PICKED THE KNIGHTS INN.

Trains do go by quite often across the road from the hotel but with the fan on we didn't hear them at all.

Excellent value for the money. Very clean well set up hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Liked — amenities, pet friendly hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

My fiance and two of our friends booked a double room here for the first of the Cedar Point Halloweekend.

When I walked into the front office, I was a bit scared... It smelled smoky and looked rather old. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the room. It was clean, smelled fine, the A/C worked, we had a mini-fridge, etc. Apparently, it has high-speed internet, but I didn't use it. It was nothing fancy, but it was perfect for us, since it was 1:00 a.m. before we even got back from the park after stopping for a snack. It was very close to the park. The continental breakfast was served in a gazebo, and there was a nice selection of muffins, yogurt, juice, cereal, bagels, and more.

The only thing I didn't like was that our keys were de-activated at 10:30 (check-out was at 11) and I had to go to the front desk to get one re-activated. Not a huge deal, but an annoyance.

We would definitely spend the night here again on a Cedar Point trip. I have no real complaints. Everything was fine.

  • Liked — Proximity to Cedar Point
  • Disliked — Check-in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sandusky

Address: 2405 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Sandusky 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sandusky Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sandusky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.