We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Stoney Creek
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went the last week of August. Kids are aged 11,10,7. Place was empty so the kids had a blast. This was the 2nd time staying at this property. Check in was pain-less and quick as well as check out. We got the Kid Camp suite again and the kids had a blast having their own TV. Great time to go when they have their deals 30% off ect.

Same issues as previous times there- Low water pressure in guest rooms. You are best to shower in the waterpark showers as they seem to have a lot more pressure than the guest rooms.

Kids loved magic quest and had a blast. Be prepared to tell your kids "NO" as there are a lot of extras around the resort to quickly gobble up your money - pedicures, arcade, mini golf..ect ect.

Overall great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    304
    149
    66
    32
See reviews for
613
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I brought our 2 boys (11 & 8) here over labor day weekend for a little last minute end of summer get-a-way. The waterpark was smaller than I expected, but still had enough to keep our boys occupied. The nice thing about the size was we felt comfortable just letting the boys run around and didn't have to worry too much about them. I would say that this place is great for kids a little younger than my 2. We booked a basic double queen room. Room was a clean, decent size and the beds were pretty comfortable. Bathroom was very small. We didn't eat at the main resturant but had lunch at the place in the waterpark on th second day. Food was ok, but pretty pricey for what you get. Overall the kids had a good time and we would probably return for a good deal, but think that next time we will check out Kalahari since it seems to be more our kids age oriented.

Room Tip: I called to book and the rate I was given was about $20 cheaper per night than what I was able to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the smallest of the Great Wolf properties, and as such I think our 14,12 and 7 year olds have out grown the place. It is still a great place for a younger group but I think 12 is the limit. The staff is nice, check-in was painless and quick. The rooms are clean and updated since our last trip in 2011. The water park was not too busy but it's showing some age. The rooms were well priced and I believe they all have balcony or patio - We got a fireplace suite which was also a wheelchair accessible suite and had a HUGE bathroom. The city is a great place with plenty of affordable places to eat and tons of shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travelled in July and had the parents come this time. Got a room with the upstairs den to fit 6 people comfortably. Good room however the upstairs den area is about 8 degrees warmer than the main room area. No matter how long the AC was on it would not cool the upstairs. Sweating upstairs and freezing down.

However aside from the temperature in the room we were pleased. Clean room, water park was nice. Kids always have fun.

They do need a AC unit for the upstairs in the summer months especially for the premium room rate of $239.00 per night.

Room Tip: If you go with more than 4 or require a suite consider a good air bed mattress and throw it on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This resort is great for younger kids and toddlers. Waterpark was much smaller then Kalahari waterpark, but more intimate feel and not too crowded during the time we went. Family included 10 yr. old son, 5 yr. old daughter and 1 yr. old daughter. Although smaller then Kalahari, we found this better for the yonger children. Lots of activities (arcade) and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Discount for military, armed forces, emergency services - discount code "HEROES"...great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

If you tell yourself that you are at a watermark it will help keep your perspective. Rooms are ok. Again it's a watermark. The watermark is pretty good! We had fun but wish they had more alcohol in the bar at the water park

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Overall it is a great place for young children. Room could use a little cleaning or upgrades but motto bad. The places is geared for young children and I must say my grandchildren had a super time. Little high on food prices. I will bring the family back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 4600 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
#7 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.