We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go wrong with this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
4620 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5840
+1 419-625-9214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 162 Restaurants in Sandusky
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Never go wrong with this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have eaten at quite a few Steak n Shakes and this one was exactly like all the others, delicious reasonably priced food thats served quickly. Had a chocolate banana shake this time and it was very good, will continue to eat at this chain when we come upon them during our travels.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Burgers and corny jokes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was surprised that this place doesn't serve breakfast all day, but the burgers were delicious. Our waitress really went out of her way to entertain all of tables with corny jokes... "What has more lives than a cat? A frog, because he croaks every night."

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love steak and shake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We always go to steak and shake when we travel as we dont have one in our town, it was okay some things were lil greasy but what can you expect from burgers. the service was great and diffenetly be back

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disturbing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were intrigued by the concept of Steak 'n Shake. We found it cute - decor and hats for the kids, etc.
But the food was 'crazy'... it wasn't that it was bad or poorly made or spoiled...
but we kept looking at each other and wondering why we would eat such a meal.
Just not our taste I guess.
We won't be returning...
but were happy to have added Steak 'n Shake to our list of life experiences...
It has become a little inside joke in our family.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food was good, the restaurant was clean. The manager who seated us was not very friendly (he took us to the table and plopped the the menus and placemats down on the middle of the table, expecting us to set the table ourselves, I guess). Otherwise, it was good and our server was nice.

Visited July 2012

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.