We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's GRRRRREAT !! lol!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Bridgeport, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's GRRRRREAT !! lol!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really, got little ones at home that need a fun getaway? Haven't done it yet because of the cost? Pack up the wife and kids and take 'em here! Nice, affordable, medium sized water park. Wife and I had a great time cause the kids had a great time. Seriously, the place isn't so huge that you loose your kids, the place is clean, staff is friendly, food was good and reasonbly priced. The whole 'log cabin' theme is cool! Was our first waterpark adventure and we had a blast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    283
    137
    59
    29
See reviews for
560
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went in June 2007. Great year! My cousins and I visited Ohio to go to Cedar Point and we stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge. I'm very happy we did! It's a fun hotel.

✓ Standalone Greatness
Want to take your kids (maybe ages 5-10) on a vacation? You can take them to the Great Wolf Lodge and be set. There's a ton to do here. It's a very nice getaway for families.

✓ Water "Park"
Is very impressive, and huge! Since it's indoors, it's open year round. In my opinion it's most suitable for kids under the age of 10. They have an indoor and outdoor pool. You could go to this hotel and make a trip out of it if you have young kids with you.

✓ Nice Rooms
The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean. I didn't have any problems with it!

✓ Arcade
There was an arcade downstairs that reminded me of a mini Dave & Busters. Very cool and very fun!


Bottom Line: This place is great for young families. Not exactly the best getaway for couples since you will be surrounded by kids. I was 17 and I had a good time. But this is because we were taking a trip to Cedar Point and because I had fun playing with my young cousin who was absolutely adorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We (me, wife, 1yr old & 3yr old) visited Great Wolf Lodge in Sandusky Ohio for a few days starting April 8th 2013. We are from London Ontario Canada and the trip was worth it. The cost was 1/2 of what it was in Niagara Falls Canada. The hotel was perfect for us. We got the family suite which was good for us and our kids but next time we'll upgrade to a room with a separate room for the kids. There was lots to do at the hotel for the kids. Story time in the lobby in the evening was a hit with the kids. There is a large grocery store right next to the hotel (within walking distance!) and there are plenty of restaurants down the street. We'll go back for sure!

p.s. The 3yr old absolutely loved the water park. My 1yr old... not so much. He's young so all the excitement and noise may have been a bit much for him. He loved the story time though!

Room Tip: Our hotel room faced the outdoor portion of the waterpark and we enjoyed the view. Especially since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night during spring break week. There was four of us. Children ages 4 and 6. Our room was clean. The waterpark was clean, heated water, and many attentive lifeguards. Our children enjoyed the nightly storytime in the main lobby. We ate dinner at there bar/ restaurant. The food was good. Breakfast the following morning was delicious. It is served family style which means the waitress brings out large plates of eggs, french toast, sausage and bacon to share. there was also a cold buffet which was included that has yougurt, fruit, cereal, pasteries.
We will definetly return for another trip.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have very high ceilings. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wish it had more variety in food!! The room was the best part!! Actually had a complaint that they said we were making too much noise & they had the wrong room.
Had a call in the night that someone was calling rooms stating that they were the front desk asking for their information on their credit cards again!!
Hold on my credit card was longer than they said it would be!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent, friendly staff accomodated our requests. Was dissappointed in that the size of this facility is so much smaller than others I have gone to; however, it was perfect to have small children go to this one as it was completely safe, friendly, and fun for them. This place is definitely popular for families with small ones. One fact I liked was there wasn't a whole lot of drinking going on. Would have liked a little more help on how to do the Wizard Wand quests because when you start out with the crowds in the night lighting it's really hard to read that little book & understand what to do. We had a great time and would do it again to make memories with the grandkids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the GWL for the very first time over spring break so we expected it to be busy, check in was fine, room wasn't ready but they did take my cell number and called us within two hours, it was nice that we were able to use the waterpark before check in time. There was a Meijer really conveniently located so we did eat two out of three meals in the room to save money. Room with the Wolf Den was really roomy and great for the kids, they loved the bunk beds. On the last night of our stay my ENTIRE four person family came down with a gastrointestinal virus that must have been contracted in the water park. No staff member was seen doing quality checks of the water, the changerooms were very messy and always empty! Where were the hoards of people going to the bathroom??? I saw a lot of babies using swim diapers which I know from personal experience are not always the best at containing leakage of fluids. I think a greater effort could be made to make sure the pools are cleaner and at least that the water is getting regularly checked. We will be in no rush to return!
We were on the first floor which was also very noisy with door slamming and foot traffic.

Room Tip: Find a room on an upper floor Wolf Den suites really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 4600 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
#6 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Bear Lodge Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Sandusky, Ohio
Great Wolf Hotel Sandusky
Great Wolf Sandusky
Great Wolf Lodge Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.