We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a while” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
4620 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
+1 419-625-9214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Took a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first time at this Steak 'n Shake location. Everything was as expected for this restaurant brand. The new specialty steak burgers were excellent. Our order ended up coming out real late(over an hour was spent from entrance to exit) but management was responsive to the issue and handled it accordingly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Grabbing a bite after Cedar Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food here is always good and reasonable. We went through the drive thru late, probably around 10:30pm. We ordered 3 different orders. They were pleasant and fast with the orders. Very satisfied with the food and the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“late night dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Great Wold Lodge next door. Thought it would be a fun late night dinner for the kids. Sepnt all day a Cedar Point. Came back to the hotel and used the water park until it closed at 9. Then realized we never had dinner!!!
Walked over to Steak and Shake.
I want to start off by saying the food was good. No complaints there. Also it was late at night...10pm so I was not expecting perfection.
The service was horrible. We were not seated right away. Tables were emplty of people but full with dirty dishes. Two large tables were supposed to cleaned up for our group of 8 shortly after we arrived. When we finally left 90 minutes later those tables were still not cleared. It took us over an hour to receive our food. They did not have the right sized buns for the shooters and we were told we could still get the shooters but they would cut up hot dog rolls for the buns, but the manager didn't want them to do that either.
Anyway, the floor was a mess, very dirty.
I would not normally give a bad review to a place, but this was really not good. THe place was busy and would think be a gold mine right next to the hotel like that.
May have just been a bad night for the place. Looked like it was staffed properly. Our server was very nice and did what she could to keep us informed of our food and how much longer it would be. The bus service and cleanliness is what we didn't like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and food and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Great Wolf lodge , the Steak 'n Shake is right in front same parking lot. My son and i loved to walk over for great prices on great burgers fries and shakes. Great deal, highly recommend staying at great wolf lodge when visiting cedar point and eating at Steak n shake

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible, Don't go here! Staff Tampered with drink!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped for food after cedar point closed and the service was terrible! First, the waitress informed us that there was no clean silverware and when some was washed she would bring it out to us. We never got any silverware at all. She took our food order, and disappeared. We sat there for a half an hour, and no one ever asked to refill our drinks or brought us napkins!
Three other tables received their food who came in after us, even though they had a large party. Finally another waitress brought our food, all but two of the orders were messed up and the two that weren't messed up we had to wait an extra 5-7 mins. for. and ALL the food was COLD! some of us got refills at the time of her dropping off the food, and when she gave the drinks she left the check! How absurd! what if I wanted desert?
I had to take my coffee cup up to the cash register to ask for a refill, because the waitress never came back, this was at the end of the awful meal. We watched as it took THREE staff to pour one cup of coffee, and it also took 5 mins. to do it!
We finally saw our original waitress as she dropped off the second cup of coffee that I had to ask the cashier for. Needless to say, I did not drink the coffee, and we exited Post haste!
I would never ever recommend going here! The staff I have a gut feeling did something terrible to the coffee, and now I wonder about the food as well. The service was horrible and the food was terrible. Expect to get sick if you eat and drink at this place, in my opinion!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.